Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dundalk Traders Cup: Today

• 22-02-2015 6:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭

Just to offer a counterbalance to the Ned Flanagan race
    There were no 'white line merchants ' out today. All well behaved *and a huge amount of credit (once again) to Cuchalainn CC for a brillaintly organised race!

*We wont mention the 'confusion' at roundabout number 2 in the A4 race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

A well run race on a horrible day..Smallish fields helped I suppose to keep it under control..Riders got a warning from comms at the start today in relation to the funny stuff and it appears that at least one of the comms had some kind of different colour flag system to give the riders a varying type of warning.Similar to the red yellow and black in the gaa I suppose.Have to revisit the 2nd roundabout thing again as I think we'd have filled the first six today if our riders were not derailed lol..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Good, hard, honest day out today. Well run as always, thanks to Cuchulainn cc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Enjoyed that today, good Paris Roubaix conditions:). No stupid stuff and good solid racing by the A3s and A2/A1s when they joined the party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭dermabrasion

Kudos to Cuchulainn. again.
    I rode A4. Absolutely no complaints. In fact, other than some lads following the ladies around the round-about this was a perfect race. There was an actual break-away in an A4 race, and there was (some) honest graft to stay away.
    After 72k with teeth full of road-dirt and gaining 5k in wet-weight, I got cramp just as the sprint was winding up at about 1300m out and had to sit up. But, a hot shower, a sanger and some tae and I went home feeling i'd been in a real bike race in feb.
    Cheers Cuchulainn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

I've been following the Lady who came second in the womens race for the last year or more on Strava. I was wondering what all the "training" spins and "training" Turbo sessions were for. Kind of thought she might be having a go at racing.

Now I know.

Not bad for her first race!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

There's some difference in the (approx) average speeds between the groups that were out there today:

A3: 36kph.
    A2: 38kph.
    A1: 39kph.

39kph today is savage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Kudos to Cuchulainn. again.
    I rode A4. Absolutely no complaints. In fact, other than some lads following the ladies around the round-about this was a perfect race. There was an actual break-away in an A4 race, and there was (some) honest graft to stay away.
    After 72k with teeth full of road-dirt and gaining 5k in wet-weight, I got cramp just as the sprint was winding up at about 1300m out and had to sit up. But, a hot shower, a sanger and some tae and I went home feeling i'd been in a real bike race in feb.
    Cheers Cuchulainn

Saw you on side of road. Hope you're ok now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭pprendeville

Good race yesterday although twas fairly miserable on the bike. Had to take off the glasses as I couldn't see a thing and as a result I'm still picking dirt out of my eyes today.

Managed to get up the road with the big boys but promptly dropped back again. One guy in particular from South Dublin CC was making huge efforts to push the group on so fair play to him. Made an aul break for the line at the end just to see how the legs felt despite nothing at stake. Better than going for nothing in a sprint I rekoned.

Loved the route, much better than out/back/out/back....Well marshalled and the warm showers at the finish were a God send. Only problem was I forgot to bring my pants&jocks&shoes into the changing rooms so I had to put back on the wet shorts and cycle out to the car in socks. won't be making that mistake again. Met BCMF and had a good chat prior to the race. Nice to catch up with a good guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

What a hideous morning ye all had. Fair play to all involved!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

A few photos now up on their fbibook page.

It does look like quite a miserable day!

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.854036187988527.1073741881.200230370035782&type=3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

There's a lot of pain in those faces.