Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

random gay irish lad on BBC news story about pound land.

• 06-02-2015 10:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭

Jut on now. Random gay irish guy on a vox pop in London. Is that repersentive of irish people in England ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Are you representative of thread starters in AH?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

He is to be honest

Yeah, it's probably a question that's best left rhetorical.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭CJ Haughey

Beats music threads anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

6541 wrote: »
    Jut on now. Random gay irish guy on a vox pop in London. Is that repersentive of irish people in England ?

How did you know he was gay?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭hollster2

So what if hes gay (or just assuming) if it was a lesbian would you start a thread?

Berserker wrote: »
    I'd love to know how he knew he was random.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

He's a Pink Pound Paddy Product Placement.

Video ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

I guess it's a random perspective about something called pound land. Or maybe it is a plot to portray all Irish people as shopping in pound land or being gay men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,450 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

One Irish guy in London representative of Irish people in England?

Seriously?

How the hell did you even come up with that question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,450 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

CJ Haughey wrote: »
    Beats music threads anyway.

They sell Beats in Poundland?

Doesn't surprise me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Yeah, it's probably a question that's best left rhetorical.

Are you the average AH first poster?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

One Irish guy in London representative of Irish people in England?

Seriously?

How the hell did you even come up with that question?

Insecure about how they might be looking at us .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Sure all them lads over there from here are that way since Oscar Wilde, like your man Graham Norton, or the fella in that documentary, Breakfast on Pluto.

Are you the average AH first poster?
    Pretty much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭Steve_Carella

It is indeed OP. Well spotted. Every Irish person in England is gay. In fairness, how else would OP have known the guy was gay otherwise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭hollster2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

It is indeed OP. Well spotted. Every Irish person in England is gay. In fairness, how else would OP have known the guy was gay otherwise?

He might have that gaydar thing.

He said:
    The takeover of the 99p chain by The Pound Shop is an indicator of where the retail trade is going, and it is up to local authorities to regenerate these areas, oooh Ducky. Get her! Cheeky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

How did you know he was gay was he carrying a sign ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Maybe the guy thought 6541 was a chick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

So is there no way a person could know another person is gay without being directly told?
    Of course he could be wrong, but without seeing the video, I'm guessing there was strong indications.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭6541

I am too drunk can someone please find the link, maybe he wasn't gay or random ! He needs his 3 seconds of fame !

Right he wasn't gay or random the burning question of the day now is

Was he Irish??????????????????????.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

lulu1 wrote: »
    Right he wasn't gay or random the burning question of the day now is

Was he Irish??????????????????????.

Was he even on BBC?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Senna wrote: »
    So is there no way a person could know another person is gay without being directly told?
    Of course he could be wrong, but without seeing the video, I'm guessing there was strong indications.

You are right, and there is a need for an independent committee to give people a rating so we can all avoid unnecessary speculation on this issue.

Beyond wearing a pair of assless chaps and waving a rainbow flag - and possibly even with both - there is absolutely no way this vox pop Irishman could come across as gayer than the guy who reads the news on the BBC1 London region show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Its people like you who are the reason he probably moved to the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

are all irish people in england gay men

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

It's true. We export our best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I've tould 'oo before, I'll tell 'oo agin: my mother and father were two Kerry min! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

He said:
    The takeover of the 99p chain by The Pound Shop is an indicator of where the retail trade is going.
    Fecking inflation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Was he even on BBC?

According to some of the sites I look at, if he was, then he's defo gay...

Was he even on BBC?

I think it was rte but dont quote me I am too drunk to be certain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,476 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Should be "poundland" not "pound land"

pound land heh :pac:

When they came to interview for the takeover of the 99p shop by Poundland

I did not speak out

Because I am not a random Irish gay lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Luke92

I love AH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Omackeral wrote: »
    According to some of the sites I look at, if he was, then he's defo gay...
    Heheh...

When they came to interview for the takeover of the 99p shop by Poundland

I did not speak out

Because I am not a random Irish gay lad

I did not speak out, because I'm some Irish eejit who is not gay and does not live in England and has nothing whatsoever to do with it. And then they came for me...

jimgoose wrote: »
    I did not speak out, because I'm some Irish eejit who is not gay and does not live in England and has nothing whatsoever to do with it. And then they came for me...

And now over to our impartial economic observer in Dublin.

Jim, what do you make of this takeover?

And now over to our impartial economic observer in Dublin.

Jim, what do you make of this takeover?

I think it's a sign that all of Fine Gael's hard work is paying off, and it's only a matter of time before we have all them uppity fcukers outta that and into minimum-wage opportunities in the Liddlyaldi. Chucky Awr Law.

I'm sorry about that, we seem to have a problem there.

Here's Tim with the weather.

I'm sorry about that, we seem to have a problem there.

Here's Tim with the weather.

"Tim" is it? Would you be another one a' them funny-looking fellas on the BBC?? Fionnuala! Get that Hair-Shirt out again, we've a fresh one!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

Are you the "Tim nice-but-dim"? I'm getting seriously worried about 99% of my family who live in the UK. Thanks be to God Almighty I live in Holy Ireland.

madmaggie wrote: »
    Are you the "Tim nice-but-dim"? I'm getting seriously worried about 99% of my family who live in the UK. Thanks be to God Almighty I live in Holy Ireland.

I'm his brother, Jim-Nice-But-Dim. Rick-Nice-But-Thick is a cousin of ours

Jim Would Dan thran but grand be another cousin or am I mistaken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

I saw him and oh my god, what was he wearing, like helloooo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭colossus-x

Would you have been happier if you saw some Shane MacGowan type representing the ordinary man of Ireland ?