Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Apprenticeship or college?

• 12-02-2015 7:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭

Last year I was offered a place on a course in LIT called Automobile Technology, I didn't take it as I wasnt sure if i wanted to do it or not but I reapplied through the CAO and am going to do it next year however, I was thinking maybe an apprenticeship would be better as I'd be getting paid and I'd finally be able to get my own car, be independent and buy my own clothes etc.

I am stuck between the two and not sure which would be a better choice for my career and future jobs etc, has anyone done this course and found it good and does anyone have any opinions on trades etc? Ultimately someday I would like to own my own garage, thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

Jeez wish I had that option when I was colleging.
    Me I would do lit and possibly work intern one day aweek for free in a garage,. Youd learn a shedload.
    But thats me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭Saxo

DaDumTish wrote: »
    Jeez wish I had that option when I was colleging.
    Me I would do lit and possibly work intern one day aweek for free in a garage,. Youd learn a shedload.
    But thats me.

It's only recently that my options have really opened up, last year I wasn't up to much and I was unsure of what I wanted so I did a PLC course for this year!

I would like to experience college life and go to LIT and I'd be a qualified technician within 2 years rather than 4 for an apprenticeship but I would love to be getting paid to work with motors as I would like to start driving soon, I know theres part time jobs and the like but its near enough impossible to get one lately!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Saxo wrote: »
    It's only recently that my options have really opened up, last year I wasn't up to much and I was unsure of what I wanted so I did a PLC course for this year!

I would like to experience college life and go to LIT and I'd be a qualified technician within 2 years rather than 4 for an apprenticeship but I would love to be getting paid to work with motors as I would like to start driving soon, I know theres part time jobs and the like but its near enough impossible to get one lately!

If you go to college you can get a grant if you're stuck, so technically you do get paid

I know I get a grant I'm getting one this year but its nowhere near enough money to cover the cost of a car and insurance.

Forget about the money side of it anyway lads what do you think would actually be better? I've had a lecturer tell me I'd be a fool not go to college but I don't think ill get as much hands on experience doing a course.. which would be better for future opportunities and the like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Surly the apprenticeship would be better as you are still a qualified mechanic by the end of it they go to college during their apprenticeship much like electrics etc. I'd imagine you would be a lot more employable after completing the apprenticeship. However finding a garage that will take you on will not be easy at all. Which may mean the course will be the only option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

College first if it was me, do the course and then if you want you can still do the apprenticeship however if you get qualified it would be harder to go back to having no money. On the other hand if you just want to work with cars the mechanic one might just be a better option. To be honest though don't base your decision on getting a car soon. Which one will get you a better car in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

first of all, good post OP :)

i think you need to find out more about the curriculum- have you spoken to Grads or is it a new course? What's their experience?

With knowledge of technology becoming more important in cars, a qualification, especially a degree ultimately (see below quote from the course prospectus), won't do you wrong and could open up more opportunities for you.
    Also, you'll probably find through your studies that you'll become valuable to a mechanic within the 1st year and can do some work on cars along side them, providing you with some "money" - but maybe not a big "income"- but it's all about deferred wealth, when it comes to college.

whatever you decide, don't neglect the academic side of things- it will stand to you and you will learn- besides, in years to come, you'll most likely be running your own business so you'll need to study how to do that also, so you'll have to study at some point.

best of success in your decision either way- my advice? go for the course but also, in parallel, get to know a mechanic and get in there and start the experience, hands-on journey. :)

'Opportunity to progress your studies by ladder approach into a Level 7 Bachelor of Engineering in Road Transport Technology and Management at LIT or other programmes in Ireland and abroad.'

http://www.lit.ie/Courses/LC281/default.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

College is also great craic. If you have the opportunity to go it's worth considering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Mechanic365

If you know someone in that course then try and go into one or two lectures with them, youll get a feel for it,,,,,,unlike me

I did one year of mech engineering, and had no money for a car of course, and got fed up since I was used to holding spanners at 9 in the morning instead of pens, I'd rather have a diesel running beside me permanently all day than listen to a lecturer.

That's the sort I am, I'm starting an apprenticeship soon in a garage and I'm driving machines to get some cash in to pay for a dirty corner on my windscreen (insurance) And feeling glad I didn't go back and do 2nd year

You need to ask youryourself do Ya want to have a few pints and learn in college, college life etc. or wake up at 5 in de morning like me and train, go to work, work for yourself in de evening with a car boot full of tools and enjoy the weekend! (yu can probably leave out the 5am bit :-P)

If your farming everyday or you used to working everyday, not a fan of acting the bollix around town then college might feel like hell....but those lads are rare
    People around here do be going to work early and I'm out on de road training in the dark they always say 'few and far between'
    My 2 cents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,228 ✭✭✭cletus

If you know someone in that course then try and go into one or two lectures with them, youll get a feel for it,,,,,,unlike me

I did one year of mech engineering, and had no money for a car of course, and got fed up since I was used to holding spanners at 9 in the morning instead of pens, I'd rather have a diesel running beside me permanently all day than listen to a lecturer.

That's the sort I am, I'm starting an apprenticeship soon in a garage and I'm driving machines to get some cash in to pay for a dirty corner on my windscreen (insurance) And feeling glad I didn't go back and do 2nd year

You need to ask youryourself do Ya want to have a few pints and learn in college, college life etc. or wake up at 5 in de morning like me and train, go to work, work for yourself in de evening with a car boot full of tools and enjoy the weekend! (yu can probably leave out the 5am bit :-P)

If your farming everyday or you used to working everyday, not a fan of acting the bollix around town then college might feel like hell....but those lads are rare
    People around here do be going to work early and I'm out on de road training in the dark they always say 'few and far between'
    My 2 cents

I can't comment on anybody's personal situation, but as a secondary school teacher, I can pretty much guarantee that the boys out acting the bollix around town are not the same ones that got to college or university.

Op, there are many routes in life to get where you want to go, and a lot of the time at your age (assuming 18-20) where you end up may not actually turn out to be where you thought you wanted to be.

College is a great experience, and if the course you're looking at is interesting to you and you think you would enjoy it, I say go for it. The fact that you have the option to continue on to degree is great, but even leaving after two years with a qualification still leaves you plenty young enough to do an apprenticeship, and will probably make you more employable in the medium and long term

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

A college education will stand to you, even if you never use or invoke it. You can easily run some intern / side jobs on the side to up your experience and pay packet. Certainly going abroad and not having a college / professional accreditation behind you can be a show stopper on the career ladder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Do the apprenticeship now if you get it, you get paid to go college and you get a recognised skill.
    Alot of courses in college are aload of ****ing bollox that you won't get employment with after. At least as a professional mechanic you can go you own and do nixers.
    You also attend college during off the job phases.

You can always do a degree later on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭dieselbug

Just so you know, I have heard Nissan advertising for apprentice techs in recent days on the radio.

I didnt hear all the details but pretty sure I have that right.

There's also the option of doing clasees outside of working hours and a good employer will likely support a good prospect who they see is showing a passion for the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Mechanic365

kona wrote: »
    Do the apprenticeship now if you get it, you get paid to go college and you get a recognised skill.
    Alot of courses in college are aload of ****ing bollox that you won't get employment with after. At least as a professional mechanic you can go you own and do nixers.
    You also attend college during off the job phases.

You can always do a degree later on.

What he said, on the ball

Hey lads sorry I was fairly busy with assignments over the last few weeks and never got around to replying to all of ye! :)

I applied for the Nissan Academy apprenticeships going on at the moment but the closing date is not until Monday so I'm not sure when I'd be called for an interview or anything or if I even will be..
    Although I applied for it I'm still stuck on what to do, I need to find someone who has graduated the course I have on my CAO and see what they say and a good friend of mine is also doing an apprenticeship at the moment and he loves it but it will take him 6 years to become a technician whereas the degree claims I would be working as a technician after 2, the pay isn't great for the first year of the apprenticeship and I only say this because I want to start driving and will have to save up.

I am in college at the moment doing a PLC course and although it is definitely different to a level 7 or 8 course in say LIT or UL, I'm enjoying it and I feel I may miss out on college life if I'm working as I won't have much freedom to socialize with the lads during the week, I couldn't face getting up at 7 AM for work after drinking! :P

More advice/opinions would be appreicated lads and I appreciate everyone who has given advice already, yere all sound :) :P

Service Manager
    Parts Manager
    Warranty Manager
    Auto Electrics Technician
    Technical Salesman
    Technical Sales Rep
    Motor Vehicle Technician
    Automobile Service Technician

This is a list of Job Opportunities after completion of the degree, I am really interested in cars but I don't really know anything about the industry itself or the roles apart from the general term of 'Mechanic' so I was wondering do any of these sound good and is there much prospects of a good career in Irelands Motor Industry? I would like to climb the ladder if you get me. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

Saxo wrote: »
    Service Manager
    Parts Manager
    Warranty Manager
    Auto Electrics Technician
    Technical Salesman
    Technical Sales Rep
    Motor Vehicle Technician
    Automobile Service Technician

This is a list of Job Opportunities after completion of the degree, I am really interested in cars but I don't really know anything about the industry itself or the roles apart from the general term of 'Mechanic' so I was wondering do any of these sound good and is there much prospects of a good career in Irelands Motor Industry? I would like to climb the ladder if you get me. :P

Hi Saxo,

Good you're thinking this way. No matter the industry, a "Manager" primarily has the responsibility to lead a team. Often, but not always, but more so now, Managers can come from a variety of places, not necessarily the industry they specialised in originally- think Manager of a coffee shop now Managing a team in a clothes shop- very similar principles in that both are retail - it's all about selling widgets-- it's more about getting the best out of the team, managing relationships, stakeholders, numbers, key performance indicators etc- so, a bit of product knowledge coupled with a lot of other skills, and you may have a great manager.

The "technicians" have specialist skills- some managers earn more than technicians- some technicians earn more than Managers- it's all about supply/demand in the labour market.

A car salesman for instance, may need a lot of technical knowledge about a car, but he/she also needs to relate to a consumer- so an ex-mechanic may not always be the right skill-set. A car salesman only needs to know how to sell a car, not repair it.

A mechanic though, has skills beyond a sales person- he or she can fix a car if it goes wrong, but may well posess the skills to manage a team of people and/or sell cars too, if he she chooses to make a career move later in life.

So, it goes back to, what skills would you like to have in the near future, Vs what skills do you think you might be good at in the distant future, with some experience behind you.

Do you see yourself ultimately working on cars, selling cars, or managing a team of mechanics/ sales/service people? Of course, there's also "owning your own business"- you could be a self employed mechanic, or own a car dealership etc.

What YOU want to do is up to you- but if you're undecided right now, a skill, such as a mechanic, is a very useful, employable skill and will stand to you in the future no matter what you do.

Sorry bout the length of post, best of luck:)

Personally op I'd still go for an apprenticeship if you want to be a mechanic it's the most direct root. The course seems good but there is no guarantees about getting a job. Tbh if you are looking to move up the ladder and progress the motor industry is not the best place. Most people that are in the motor industry are in it for the love of the job they are not there for the money or career progression prospects. Just looking at the course there it's still only a 2 year level 6 certificate so a fair bit of it being a degree in anything.

Not trying to put you of it or be negative either. But there is plenty of people who are into cars including myself that don't work in the industry it's a great hobby to have which is what I intend keeping it as as in my opinion there is no real decent opportunities in the industry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Go to college and get a degree. Bottom line. I'm a firm believer in third level degrees, and if one has the opportunity to do so then grab it with both hands. A degree will stand to you throughout your life, you will always have that extra qualification, thus standing out substantially when applying for jobs, over those with no third level education. Like I said, get the degree and then move onto being the mechanic or whatever it is you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Go to college and get a degree. Bottom line. I'm a firm believer in third level degrees, and if one has the opportunity to do so then grab it with both hands. A degree will stand to you throughout your life, you will always have that extra qualification, thus standing out substantially when applying for jobs, over those with no third level education. Like I said, get the degree and then move onto being the mechanic or whatever it is you want.

This. I know I said similar earlier in the thread but its really worth repeating. The money you'll earn now will be better than if you were sitting in college, but the money that having a degree will bring you will far exceed it, along with the opportunities globally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,267 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

salmocab wrote: »
    To be honest though don't base your decision on getting a car soon. Which one will get you a better car in the future.

Best advice in the thread.

ironclaw wrote: »
    This. I know I said similar earlier in the thread but its really worth repeating. The money you'll earn now will be better than if you were sitting in college, but the money that having a degree will bring you will far exceed it, along with the opportunities globally.

But it's not a level 8 degree the op is getting a certificate level 6 2 year course you would probably have as much doing an apprenticeship I think they are level 6 or 7. I'm not so sure that certificates are as internationally recognised as degrees are.

Bpmull wrote: »
    But it's not a level 8 degree the op is getting a certificate level 6 2 year course you would probably have as much doing an apprenticeship I think they are level 6 or 7. I'm not so sure that certificates are as internationally recognised as degrees are.

Hi, the degree I would be getting I'm near certain qualifies me to be a Motor Technician, which my friend who's doing the apprenticeship said that for him to become a Technician will take nearly 6 years whereas I get it in 2 years, I'm thinking that that is a good thing surely but someone said to me that although I'd be a technician, I won't be a qualified mechanic in the same sense and won't be able to work with the actual engines or steering or anything to that sort just the electrics and computer side?

I am leaning towards the college degree as I don't really feel ready to jump into a job at the moment and would like to experience more college life, I've got a taste of it this year and I love it which has surprised my family as I hated school. :)

I have a passion for cars and that is the only career I could really see myself doing and enjoying because I really do not want to have a career in something I don't like, I'm into modifying cars and building drift cars, track cars etc and it's something I've always loved even though I have gone through phases of loving other hobbies and sports its the one thing that has stuck which made thinking about a career in it feasible.

Apologies for the long post and my indecisiveness between the two, all your replies are appreciated and this is exactly what I needed! :)

@saxo

I think you have your answer in your above post there. College seems to be the best option for you as you get to experience college life and get qualified as a motor technician. Best of luck with it anyway. It mightened be the easiest industry to work in but if your passionate about it you'll have no problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,725 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

I did that Automobile Technology course 10 years ago and I doubt any of my coursemates are in the motor industry this minute. I know 1 is an electrician and another has a swanky job in construction in London.

We did very little actual work on cars. The practical class was 4 hours on Monday morning. A lot of that 4 hrs was spent standing around waiting for the lecturer to get through the groups we were in. When we did get jobs they were on engines up on stands or nice clean gearboxes left up on a bench. Very rarely would we have to wash our hands when class was over.

The lecturers themselves were very good they were just limited by the conditions they worked in.

Now this was 10 years ago and it all might be different now, I'm just telling of my own experience.