Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help, left keys in stranger's car. Sligo/Mayo.

• 22-02-2015 12:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭

weird one. a lady pulled in and asked for directions in the killeen road area of dublin, my father was waiting to meet someone so hopped in to guide her out as the directions were awkward. he got her heading back to the m50 and hopped out, but his car key fell out of his pocket. now 1000 down because of this. if by a miracle someone finds a key in their car please pm me.

hope mods dont mind this here:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

What car does he drive that it costs 1000 to replace keys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

CiniO wrote: »
    What car does he drive that it costs 1000 to replace keys?

is it ok if i dont mention the make? there is no spare key and i was told it would cost a small fortune to replace it. ECU needs to be chaged? not my area of expertise to be honest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

VIN number and proof of ownership, down to a professional car key shop...they'll reprogramme a new key

Doom wrote: »
    VIN number and proof of ownership, down to a professional car key shop...they'll reprogramme a new key

i hope so. still an awkward afternoon stranded. will see what happens monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Call Joseph Duffy on Monday, he loves these calls.

thanks. but no. im desperate, but, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

It could possibly end up at the local garda station in a week or so if the woman has the cop on to leave it in the local cop shop. Maybe make them wide to it. In the mean time, get the replacement and you might end up with a spare. I too need to sort out a spare key. I hate that most used cars only come with one key. Careless owners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

For some cars yes, others no. Many need keys supplied direct from factory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

When you have no key to copy from it becomes more complicated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭Crumbs868

Let's try help the poster out here with getting their keys back which is really what they want rather asking smart ass questions which are of no help and derail the thread.

OP put yourself in the other persons shoes.
    - where were they asking for directions to? Anything going on in that area,
    - Ring (if possible drop into) the surrounding guard stations - where they collected your dad, where they dropped him off and their destination, leave your details and also make a follow on call each evening,
    - any idea where they were coming from?
    - anything unique about them / car which may help you track them down
    - what's the reference to Sligo / Mayo? If you think they were from there ring their local radio station and try get it mentioned on air. Tell them you are desperate. The other driver may have told someone about the keys so someone could hear about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭anto3473

rex-x wrote: »
    When you have no key to copy from it becomes more complicated

Nope, they can make the key using some number from the car. if you go to a dealership of your car make

Locked a keys inside a rental car once, A guy from the garage of the car manufacturer took some details and programmed a new key [even though he was only meant to do this for the owner ie the rental company not me]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,426 ✭✭✭billbond4

Your insurance may cover the cost,it might be worth checking it out

She was looking for directions to go to Mayo. My dad is late seventies. An old fashioned guy. He is the worse guy for giving directions, he is super obliging, and said let me jump in and I'll show you, it is a maze to get back onto the m50 from where he was. It would of took about 5 minutes driving and still he would end up coming back close to his parked car heading in a different direction, so it was easier to show the lady.

That's all I know. His memory is not the best, oh and he is a little depressed now, so I'm not breaking his balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

emo72 wrote: »
    She was looking for directions to go to Mayo. My dad is late seventies. An old fashioned guy. He is the worse guy for giving directions, he is super obliging, and said let me jump in and I'll show you, it is a maze to get back onto the m50 from where he was. It would of took about 5 minutes driving and still he would end up coming back close to his parked car heading in a different direction, so it was easier to show the lady.

That's all I know. His memory is not the best, oh and he is a little depressed now, so I'm not breaking his balls.

If she's from Mayo, ring Mid West Radio at 0907-30169. If by chance she was over 40, there's every chance she will have that radio on in her car /home. And MWR are usually very obliging with those kind of requests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

anto3473 wrote: »
    Nope, they can make the key using some number from the car. if you go to a dealership of your car make

Locked a keys inside a rental car once, A guy from the garage of the car manufacturer took some details and programmed a new key [even though he was only meant to do this for the owner ie the rental company not me]

That really depends on the age and model, you wont find many cars where that is possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

If she's from Mayo, ring Mid West Radio at 0907-30169. If by chance she was over 40, there's every chance she will have that radio on in her car /home. And MWR are usually very obliging with those kind of requests.

Where did you pluck that old area code out of. It's 094 9630169. No harm in ringing. Plenty of them requests get called out. The lads in MWR are very obliging and will air it no bother. I've often put in ads about kittens free to a good home!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

Where did you pluck that old area code out of. It's 094 9630169. No harm in ringing. Plenty of them requests get called out. The lads in MWR are very obliging and will air it no bother. I've often put in ads about kittens free to a good home!!

Maybe its time to neuter the cat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

cjt156 wrote:
    Maybe its time to neuter the cat?

All cats are gone, and never again will I have one!