Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much is silage meadows making?

• 12-02-2015 10:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭

A neighbour of mine is looking for ten acres for first cut silage , it's a field that always delivers a good crop. I haven't a clue what it's worth , any idea what I should charge him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

I'd be asking a 1000 minimum

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

jimmydkid wrote: »
    A neighbour of mine is looking for ten acres for first cut silage , it's a field that always delivers a good crop. I haven't a clue what it's worth , any idea what I should charge him?

€1200 if he is putting on fert. €2200 if you have to put out fert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭20silkcut

Silage meadows should be making nothing this year. Quality Silage can be got for €15 a bale.
    But that doesn't seem to be affecting con acre prices in my area. I got €200 an acre. North Tipp area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

20silkcut wrote: »
    Silage meadows should be making nothing this year. Quality Silage can be got for €15 a bale.
    But that doesn't seem to be affecting con acre prices in my area. I got €200 an acre. North Tipp area.
    Was that to rent it for the year or just for 1 cut of silage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭arctic8dave

Get about 20 acres from neighbour ever year for first cut €100/acre fert myself

Also have to maintain p&k & lime for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭20silkcut

Was that to rent it for the year or just for 1 cut of silage?

Con acre no grazing no maps. Two cuts of silage and a zero grazing at the back end maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

AP2014 wrote: »
    €1200 if he is putting on fert. €2200 if you have to put out fert.

120 acre is a bit steep is it?
    Would have thought 100 acre...

Oh - and if they are putting out the fert, compounds be better, as otherwise your p & k will suffer.

120 acre is a bit steep is it?
    Would have thought 100 acre...

Oh - and if they are putting out the fert, compounds be better, as otherwise your p & k will suffer.

I have 2 fields ten acres and a fella looking to take bales of it this year. If I put on fert I would be selling at €12 - €14 a bale. Was thinking of charging him €10 if he put slurry on it after it is cut.

I could just charge a €1000 with no fert but as lads here have being saying to me I have to replace the p&k then. How much would that cost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭theaceofspies

Lads, when do ye get paid? - is it in advance or after the crop is gone out the gate?

One customer pays me when leaving the field nearly, other guy it's october/november after sfp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Sold a field for 2 cuts of silage last year - he paid 100% the minute after the deal was done (in March)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭jimmydkid

Thanks for replies guys, il go for around the €100 an acre . He is going to spread the fertiliser himself