Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

heifer prices

• 18-02-2015 10:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭

how much should i be looking to get for 2 belgian blue heifers weighing 310 kilos , 1 black limousin weighing 320 kilos and an aberdeen angus weighing 330 kilos all weanlings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭leoch

750 ,,800 each

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

What age?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Depends on the calf. I sold a few butty type heifers between 270 to 310kg. They wouldn't have been great heifers but they went from 800- 960

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭marathon

the 2 blues born 7 april the angus april 8th and limousin 21 march all 2014

just to clarify im putting the 4 weanlings up on done deal tonite the 2 blues 310 kilos for 800 the black limousin for 320 kilos for 850 and the angus 330 kilos for 900 all heifers does that sound rite first time ever selling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

marathon wrote: »
    just to clarify im putting the 4 weanlings up on done deal tonite the 2 blues 310 kilos for 800 the black limousin for 320 kilos for 850 and the angus 330 kilos for 900 all heifers does that sound rite first time ever selling

Would you not be better off bringing them to the mart. You'd be guaranteed payment and wouldn't have a load of chancers trying to buy them for half nothing.
    Let them fight over them in the mart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

tanko wrote: »
    Would you not be better off bringing them to the mart. You'd be guaranteed payment and wouldn't have a load of chancers trying to buy them for half nothing.
    Let them fight over them in the mart.

Good spake.
    Heifers are flying at the min. Bring em to the mart.

cheers will go to mart so like ye said garateed payment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

marathon wrote: »
    cheers will go to mart so like ye said garateed payment

Just make sure they're tested, amount of times I seen weanlings being brought in with no TB test as they were born after the annual test!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Hoof_Harted

I had an aberdeen angus weighing about and sold her for 1000 in the mart. Was weighing about 390 Kilo's.

yea they tested in october so grand on that score. 1000 for angus thats serious price is it not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

I had an aberdeen angus weighing about and sold her for 1000 in the mart. Was weighing about 390 Kilo's.

That's a good price. Sh!t if you're buying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Hoof_Harted

I was delighted with the price but miss her now though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Arrow in the Knee

Where's the profit there for the buyer?

Fair play to the seller.

thinking of buying 10 or 12 angus calves wot average price are they at moment?

how much are angus calves selling for both bulls and heifers

i put up the angus heifer on dd after it got 284 views and i never got a phonecall on it