Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

whats she up to??

• 18-02-2015 5:40pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 66 ✭✭

Hey me and my girlfriend broke up 3 weeks ago and there was no contact between us.I didn't think it was a good idea.that was until Sat when she arrived in to where I work cause she needed to buy something.and she never came in before either but all went grand until Monday when she text saying it was great we could talk and that I'm such a lovely person.so we have had a few texts since but just small talk messages really.I think she's still interested or am I wrong?advice please?

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Sounds like she is missing you alright. If you want to see if you can rekindle the relationship, talk to her about it. If not, then tell her you need to not see her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 JAMES VI

I'm no Dr. Phil, but My guess is she is probably suffering from lack of you, because you are such a lovely person, she probably is too. But that really doesn't mean she wants to get back with you. It could means she quite simply just misses you and thinks that a friendship is the right way to go about sh*t. I dunno if it is though. It could be, if that's what you both REALLY wanted, but otherwise - I don't know if it's a good idea.

But hey maybe I'm completely wrong. Either way, good luck!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭Stavro Mueller

Who broke up with who?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 66 ✭✭chaz44

She ended it.she's quite shy and cautious so she's not the type to come out and admit her feelings about anything.the last message she sent was not really one u would have to write back to so would it be ok not to text back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭mada82

There's a few possibilities here

1 she misses your company but doesn't want to get back with you. Most likely she will cut contact when back out and about with friends or has a new man. You will be left in your own then and she probably won't want anything to do you. Basically she's using you for company.

2 she feels guilty over the breakup and this is her way of making her feel better about it. She doesn't want to get back with you though.

3 she wants to get back with you. It's up to you how you handle this. In my opinion it's up to her to come out and say it and not up to you.

I do want her back to be honest and I always got the feeling she didn't 100 percent want to break up.I'm going to leave it be for a few days see what happens.if she wants me she can come and get me lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭giggle84

mada82 wrote: »

1 she misses your company but doesn't want to get back with you. Most likely she will cut contact when back out and about with friends or has a new man. You will be left in your own then and she probably won't want anything to do you. Basically she's using you for company.

2 she feels guilty over the breakup and this is her way of making her feel better about it. She doesn't want to get back with you though.

3 she wants to get back with you. It's up to you how you handle this. In my opinion it's up to her to come out and say it and not up to you.

Sort of agree with this. If she ended it then it's probably likely no. 2.. to make her feel better partly, and partly because she doesn't want you to hate her so she's trying to be nice and not just blank you altogether, not realising that she may be giving you false hope!

You're right to give her a wide berth and let her come to you, give her a chance to miss you and realise what she gave up. If she doesn't then it's her loss, move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 JAMES VI

chaz44 wrote: »
    if she wants me she can come and get me lol

That really is solid advice you have given yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

mada82 wrote: »

4. She may just want the attention. It's not unheard of for girls to hang around guys they know are crazy about them (ex's included), despite not wanting to get with the guy, as it's pleasing to the ego.

She broke up with you man. If she genuinely wanted to get back with you she'd be falling over herself apologising for what a terrible mistake she had made and pleading for one more chance.

Go find someone else. When you meet her you'll barely be able to remember this one's name. The world is teeming with beautiful, sexy, ridey, gamey women. Fill your socks.

I just don't think it's her style to be like that.she's just really not good at saying what's on her mind.she really didn't have anything to be guilty about anyhow as far as break ups go it was fine.one of the reasons it ended was because she thought she would be moving for another job and the first thing she said to me was that she was staying put so it was like she really wanted me to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

I just don't think it's her style to be like that.she's just really not good at saying what's on her mind.she really didn't have anything to be guilty about anyhow as far as break ups go it was fine.one of the reasons it ended was because she thought she would be moving for another job and the first thing she said to me was that she was staying put so it was like she really wanted me to know.

That doesnt sound good. If it wasnt certain then it wasnt the major reason. Just bite the bullet and ask her whats up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Well if you have your heart set on her then just ask her straight out, no beating around the bush. "Liz, what's the craic? Do you want to get back together with me?" If she does she'll be over the moon, if she doesn't she'll say so, no big deal, and you can move on.

But honestly, even if she wants to get back together I think you should move on. She broke up with you because she might.. might... be getting another job? You don't do that if you love someone. Sure what happens in 6 months time when she lines up another job which means being with you would be inconvenient for her? Dumpsville again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭Matteroffact

I think she doesn't know what she wants and would like to know you are still around in case she changes her mind. You replying to her texts is letting her know you are still there, so if I were you I would stop all contact and see what she does then. If she wants to get back with you she knows she was the one who suggested breaking up and that it is up to her to say she wants you back, if she does. So hang on in there and see what she does, but do not reply to her unless she is asking you to meet up with her for a discussion on getting back together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭Xterminator

Why play games? Life is too short for that crap.

IMO you should sit down together and talk honestly.

That way you get the answer to your questions and possibly get your lady back.

Honestly I just couldn't take the rejection especially if she's just been friendly she needs to speak up

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,914 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

chazz, your story has changed from 2 weeks ago when you said you finished with her because you were too busy for a relationship. You seemed put out at that stage that she moved on pretty quickly and didn't seem too heartbroken by the breakup.

This is your third thread on this girl in as many weeks. It sounds like she is happy to just be friends with you.

It's up to you to decide if you are happy with that.

Thread locked. Please don't start another thread about this issue. All advice has been offered.