Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Might be of interest to us old folk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

He was fading pretty fast in that 1500m, not sure if he would have covered those extra 109m in under the 5:00 :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

He was fading pretty fast in that 1500m, not sure if he would have covered those extra 109m in under the 5:00 :P

Would not even count for the "10 round numbers" thread on here...

Needs to work on base mileage (20-25 mpw) and a 3 week taper for a 1500m race, wtf ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Pure nonsense. 4:40 is not the equivalent time for a sub 5 mile. You can't just take the same pace. It's more like 4:37, which I'm sure the IAAF tables will confirm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

dna_leri wrote: »

Needs to work on base mileage (20-25 mpw) and a 3 week taper for a 1500m race, wtf ?

Yea, it was such a strange story. Basically he trained really badly and ran a terribly paced race and they're spouting it out as some inspirational story. I'm sure he could have achieved a lot better if he'd taken a more sensible approach.

Also McMillan puts 4.36 as an equivalent time to a 4.59 mile time so he's being a bit generous to himself there too. Surely its not difficult to find a mile race that you could target either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,595 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Murph_D wrote: »

very impressive, and she's Irish.. Can't believe they didn't let her go to the Olympics.

Her description of 1980 in Galway sounds like the dark ages!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Netwerk Errer

I don't anyone can beat Ed Whitlock when it comes to age group World Records. The oldest man in history to go sub-3 when he ran 2:58 at 74 years old. He has run 3:15 for the marathon at 80+.He has obliterated pretty much every age group WR from the mile to the marathon since he was in his 60's. Clocking a sub-40 10k in his mid-late 70's.

Clive Davis is another one. 2:41 at 65 y/o. Makes you think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,368 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Ed, thank you. 9 minute miles just lowered to 8 mins. Couldn't resist!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,595 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

annapr wrote: »
    very impressive, and she's Irish.. Can't believe they didn't let her go to the Olympics.

TbL might know her. Actually if he sticks to her in Boston he might get that sub-3. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Sacksian

We also have some fairly decent Masters runners in Ireland.

Joe Gough of West Waterford broke the M60 world indoor record for 800m last year, when he ran 2:14.06.

Jim McNamara of Donore ran 20 minutes 35 for 5k and just over 44 minutes for 10k as an M75. He also previously held the M50 world record for 10k - 31:51!

dna_leri of A/R forum fame holds the M45 National indoor record for 800m.

And at the Leinster Indoors the week before last, Raheny's Mick Traynor broke the Irish M50 indoor record for 1500m and 3000m on the same day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭conavitzky

dna_leri wrote: »

That's for sure! I remember the boards gestapo putting a spanner in my sub 30min 5 mile/8k last year..... Not holding a grudge or anything like Yaboya...;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭conavitzky

annapr wrote: »

Remember reading an article somewhere about an irish race walker back in the 70's who used to run early in the mornings who used to get dirty looks from Farmers bringing in cows for milking. As much as saying what the feck is that gob****e at prancing around the roads when there is work to be done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

conavitzky wrote: »
    Remember reading an article somewhere about an irish race walker back in the 70's who used to run early in the mornings who used to get dirty looks from Farmers bringing in cows for milking. As much as saying what the feck is that gob****e at prancing around the roads when there is work to be done!

We still get looks like that the odd time in the hills of Donegal ('them ones must be Germans or from Dublin')... or sometimes have to interrupt a run to help round up sheep/cows/horses :)