Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Hook on the Saturday Night Show

• 08-02-2015 12:08am
    Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,052 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Did anyone else see it? he was on talking about his mother and the regret he felt about how badly he treated her in her dying days, he was so candid and forthright it was compelling television.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,345 ✭✭✭buyer95

Did anyone else see it? he was on talking about his mother and the regret he felt about how badly he treated her in her dying days, he was so candid and forthright it was compelling television.

Didn't catch it, in what way did he treat her badly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

buyer95 wrote: »

He visited her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

To be fair to Brendan O Connor, he let it develop too by saying feck all and letting him talk. Tubs would have been in there like a shot to cut him off or ask something dumb.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,052 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

buyer95 wrote: »

He tried to sell her house while she was still alive, she was dying of cancer and he stayed in America coaching Rugby, he did visit her before she died, he had tears in his eyes and sounded really guilty about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

mickdw wrote: »
    To be fair to Brendan O Connor, he let it develop too by saying feck all and letting him talk. Tubs would have been in there like a shot to cut him off or ask something dumb.
    Or maybe even stupid as we say in this part of the world :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

He talked about it on his show last week. After hearing about his re-discovery of his religious faith and his guilt regarding his mother someone behind the scenes must have thought it would make for a good show if he went over it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

He visited her.

Glad I click on this thread, just to read that comment :D:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭DVDM93

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

he sure does wove the old wugby doesn't he, our dworge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Or maybe even stupid as we say in this part of the world :rolleyes:

Over your head sh1tstirrer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

I thought it was a great interview. I admired George for his openess about the whole thing, no airs or graces or " I know best", just a simple story of a man trying to find what feels right for him aware he might be mocked but not caring. The stuff about his mum was very sad. I think he'll have done a lot of good though, maybe get people thinking and talking about where they are in their lives, what they regret and how they might proceed differently in a way that connects with them on some satisfying emotional level.

Again Brendan O'Connor was fantastic, managed to sit back and listen, wasn't thinking it was his interview to control and try to wring gems out of. I think he's the best interviewer on rte for a long time. He wrote a brilliant piece in the indo about his struggles with the HSE over his disabled daughter today too. I think he manages to bring a more rounded character who relates to ordinary people to the table, not one of the show ponies we are used to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

DVDM93 wrote: »
    It actually was.

I'm with Data.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

if anyone has met the man or knows him personally, they will usually tell you that he is an absolute arse of the highest order.

if he has supposedly become a better human being in the last years id hate to have seen him back in those days he spoke about :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭dpofloinn

2 insufferable pricks talking about misery and regret, fantastic sign me up its exactly what my Saturday nights have been missing :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 55 ✭✭KaaaaaaPOW

dpofloinn wrote: »
    2 insufferable pricks talking about misery and regret, fantastic sign me up its exactly what my Saturday nights have been missing :rolleyes:

This.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

he was on talking about his mother and the regret he felt about how badly he treated her in her dying days, he was so candid and forthright it was compelling television.
    He tried to sell her house while she was still alive, she was dying of cancer

All the smart, ballsy guys are talking about their mothers and the regret they feel about how badly they treated them in their dying days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

I thought it was a great interview. I admired George for his openess about the whole thing, no airs or graces or " I know best", just a simple story of a man trying to find what feels right for him aware he might be mocked but not caring. The stuff about his mum was very sad. I think he'll have done a lot of good though, maybe get people thinking and talking about where they are in their lives, what they regret and how they might proceed differently in a way that connects with them on some satisfying emotional level.

Again Brendan O'Connor was fantastic, managed to sit back and listen, wasn't thinking it was his interview to control and try to wring gems out of. I think he's the best interviewer on rte for a long time. He wrote a brilliant piece in the indo about his struggles with the HSE over his disabled daughter today too. I think he manages to bring a more rounded character who relates to ordinary people to the table, not one of the show ponies we are used to.

Look at his car crash of an interview with Pussy Riot, may change your opinion of him..
    That said, it was a brilliant article in the Indo alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

This is one of George's stock stories that he comes out with almost weekly on his radio show. I was a terrible son...I was a terrible husband...I was a terrible father...I was a terrible bussinessman...repeated on a loop. But there's no real sense of regret in his voice when rattles this stuff off ad nauseam. The thing is - there is nothing George loves more than talking about himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

In fairness, I rarely agree with him about anything but I don't miss his show on a weekday - he may sometimes make me want to throw the radio out the window but he's honest and he gives his opinion without caring who he pi$$es off. I can respect that in auld George.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Choochtown

George Hook?

Honest?

2006: Hook wears a black armband on TV to protest at Sky Sports gaining rights to show the Heineken Cup

2009: Hook gets himself a tidy little earner promoting Sky with the slogan "Sky cares"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

mickdw wrote: »

https://studenthandbookblog.files.wordpress.com/2013/10/tubs.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

wprathead wrote: »
    Look at his car crash of an interview with Pussy Riot, may change your opinion of him..
    That said, it was a brilliant article in the Indo alright.

Infairness Pussy Riot were a pain in the backside, every interview they did during that period all over the world was the same.That was their "shtick" at the time, they were too busy being ultra feminist and ultra offended as a result to talk about their political leanings. If I remember correctly they explained that their weird cold shoulder routine was sparked by him earlier having offered them a greeting kiss on the cheek and them taking offence because he wouldn't greet a man like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

People being very harsh on Hook here, saying he talks about things without any regret, the man had tears in his eyes in the interview and you could feel the regret he still clearly has, either it was real or the man should get a feckin Oscar because it was very convincing. I disagree with him on many things but i can only admire how open and honest he was about very personal aspects of his life. He may be an old crank at times but i reckon he's a decent skin in many ways. Fair play to him i say the more public figures talking about these kinds of issues so openly the better and easier it will be for others to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Choochtown wrote: »
    George Hook?

Honest?

2006: Hook wears a black armband on TV to protest at Sky Sports gaining rights to show the Heineken Cup

2009: Hook gets himself a tidy little earner promoting Sky with the slogan "Sky cares"

This gets trotted out all the time when Hook is being discussed.

The fact is that he was opposed to the HC not being free to view for audiences. A decision that lay with European Rugby Cup.. he never actually protested against Sky in any way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭circadian

Has he got a book release coming up or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

An odious oul bollix, not suprised to hear he's got religion now, all them gits do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

if anyone has met the man or knows him personally, they will usually tell you that he is an absolute arse of the highest order.

I wound him up once, years ago. Had even more of a head on him like bulldog chewing a wasp than he usually does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭RomanKnows

Bambi wrote: »
    I wound him up once, years ago. Had even more of a head on him like bulldog chewing a wasp than he usually does.

Did you serve him his wine without him tasting it first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

It was an honest sincere interview and at his age he is really looking at his own morality and hoping something else exists. To hope to meet your loved ones who have already passed on is a nice thought.

He seems a decent grumpy old bollicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

foxtrot101 wrote: »
    This is one of George's stock stories that he comes out with almost weekly on his radio show. I was a terrible son...I was a terrible husband...I was a terrible father...I was a terrible bussinessman...repeated on a loop. But there's no real sense of regret in his voice when rattles this stuff off ad nauseam. The thing is - there is nothing George loves more than talking about himself.
    Yep anyone who listens to his radio show regularly will have heard this story more than once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Extremely honest about himself is our George.
    Like his style on the wireless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Yep anyone who listens to his radio show regularly will have heard this story more than once.

Why anybody listens to him is a mystery to me. He is absolutely terrible on the most basic level of being able to operate the machines and gets flustered very easily. That isn't even going into his misguided opinions that he obviously has never even tried to understand the other side or educate himself on the subject.

The positions sports "personalities" get is really frustrating as they have no understanding or education to do the jobs. People go on about in deals but casually ignore it with sports people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    Why anybody listens to him is a mystery to me. He is absolutely terrible on the most basic level of being able to operate the machines and gets flustered very easily. That isn't even going into his misguided opinions that he obviously has never even tried to understand the other side or educate himself on the subject.

The positions sports "personalities" get is really frustrating as they have no understanding or education to do the jobs. People go on about in deals but casually ignore it with sports people.
    I find him far more entertaining than a lot of "pro" broadcasters like matt cooper, ray d'arcy or marian finucane etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,061 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

He kept going on about life coming on a meteorite but he never seemed to ask how it got on the meteor in the first place, I dont think he'd done a whole lot of research on the subject tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Infairness Pussy Riot were a pain in the backside, every interview they did during that period all over the world was the same.That was their "shtick" at the time, they were too busy being ultra feminist and ultra offended as a result to talk about their political leanings. If I remember correctly they explained that their weird cold shoulder routine was sparked by him earlier having offered them a greeting kiss on the cheek and them taking offence because he wouldn't greet a man like that.

Stephen Colbert had a great interview with them In fairness

RTÉ Having the Russian Lecturer Constantine as an interpreter only for them to have a huge row backstage before show started didn't help matters