Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

umbilical

• 09-02-2015 8:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭

Lad coming tomorrow any experiences?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

kevthegaff wrote: »

Give it a good dose of iodine, should sort it right out biggrin.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

is he using splash plate or injecting it in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

whelan2 wrote: »
    is he using splash plate or injecting it in?
    Id say splash plate, he says he can spread 30k gallons an hour, id settle for 15

make sure area is set up for spreading- like wires down or what ever- you are paying by the hour. Had them here 2 weeks ago and they injected it into the ground, great job, went on fields that we would never travel on with slurry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

make sure area is set up for spreading- like wires down or what ever- you are paying by the hour. Had them here 2 weeks ago and they injected it into the ground, great job, went on fields that we would never travel on with slurry.

Can they cross a public road?

dont know, we just used it on the farm block. I suppose it depends how busy the road is, is it ok to drive across the pipe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Had it with the splash plate here last week. What a job. Make sure the slurry is watery enough. Had to bring a few loads of water to ours. As whelan says plan where you want him to go and drop the wires if you can.
    There's a little bit of work setting it up but once It's going, watch that tank drop.
    He spread fields for us that never before saw slurry. (To high)
    Does your guy have double tyres? Barely a mark left after him.
    Tis expensive but a great job.
    Will never go back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Make sure slurry is watery Kev,dosnt really handle thick stuff and will lead to down time which costs u money.great job too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭einn32

Mighty job! Used trailing system here last year and it didn't smother the grass. Does need to be more watery then for a tanker to make it flow quicker. Our lad needed water to clean out pipes after. Have everything ready to go though as people have said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

dont know, we just used it on the farm block. I suppose it depends how busy the road is, is it ok to drive across the pipe?

most have ramps for going over the pipe,

I think you have to notify the council and/or the guards in advance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Used them for 6 or7 years here now, super job. Most lads have ramps for crossing roads, just make sure and tell him the rate u want it out at cos they'll have the tank floored in no time. If you need water and there is a river or stream near the spreading route they could pump it up for you while u agitate if needs be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭st1979

They do like to put it on heavy as less moving so be clear with rate you want. my guy gets 20k an hour done cost 100 euro. I think it's value compared with tankers. just I still need tankers for out farms

Hopefully it works its gotten. Bit thicker since I took the photo

I'd say they'd manage that fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Your grand id say kev.

Well lads he got about 80k spread, bearing went on pump. I noticed overground kept getting thicker as he spread, dont think the jetter agitated it enough. Does anyone have overground tanks and how do they agitate them?? Still have a good bit to spread

we have 2 towers and have an agitator connected to the tank at the bottom in each of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭joejobrien

propellor agitator here also. must give it time to mix it properly

Aeration system in ours. Has to work all year round cos if it stops and a crust forms it won't beak it too easily

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

orm0nd wrote: »
    most have ramps for going over the pipe,

I think you have to notify the council and/or the guards in advance

Yea and best to have a man stationed there for the idiots that don't heed signs.