Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Friday 13th bullsh1t - how bad was yours?

• 13-02-2015 7:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I've had a monumentally shyte day full of first world problems so thought a penis-measuring competition in who has had the worst Friday 13th AH-style was in order.

Here's my offering:

- Slept through my five alarms and woke up an hour after I was supposed to be in work.
    - Doled out thirty pounds for a taxi because of 'Friday morning traffic' when it would actually have been quicker to take the bus
    - Spilt coffee down my brand new white top just as I entered the office (yes I stopped off to get a coffee despite being ridiculously late, priorities)
    - Bumped into the big shot CEO / director of the entire company while I was hugging the hand dryer in the work bathroom desperately trying to dry my top and looking like a muppet of epic proportions. Engaged in awkward small talk, destroyed future career prospects.
    - Went for another coffee break, got caught in thunderstorm, dropped folder full of important documents into a big dirty puddle. Cried.
    - Lost a really special ring.
    - Broke a heel on the bus home.
    - Housemate drank all my wine.

How bad was yours?

ETA: Another one for the list: posted this in the wrong forum. Muppety muppet. Fcuk you Friday 13th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

There's another next month, better get used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Galway K9

Almost went the full day without knowing it was Friday 13th.......thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

No such thing as bad or good luck. There is a thing called Probability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I'm at home with a tummy bug, haven't been able to keep anything inside since yesterday, shivers, freezing feet which I can't warm up try as I may and a splitting headache on top.

At this point, I really don't care what date it is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 127 ✭✭Buzz Meeks

No such thing as bad or good luck. There is a thing called Probability.

There's a 90% chance you're right. There's a 10% chance we don't know everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

beks101 wrote: »

How bad was yours?

It ain't over yet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Shenshen wrote: »
    I'm at home with a tummy bug, haven't been able to keep anything inside since yesterday, shivers, freezing feet which I can't warm up try as I may and a splitting headache on top.

Poor fecker. Quick recovery I hope !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,037 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Ha ha...

i didn't even notice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Mine was brilliant! My new car arrived in after almost 3 months waiting and 3 weeks earlier than I thought it would be. Collecting it tomorrow! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

More or less the same as any other Friday. Bit tired I suppose.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I'd a remarkably average day.

Just opened a beer actually, so slightly above average.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭ohbygod

Spent my rent on the gg's and lost it all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Pretty good except wasting time watching the fifty shades of grey movie. Gonna indulge in some take away for tea so thats a good ending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭cnoc

Passed NCT today with a 10 yr old car.

Shenshen wrote: »

I've one too - i'm able to eat again today though thank goodness
    Speedy recovery to you

Was so happy it was friday i forgot he date. day went grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Took a s**t and forgot there was no bog roll in the toilet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I have a 15 to 20 minute walk to work. When I opened the front door this morning, it was raining and very windy. I was not impressed. 3 minutes into my walk, a colleague also on his way in to work, pulled over and gave me a lift.

Friday the 13th is nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭McTigs

Lost my iphone, both kids got sick so we had to cancel dinner out for my wife's birthday and my mum tol me that dad is showing signs of dementia..... With other smaller particles of **** peppered throughout the day.

Having a beer on the couch now, so far so good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

I didn't notice! Tbh, even if it was a **** day, it's counteracted by it being Friday. It was an okay day. I'll try and rustle up some disasters to make you feel better, Beks:

- It rained a bit.

- Extremely large queue in the supermarket.

- Made a student cry.

- Boyfriend is a bit grumpy this evening.

That's it! Grand day all in all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

- Made a student cry.

Deadly. Do elaborate.

beks101 wrote: »
    Deadly. Do elaborate.

I'm a great one for the emotive/inspirational/moving videos in class to get discussion going and showed her this one as part of what I'd planned for the class:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f-4AmztnIYw

She didn't have much to say about it (it's normally a class of 7 but she was the onlyone who turned up and she's very quiet) so I blurted out, "How would you feel if you went blind tomorrow? How would you cope?" (:eek: W.T.F!!) and she started to well up.

Time to pack in this teaching malarky tbh. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭lifeandtimes

Great actually..won a TV off spin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Got up on time, had lovely breakfast, was early to work, had an easy day at work, got off early and beat the traffic, relaxing since then with some lovely food and drink.

Horrible 13th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭SadieSue

It's -20c today so.. couldn't feel my face when I went out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

My couches came while it was lashing rain, I had to bring them in to the house myself. Other than that it was an ok day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

My couches came while it was lashing rain, I had to bring them in to the house myself. Other than that it was an ok day.

Should've kept one in the garden for that summer sitting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

It's not really Friday the 13th, as really there should be 13 months if the 365 days were divided evenly into 13months of 28 days
    But we can't be having that coz morons don't like the number 13 for some reason and think it's bad luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

For me I started shaking like a leaf around lunchtime. I thought I was going hypo (don't have diabetes) but lucozade was doing nothing. Just felt really warm and like I was shivering

LEFT MY BAG ON THE MOTHER******* BUS :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I was making a sandwich and a slice of tomato fell on the floor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Worked 13 hours. The 13th hour was the sweetest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

I have the worst cold ever.

BUT, my 16 year old car with nigh on 150k miles passed the NCT with flying colours.

This ****ing cold though..

I forgot it was Friday 13th. I had a very good day today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭LETS BE AVN IT

Never believed in this till today. Had a lovely day in work till 3.30 when I was walking out the front gates and the boss called me back to tell me there is no work there for me Monday and had to leave me go :( . So went to HR to get a letter for social welfare stating I had been left go , popped down the road to welfare when I realised it closes at 4 so I had to run the last bit of the journey just to be sure , got there at 3.55 grand I said then went to get letter from me pocket and shur it only fell out of my pocket during me run. Ran back up the road and found it unharmed and then ran back down the road to find the office closed it then started raining. Went to walk home and checked me other pocket for me hat and gloves and shur there only after falling out my pockets too :( . And then to top it off I met roadworks on the route home and they had those gate barriers things up so I followed the route threw to find it led to another gate barrier I had to jump over I clearly went the wrong way ha , any-ways completely fell on me arse getting over it in full view of traffic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I puked the bed. However, I should point out that I was on the piss all day yesterday.

I also won almost 2 grand in a 25/50 cash game on full tilt earlier. All balances out in the eand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Should've kept one in the garden for that summer sitting

That's where the old ones are going. We're classy like that.

Never believed in this till today. Had a lovely day in work till 3.30 when I was walking out the front gates and the boss called me back to tell me there is no work there for me Monday and had to leave me go :( . So went to HR to get a letter for social welfare stating I had been left go , popped down the road to welfare when I realised it closes at 4 so I had to run the last bit of the journey just to be sure , got there at 3.55 grand I said then went to get letter from me pocket and shur it only fell out of my pocket during me run. Ran back up the road and found it unharmed and then ran back down the road to find the office closed it then started raining. Went to walk home and checked me other pocket for me hat and gloves and shur there only after falling out my pockets too :( . And then to top it off I met roadworks on the route home and they had those gate barriers things up so I followed the route threw to find it led to another gate barrier I had to jump over I clearly went the wrong way ha , any-ways completely fell on me arse getting over it in full view of traffic.

Awwwww. This post broke my heart a bit. Chin up, chum! You'll be grand ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Not bad, took my kid to a circus this evening which was nice.

A few irksome things at work, but that's why we get wages.

As op said, first world problems, somebody gave me a cappuccino instead of a mocha....bull crap!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

My was unbelievably ****. Horrible day and I very rarely have bad days.

Nothing to do with the fact it just so happened to be Friday 13th because it's load of bollox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Mine wasn't great. Did an interview for a job on Tuesday and told today I didn't get it. Don't think I wanted it really having said that.

Then there's a problem with the heating where I live which might cost a bit to fix.

I forgot today was Friday the 13th, but now I know the reason for the bad luck. Hopefully things pick up tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Mine was great. Got a €200 tax refund from revenue. Also found out my friend who I referred for a job where I work got the job! So that's about €600 referral bonus for me, and a job for my buddy. Win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

Had a grand day today and managed to make some young lads valentines weekend for him (not like that 😀)

He was getting his first car insurance and the best I could do for him was €4k. The deposit was over a grand, he wanted to get the car on the road as he told his girlfriend he'd take her for a drive in the car tomorrow but only had half the money in his account. I sorted him out on the condition he gives me the rest next week. Huge money for car insurance but he was delighted...... And so was I with the commission 😛

• Closed Accounts Posts: 927 ✭✭✭AngeGal

It's not really Friday the 13th, as really there should be 13 months if the 365 days were divided evenly into 13months of 28 days
    But we can't be having that coz morons don't like the number 13 for some reason and think it's bad luck.

Might want to check your maths there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭corkchick88

I made my dinner and then dropped it all on the floor.... so had a sandwich instead. Cat was happy tho