Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hilarious sporting moments remembered...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,859 ✭✭✭stimpson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Not so much a sporting moment, but a few years ago when the Irish masters snooker was held in Goff's there was a leak on the roof.
    RTE news later that evening:Todays afternoon session of the Irish masters had to be postponed,due to bad weather

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Zippie84

Well, I once got a hole in one. That was a hilarious sporting moment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Flood

Not so much a sporting moment, but a few years ago when the Irish masters snooker was held in Goff's there was a leak on the roof.
    RTE news later that evening:Todays afternoon session of the Irish masters had to be postponed,due to bad weather

Alot of tight pinks were potted in Goff's over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

MOD: Boring username won me over with a winning smile and a bag of cash. Thread reopened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Boring username

YES!!!! This calls for a celebration:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭dont bother

SONIA O SULLIVAN sh!tting herself.

absolutely the funniest/best thing that's ever happened in Sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭JaseBelleVie

The 1992 Tipperary U-21 County Football Final. Commentary provided by "Effin'" Eddie Moroney. Some of the comments during the match from the supposedly unbiased commentator are simply priceless. There are about 10 videos in total covering the whole match.

The reaction to the not-given penalty is brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭AndonHandon

Poorly chosen choice of words it turned out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Boring username

SONIA O SULLIVAN sh!tting herself.

absolutely the funniest/best thing that's ever happened in Sport.

I think I'd have to give the gold to Paula Radcliffe on this one-and it was captured on tv too! (NSFW)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭HoratiJoe

The Olmpics in London 2012. The Badminton was presented by bill o'herlihy. He asked the analyst was Badminton still a protestant game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭signostic

A real conversation from a phone-in on Scotland Talk Sport radio after Scotland's draw 2 all with the Faroe Islands in 2002
    Presenter: We have Jim on the line who wants to discuss Faroes vs Scotland.

Jim: Thanks... eh yeah. Just want to say it's an absolute disgrace. I mean we were playing the weakest side in world football and we can't do better then a draw.

Presenter: It was a poor result...

Jim: Poor result?? It's absolutely scandalous! The manager has lost the plot completely, he has to go. I know we have never set the world alight over the years on the international stage but I can't remember things being this bad. It's the end for us. The absolute end. We are the laughing stock of world football.

Presenter: Look Jim, I know it looks bad but there is still a long way to go, admittedly there does not seem much chance of you qualifying for 2004 but things will improve.

Jim: I never expected to qualify and don't mind that so much as we are not good enough... but to fail to beat a team like Scotland is a different matter and a real massive blow to everyone on the island.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover54

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,797 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭valoren

Caledonian Thistle beating Celtic to produce the greatest headline in sports tabloid history.....

Super Caley Go Ballistic Celtic Are Atrocious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Kenjataimu

This goalkeeper will never live this down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,118 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Jimmy Magee - "Abel Xavier looks like the negative of a photo of Matthew Kelly"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Foinavon winning the grand national. For those who don't follow racing, he was a pretty mediocre horse and only won because of a massive pile up at a fence that knocked out most of the other runners. Being so behind the field his jockey was able to steer him around the pile up and stay going. Despite this he still could have lost because in the time it took him to pass the post a lot of the jockeys had remounted and were catching up. Nobody would have predicted he'd ever win, even his owner didn't bother going to the race that day.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tls18p0AYjM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Brendan Flowers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

The whole Roy Keane Saipan kerfuffle. And the Thierry Henry hand ball incident.

Not so much the incidents themselves, but the over-the-top reactions they seemed to provoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭signostic

Foinavon winning the grand national. For those who don't follow racing, he was a pretty mediocre horse and only won because of a massive pile up at a fence that knocked out most of the other runners. Being so behind the field his jockey was able to steer him around the pile up and stay going. Despite this he still could have lost because in the time it took him to pass the post a lot of the jockeys had remounted and were catching up. Nobody would have predicted he'd ever win, even his owner didn't bother going to the race that day.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tls18p0AYjM

First time I seen that in colour, thanks for posting..