Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Livestock haulers not paying the farmer.

• 23-02-2015 7:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭

So just talking to someone who was on about dealers/haulers bringing cattle to the factories for farmers and either short changing the farmer or not giving the farmer the factory check at all!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 770 ✭✭✭viztopia

So just talking to someone who was on about dealers/haulers bringing cattle to the factories for farmers and either short changing the farmer or not giving the farmer the factory check at all!!!

Sounds a bit funny - would the Mart or factory not make the cheque out to who's ever name the herd is in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

Doesn't the haulier get paid by the farmer and the factory pay the farmer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

I know of a case locally here where a cheque was week coming to a farmer for two heifers recently.When it came It came it was a minimum of 600 short of what was expected. I firmly believe the agent who coincidently drew the cattle managed to get tag numbers swopped on the line for two screws of his own. Small factory in East. Not my battle so not getting involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Surely the factory sends the cheque directly to the farmer? That's what has always happened here and the cost of haulage is deducted beforehand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Come out of that pub and go home a maneen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Willfarman wrote: »
    I know of a case locally here where a cheque was week coming to a farmer for two heifers recently.When it came It came it was a minimum of 600 short of what was expected. I firmly believe the agent who coincidently drew the cattle managed to get tag numbers swopped on the line for two screws of his own. Small factory in East. Not my battle so not getting involved.

These factory stories are getting to be a joke me thinks:cool:

I'm not joking. The only way I can think of verifying my theory would require access to the cmms and mart records. Not my battle either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nettleman

I'm not joking. The only way I can think of verifying my theory would require access to the cmms and mart records. Not my battle either way.
    I know factories don't like it but you can't beat a marker spray on coloured cattle before the leave the yard. In case I have to slaughter, only deal with factories that allow farmer follow cattle up the line.

this agent can't lie straight in the bed. He collected the two heifers in jeep and trailer and land back with cheque just about a week later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Arrow in the Knee

Well these happened in the 90's and 00's to old/bachelor farmers in Meath.

Now whether they could write/stamp their name on the back of the blue cards for the cattle going to the factory and collect the check in their name I'm not sure.

I'm sure there is someone wiser on the forum that could say yes or no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭cute geoge

What factory allows you see your own cattle been killed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

cute geoge wrote: »

A few of them do. You could try asking the lairage supervisor when they're being unloaded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

Kovu wrote: »
    A few of them do. You could try asking the lairage supervisor when they're being unloaded.

I tried in kepak athleague, man looking over the unloading said shouldn't be a problem, that I was dressed clean and to ask in office. So I did but they said no way, not atall. There did look to be a serious set up for cleaning though, all workers in their special gear and they had to walk in through boot cleaners.
    Was told to watch TV in office if I wanted that showed carcass on the grading machine but might aswell be watching 50 shades of Grey looking out for meat

I sent aa heifers to the factory one time through my friendly agent. They came straight off grass in November and when I got the cheque there was a deduction of €15 a head for clipping. The agent wanted to save some gob****e the cost of clipping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

sent the screwiest of a screwy fr bullock to factory years ago got a cheque for 1200 pounds for him not a chance the cheque was for my bullock , think he graded o4! some poor fecker got my animals cheque

I sent aa heifers to the factory one time through my friendly agent. They came straight off grass in November and when I got the cheque there was a deduction of €15 a head for clipping. The agent wanted to save some gob****e the cost of clipping.

Dunbia and Euro farm love the auld clipping!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

see you were due a good day once in a while
    whelan2 wrote: »
    sent the screwiest of a screwy fr bullock to factory years ago got a cheque for 1200 pounds for him not a chance the cheque was for my bullock , think he graded o4! some poor fecker got my animals cheque

see you were due a good day once in a while
    was actually in hospital at the time, someone was looking down on me:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Did you not ring them up to point out the mistake and get the right cheque? ☺

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

Slaney I think you can see them being killed.

Feckthis wrote: »
    Slaney I think you can see them being killed.
    Dunbia allow you follow them up the line, and the vets will tell ya whether you had fluke or not. Dawn don't allow ya, but you have to wonder why......:rolleyes:

Dunbia and Euro farm love the auld clipping!
    +1, got done once by each of Dunbia and Eurofarms-now they don't get cattle off me until I am assured no weight penalty or chipping charge. Hear a lot of lads getting transport paid by factories lately which keeps the base price down

Bullocks wrote: »
    Did you not ring them up to point out the mistake and get the right cheque? ☺
    I did think of it, but then i thought of all the times i had been done over the years and left it, it was my friend larry's factory

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Ya, Dunbia is the only one I know for sure, but they don't like too many doing it. The vets there are grand too, Michael would spout Irish at you all day long.
    Nettleman wrote: »
    Dunbia allow you follow them up the line, and the vets will tell ya whether you had fluke or not. Dawn don't allow ya, but you have to wonder why......:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭Hershall

Ya, Dunbia is the only one I know for sure, but they don't like too many doing it. The vets there are grand too, Michael would spout Irish at you all day long.

No problem watching weighing and grading in liffey vet will let you know if liver or stomach fluke also.

I did think of it, but then i thought of all the times i had been done over the years and left it, it was my friend larry's factory
    If the table was turned I bet you wouldn't be long rectifying it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Doesn't the haulier get paid by the farmer and the factory pay the farmer?

In general I always pay the haulier myself. If factory pay haulier they have to charge me VAT whether haulier is registered or not.
    KatyMac wrote: »
    Surely the factory sends the cheque directly to the farmer? That's what has always happened here and the cost of haulage is deducted beforehand

This is what is supposed to happen. I always ring about my cattle later am or early PM. The one time I had a issue with getting weights and grades I was done. However I know a lot of lads that ring agent or do not bother ringing.
    this agent can't lie straight in the bed. He collected the two heifers in jeep and trailer and land back with cheque just about a week later.

Dodgy suspect even, I not sure if I blame the factory I be looking more at the agent tampering with the tags.
    cute geoge wrote: »

AIBP always will Dawn local to me will not Kildare used to not sure any longer. Never sold to Kepak, sold to one or two other but was too much of a distance to travel myself.
    If the table was turned I bet you wouldn't be long rectifying it ;)

Virtually impossible to get something like this changed. heard an urban legend about a lad that had them live weighted and photoed and went in banging the table over wrong weights and came away with nearly 200/head but like I said urban legend.

OP if dealer has the cheque I be ring the factory complaining. There was an issue over this a few years and a processor got badly burnt. What happened was that a dealer used to buy cattle and factory direct and get cheque made out to them.

In this case dealer took nearly a double of cattle off a farmer and got cheque made out to himself. Farmer was one of the lads that used to ring the agent for weights. Agent gave him the weights but cashed cheque and left the country as he had other issues. After a few days with no cheque the farmer rang the Factory to be told that the dealer claimed cattle were his and cheque was made out to him. Factory refused to pay up but this farmer got his solicitor onto it and got it sorted. However since then all cheques by factory's and also by marts are made out to owner on CMMS.

This was an issue for lads where there young fella owned a few cattle now the cheque has to be made out to father. Get onto factory and demand cheque. However I can never fathom lads that allow agents to collect cheque it will arrive by post with 48 hours anyway if you cannot collect yourself. I am very happy with agent I deal with but I still ring factory and still collect cheque or get it posted to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Back in the day when peoples wage packets were notes and coins one lad got a few pound extra in his packet one week, he didn't bring the mistake to the attention of the wage clerk or pass on the extra to the wife but had a few extra pints that weekend.
    The next week the wage clerk had realised their mistake and had his wage packet docket the extra he got the previous week.
    The lad picked up his wage packet but before he was gone 5ft had it checked and realised he was down a few bob so went back to the wage clerk 'hey ya made a mistake!'
    The clerk - 'ah you were slower at noticing ya got paid extra last week'
    Lad- 'ah just thought you were making too many mistakes'