Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Over and Under vs Side by Side

• 21-02-2015 8:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭

What's the opinion lads?

I think the over and under due to its heavy stacked barrel design is better at absorbing the kick.

The side by sides tend to be lighter I find, probably better if you're covering a lot of ground while you shoot.

Aiming, I know some like the single line of sight offered by the O/U but I like the way the SxS barrels give you a leading reference when tracking targets moving across you.

What do ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭mikeyboo

ive always prefered a o/u to the side by side. depends on what you like tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭useurowname

BrownTrout wrote: »
    I think the over and under due to its heavy stacked barrel design is better at absorbing the kick.

The side by sides tend to be lighter I find, probably better if you're covering a lot of ground while you shoot.

Aiming, I know some like the single line of sight offered by the O/U but I like the way the SxS barrels give you a leading reference when tracking targets moving across you.

All true, personally I have always thought the o/u points more naturally for me, but I really like the handling characteristics of a good sxs and the sight picture is obviously better, pity good ones are so expensive compared with their equivalent o/u. All told for the knockabout shooter (rough/trap/wildfowler) which I'd consider myself it's just sensible to have a good o/u sporter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Mississippi.

I prefere the side by side but it is probably just because I started with it.
    Even in two guns of the same weight I understand the recoil to be slightly less noitacable and more up and down in a o/u where as in a sxs it is more to the sides.

I plink therefore I am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭hathcock

BrownTrout wrote: »
    What's the opinion lads?

What do ye think?
    Besides the fact that o/u guns are designed with clay shooting primarily in mind,and the akward loading,particularly in confined spaces, ie a pigeon hide or duck blind,the extra weight etc,they are damn ugly when compared to a sbs,the sbs has never been bettered as a game gun design,now I know that there are some light o/us of late beretta ultralight etc,but they are still a horrible gun imo when compared to a nice sbs, for example my lovely AYA no. 2. Back at me o/u owners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

hathcock wrote: »
    Besides the fact that o/u guns are designed with clay shooting primarily in mind,and the akward loading,particularly in confined spaces, ie a pigeon hide or duck blind,the extra weight etc,they are damn ugly when compared to a sbs,the sbs has never been bettered as a game gun design,now I know that there are some light o/us of late beretta ultralight etc,but they are still a horrible gun imo when compared to a nice sbs, for example my lovely AYA no. 2. Back at me o/u owners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭blackpearl

In this day and age most ous cheap or expensive are lighter than side by sides my first side by side was made by boss it was a sidelock it weighted 6 lbs I could shoot most of what got up in front of me with it.I went for a middle of the road ou made in Italy to my next and last gun 6lbs in weight as well balanced as the boss would never swap it made by franchie,if you could get one it would cost about 5 to600 euro secondhand the boss about 25 to30,ooo secondhand no difference in the handling of either gun its what ever floats your boat,i have no douth that a cheap and and not so light aya would shoot just as well as the more expensive boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

I had a silma o/u game gun for a while and all i liked was the low weight. I know this might sound silly but every time I looked at it I thought " jaysus that gun looks ugly" I traded it in and bought a remmy pump which I still love and use all the time for foxing. Just over a year ago (I think!) I got my grubby little paws on an old aya made in 1957 and I use it for everything (bar foxing, as it won't take 3 inch magnums), I have taken a mountain of game with it and I will NEVER let it go. Sxs for me all the way. Beautiful to look at, lovely to shoot and just feels better all round. Just my 2 cents....
    LR