Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Penalty points, do you get them for driving in a bus lane?

• 17-02-2015 1:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11

I'd often perform a cheeky manoeuvre up the bus lane on a weekday morning going into town. The question is, what are the consequences of getting caught? I know there is a fine but do they slap on 3 points too? Anyone found out the hard way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

"Failure to comply with traffic lane markings" - 1 point fixed penalty, 3 points in court.

Aside from that, it's just pure ignorance. If you want to use the bus lane rather than sit in traffic, get a bus instead of making the traffic problem worse.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

I don't think that's applicable. There is specific provision in the RTAs for the penalty for driving in a bus lane and it's a fixed penalty of €60/€90. I cannot see whether that has changed recently.

When an offence is specifically provided for, it isn't really optional for the Gardaí to prosecute another provision - it's not the way the RTAs are drafted.

That said, it's certainly anomalous that penalty point aren't in force for this offence when you consider the fact that the policy appears to be to move people onto buses/bicycles rather than contributing to the traffic problem. However, the government have shown themselves to be schizophrenically pursuing a number of objectives when it comes to transport so it's not hugely surprising that you can drive around in the bus lanes for just €60 if you so wish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

seamus wrote: »
    "Failure to comply with traffic lane markings" - 1 point fixed penalty, 3 points in court.

Aside from that, it's just pure ignorance. If you want to use the bus lane rather than sit in traffic, get a bus instead of making the traffic problem worse.

Personally I think there should be a law allowing law abiding motorists to forcibly pull people who drive in a bus lane out of their cars and beat the crap out of them. :mad:

Too much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

There's some great videos being posted in the Dash Can thread at the moment, nothing ref bus lanes but a great indicator and tailgating ones :D

Personally I think they should be made to stop and take people where they want to go for €3 a pop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

i get passed on the malahide road (7.45am morning traffic) almost every day by the same 12d black ford focus spinning down the buslane most of the way. Young guy driving..for 60 quid IF caught maybe im the eejit queueing! :P

You can absolutely, positively guarantee - without a shadow of a doubt the first day you do it there'll be a garda car sitting there and focus guy will have the day off.

Personally I think there should be a law allowing law abiding motorists to forcibly pull people who drive in a bus lane out of their cars and beat the crap out of them. :mad:

Too much?

No it isn't.
    A good kick in the bollocks is what these guys need, funny enough hardly ever see a woman doing it.

No it isn't.
    A good kick in the bollocks is what these guys need, funny enough hardly ever see a woman doing it.

Happy to be sat there yapping on the phone or doing the make up.

I'll get my coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

A good kick in the bollocks

Apt username...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭bri007

I use the malahide road aswel in the mornings I seen that focus driving in the bus lane, there is also a silver celica and a black Mercedes cals always driving in it aswel, as I sit in the line if traffic wondering how they always get away with it every morning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭purplecow1977

Where are the guards? These type of things really irritate other road users & should be prevented where possible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Where are the guards? These type of things really irritate other road users & should be prevented where possible!

Of course the gardaí get a lot of abuse when they enforce traffic laws like these. Then again, they get a lot of people wanting them to be there to enforce them as well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 itsThemuRR

seamus wrote: »

I believe anyone who drives in the bus lane is only improving the traffic problem. One less car for you to sit behind when you're stuck in traffic, you rarely get in the way of a bus because when you're in the bus lane in the morning you just cruise straight into town. Why would I get the bus when I can cruise in my Audi?

I think the limited Garda resources are needed for more important things in fairness!

Fair play to him, living his life (rather than watch it drive right past) I condone this behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭the world wonders

itsThemuRR wrote: »
    I believe anyone who drives in the bus lane is only improving the traffic problem. One less car for you to sit behind when you're stuck in traffic, you rarely get in the way of a bus because when you're in the bus lane in the morning you just cruise straight into town. Why would I get the bus when I can cruise in my Audi?
    I think the limited Garda resources are needed for more important things in fairness!
    Fair play to him, living his life (rather than watch it drive right past) I condone this behaviour.

2/5

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭NotCominBack

Just buy a taxi plate, problem solved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Too much?

Yes, but I think it's in the class of offence where a Guard should be able to ask you to produce your licence whereupon he should be permitted to tear it up in tiny pieces and pour it on your head!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Just buy a taxi plate, problem solved

Or get a Northern Reg car - then you can ignore more than just the bus lanes ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

And this how the phrase "Audiot" came into being.

Jawgap wrote: »
    Yes, but I think it's in the class of offence where a Guard should be able to ask you to produce your licence whereupon he should be permitted to tear it up in tiny pieces and pour it on your head!

It's not possible to tear up a card. He could snap in two though..

Or get a Northern Reg car - then you can ignore more than just the bus lanes ;)

Great stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

No it isn't.

Women don't have balls, that's why.

What a ridiculous statement. I've been guilty of running the bus lane for the last 100 meters, but only because failing to do so will likely result in me being unable to take a left turn, because cars behind me are pulling into the lane. This is not in rush hour traffic though. I just couldn't.

Forced to eat the license I say

goz83 wrote: »
    Women don't have balls, that's why.

What a ridiculous statement. I've been guilty of running the bus lane for the last 100 meters, but only because failing to do so will likely result in me being unable to take a left turn, because cars behind me are pulling into the lane. This is not in rush hour traffic though. I just couldn't.

Forced to eat the license I say

You'd have a great case against the state then! 😆

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Why would I get the bus when I can cruise in my Audi?
    Jaysus. Clarkson was right about something! Remember the Audi driver comments a few years ago?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭NotCominBack

Has anyone ever been convicted of the crime "Audielousy"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Surely a raft of bus lane cameras would at worst be cost neutral ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Has anyone ever been convicted of the crime "Audielousy"?

Not recently, I'd imagine. Second hand market puts an A4 within the reach of most budgets.