Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I stole a chocolate biscuit

• 13-02-2015 6:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭

I just read this in a thread about confession, an example of the kinds of sins that people would tell in confession when they were children.

I remember trying to desperately come up with sins (until I reach puberty)

I talked back to my mam
    I hit my friend with a hurley
    I didn't count the cattle in the evening and one of them was left outside all night
    I forgot to feed the dog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

"I cursed," was the weekly banker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭NotCominBack

Never mind you, the poor dog and cow ye little fecker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

I just said the same confession all the time.

I kicked the dog

I didn't really but didn't know what else to say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Whosthis

Asarlai wrote: »
    I just read this in a thread about confession, an example of the kinds of sins that people would tell in confession when they were children.

I talked back to my mam
    I didn't count the cattle in the evening and one of them was left outside all night
    I forgot to feed the dog

Forgetfulness is not a sin child.

Whosthis wrote: »

Pulls down zipper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

I talked back to my mam
    I forgot to feed the dog

The irony of it all. Technically, when you went back for your next session you should add "I made up all my last confession sins". I think most kids made them up. It was a farce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

jamesbere wrote: »
    Pulls down zipper

Well that turned creepy very fast. Lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

I just said the same confession all the time.

I kicked the dog

Since there was no ISPCA calls to your house, fair play to the priest for honouring the seal of the confessional.

Well that turned creepy very fast. Lol.

Ah get it out of the way early

c_man wrote: »
    Since there was no ISPCA calls to your house, fair play to the priest for honouring the seal of the confessional.

Ah he was a good man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭NotCominBack

Whosthis wrote: »

I believe that is called "neglect" - a sin punishable by 7 Hail Marys, 4 our fathers, and a glory be, for good measure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Whosthis

I believe that is called "neglect" - a sin punishable by 7 Hail Marys, 4 our fathers, and a glory be, for good measure

Penance sorted by kneeling down for thirty seconds and claiming to have said them really fast in your head. It's Saturday morning after all and I has got cartoons to be watchin, bitches!!!!!!! (Sorry Mother Mary, not you.)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭Tearin It Up

I should go back to confession and tell the priest I made them all up as a kid.

While I'm at it, should I tell the priest that I used to doss mass as a teenager? I was 13 and my mother would get me and only me up out of bed on a Sunday to go to mass, not any of brothers or my sister and my mother wouldnt go either!!! Only me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

I just remembered that I used to actually say the prayers I got as penance :o such a sap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

It just shows how silly it is to be getting kids into confession at such a young age. I can remember sitting in the church trying to make up stuff to confess so I wouldn't be sitting in the box in silence. Kids have nothing to confess for fecks sake. High time to get rid of the whole confession/communion/confirmation nonsense and let people do their worshipping outside of school time. That way kids could make their own religious choices when they're older.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Oddly enough, for someone who is fairly anti-religion, I can sorta see the merit in confession. Encouraging kids to reflect on their own actions and think about how they affect other people is no bad thing really.

I remember confessing that I hurt my mums feelings ("I don't love you!") because I felt so bad about it. I was well under 10 I think, and I thought it was the worst sin in the world.

Just thinking about it there makes me realise I still feel bad about it. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

I should go back to confession and tell the priest I made them all up as a kid.

While I'm at it, should I tell the priest that I used to doss mass as a teenager? I was 13 and my mother would get me and only me up out of bed on a Sunday to go to mass, not any of brothers or my sister and my mother wouldnt go either!!! Only me.

She must have had you measured up for the priests concubine then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

I never knew the prayer you said when you sat down, forgive me father I have sinned, mumble mumble mumble, it's been two weeks since my last confession.
    That never set things off on the right foot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Nabber

I forgot to feed the dog

Did both of these with the kids. On the same night too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I called my brother a bad name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I didn't do as my mammy/daddy told me.
    I told lies.
    I fought with my sister.
    I cursed 3 times.

I told the same confession the three times I went to confession in my life. If I was ever forced to go again I'll tell the same 'sins'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Asarlai

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Whosthis

Pulls down zipper

Pulls up zipper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭jeni

lol made up sins and then went out and said prayers for pennince of made up sins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭seventeen sheep

Y'see you couldn't tell him your "real" sins, or he'd think you were a little brat. So I'd make up very minor sins, be given a few Hail Marys and Our Fathers as penance, and I'd be surprised at how many I'd gotten, thinking, feck, imagine how many I'd have gotten if I'd told him the bad stuff! :eek:

My mum was the school vice principal, so she worked very closely with the parish priest. I actually remember on confession days she'd be coaching us in the car on the way there about which sins were OK to confess and which weren't. "No you can't feckin tell him that you cursed at your father when he whacked you with the wooden spoon!" :eek: "Just tell him you forgot to say thank you to your mum for helping you with your homework last night."

Such a bizarre concept really. Punishing you by making you say prayers to their god, something that they're supposed to want you to do ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

Sure in the 80s I think we all did this one

I-Shot-J-R.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Stinjy

Hah this brings me back.. We lived in a small enough parish (at the time) my parents were teachers and dad was involved with the church a bit, choir and what not.. I was always afraid the priests would tell my parents what I said so I made stuff up that either my parents already knew or that wasnt really bad..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,905 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

It's a load of bollix forcing that pressure on a child.

My friend's little one was in a wicked way about her first confession - didn't know what to say. Crying constantly about it. Wanted to say she'd been mean to her sister (sister was 1) just so she'd have something to spout.

Horrible, horrible pressure to put on a child. All for some organised made up nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

I wonder what would happen if I went to confession now!
    Father I've jerked off to 2 girls 1 cup
    and I have homicidal tendencies towards members of the cloth.....how many hail marys will I get for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

jeni wrote: »
    lol made up sins and then went out and said prayers for pennince of made up sins

Hope you ask for forgiveness for tells lies in confession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I never got through a full confession. The priest always kicked me out when I tried (poorly) to recite the act of contrition or prayers. I never much cared for religion so never put any effort into it. I just went to mass/confession because you 'had to' in those days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Oddly enough, for someone who is fairly anti-religion, I can sorta see the merit in confession. Encouraging kids to reflect on their own actions and think about how they affect other people is no bad thing really.

Is this what it does though, when most kids are making up any old bollix to seek 'forgiveness' for?
    I'd say more likely it perpetuates this idea that we are all sinners and everything is a sin and we're all going to hell lads, wahey!

It's years since I've been in a confession box but I wonder how truly honest adults are too. Can you imagine... "I cheated on my husband with his best friend father...I secretly wished my boss was late because he got run over by a car...I have inappropriate thoughts about the neighbour's son...I called my sister a Cnut"
    I think if I was still a church-goer I'd still be lying in the confession box too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

Bonkers Japanese film about the dangers of having to commit sins in order to have something to confess too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Rosie Rant

I confessed to stealing a little plastic bracelet from my cousin in every confession because I felt so bad about it. I used to be so nervous, waiting to go in. I shook like a leaf. My palms were sweaty. When the priest went to bless me afterwards, I flinched back as if he was going to hit me.

I think "taking the Lord's name in vain" was a regular one too. And fighting with my sister. I always felt strangely peaceful afterwards, though. I think that was back when I wanted to become a nun! Haha oh dear...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

What kind of biscuit was it ?

And I hope it was nice. Because now you have to burn in hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Dog of Tears

Father,
    I killed a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Father,
    I killed a man.

Just to make a confession?

Father, I have lied.

I WAS BORN IN A HOUSE OF LIES!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

We'd all sit I'm the church, sh*tting ourselves over it. I used to just say I was mean to my sister, I hit my brother and said a bad word. It's gas that the sins had to be made up, I'm sure I had plenty to confess if I thought about it.

I was more nervous about the bless me father part, I was afraid I'd forget it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Asarlai

I killed a man in Ballybunion

Just to watch him die

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Adults who take the time to go to confession on their own time are presumably extremely honest, I'd say the Problem pages in The Sun wouldn't have a patch on them!

We used to swap sins in primary school, we had quite the little rota going while we waited in our designated row in the church!!

"What are you saying?"
    "Didn't help with the housework, you?"
    "You can't say that, Mary's after going in with that one!"
    "WELL WHAT AM I SUPPOSED TO DO NOW"
    "Say you didn't clean your room. That's a little bit different."