Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clever Investment or Asking for Trouble?

Options
  • 15-02-2015 9:24pm
    Registered Users Posts: 19

I've been renting accommodation for the last 3 years, but I know want to get a place of my own.

I have savings and investments of around €180k and this is the money I was planning to use when buying my own place, but I recently saw a small development site for sale in a nice location of my home town with Full Planning Permission for 2 large apartments and one 4 bed house with an asking price of €50k. I spoke to a local architect and he told me I could possibly get planning permission for 4 to 6 apartments on the site in place of the original planning application. So I'm thinking I could live in 1 apartment and let the others out to pay off the mortgage I would have to take out.

I know I'll have to pay Taxes, Maintenance, Insurance etc, but I think this could be a good investment in the long term as a posed to just spending my €180k on a one off house for myself.

I know I will have to get professional advice on this matter if I decide to go ahead with it, but I would just like to get general feedback from you guys to see this is a good idea or not.

Thanks in advance

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

There are towns and villages all overt Ireland with ghost estates and apartments because people thought the same. Why would yours be any different?

• Registered Users Posts: 19 darby5250