Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Training a springer.

• 05-02-2015 10:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭

Anyone training a springer or cocker at the moment i might be setting my self up for stick here but here goes' i just started to train 2 dogs and would love to share how it's going with anyone that is also training a dog. Say a weekly report n how
    the training is going maybe with video. Anyone brave enough to put there training skills on here for others to see. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭patton69

hello everyone been lurking a while now decided take the plunge and join . i think this would be very helpful . i have a 8 months old springer that im trying to teach to sit walk on a lead and retrieve a dummy. he is currently not doing any of it for me ,not started any hunting training yet he also spits out the dummy a lot and i feel like killing him i feel a bit like homer simpson as his name is bart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭ronn

patton69 wrote: »
    hello everyone been lurking a while now decided take the plunge and join . i think this would be very helpful . i have a 8 months old springer that im trying to teach to sit walk on a lead and retrieve a dummy. he is currently not doing any of it for me ,not started any hunting training yet he also spits out the dummy a lot and i feel like killing him i feel a bit like homer simpson as his name is bart

Did you get any books on training springers,
    Joe Irvine's books a very helpfull,

ronn wrote: »
    Did you get any books on training springers,
    Joe Irvine's books a very helpfull,
    ya i have it .I may read it again been watching youtube videos aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭hathcock

If you are trying to train three things together you are bound to fail,try teaching one thing at a time[ for example sit]when the pup has learned to respond to the command sit every time then move on to the next thing.Repitition is the secret to successful dog training.

would you teach sit command then before retrieving

The pup should have been started on retrieving at 6 weeks with a rolled up sock or similar,making playtime out of it,now you need to find where the pup is weak and concentrate on this aspect of it's training,each dog is different and will require different levels of training on it's respective weak and strong points.Teach one thing at a time,no rushing,no impatience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭snipe49

snipe49 wrote: »
    Anyone training a springer or cocker at the moment i might be setting my self up for stick here but here goes' i just started to train 2 dogs and would love to share how it's going with anyone that is also training a dog. Say a weekly report n how
    the training is going maybe with video. Anyone brave enough to put there training skills on here for others to see. :D
    Just in from a training session with my 2. Been as there both all most a year old i have to do things a little different they need to be tidied up on it. But i will it aside for now. At the moment i'm working on sit. Only 5 sessions in and i'm happy enough. I'll try put a vid together.

How the training going for u. ?

he is bringing the dummy to me a bit and will sit for a second before being distracted and is like a train on the lead so better ,, a friend was saying this pup might be to hot for me

What breed and age is he. How long have u had him. ?

he a springer have him few months hes only going on months big fella . I thought he was older, he caught a rabbit in briars when he was 4 months and has just gone crazy since i cant get him to do anything if i bring him near a ditch he is gone through it so i just keep him in the local hurling pitch hes a bit nuts i think but ill keep trying

Sorry what age. Sounds like he has plenty of drive.

sorry he is 6 months whats the best way to start him quartering

sorry he is 6 months he has too much drive he just ignores me most of the time and wont let me put the lead on him un less i lasso him with it . whats the best way to start him quartering

I have a vision of u on horse back going around a field trying to lasso him. How is he with u will he come when called can u get him t sit quite beside u for anytime.

Again you are looking for advice having obviously ignored what was already suggested to you ,starting quartering is a long way down the road for you,you need to go back to basics as I suggested to you already,get the dog to sit for a start and when he is properly trained to do this you can move on to something else ie walking on the lead.Leave the advanced training till you have the basics covered .As I suggested to you before patience and repitition.

ya the horse not far away he is grand in the garden and not bad in the hurling field but if i go near a hedge or rushy field i become invisible he just runs every smelling the ground ive to run after him to get him back on the lead ,, right so ill go back to the start with this fella im like him in a mad hurry ill nail down the sit and come back to ye

Do that pal as u were told take it easy and it will all come together but if u want to end up with a good working dog then u have to stick at it 10 or 15 once or twice a day.On a good note u seem to have a pup with lots of drive so get on with training him. And take some video and put it up here i'll put up what my 2 are doing after a week.

Here goes lads i made these 2 videos this morning in the fog. Both dogs have had the same amount of time spent on them but the springer is well ahead of the cocker. There both bitches same age but the cocker has a lot more drive so will be harder to train.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kFTbLwCwHoE
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QoZBkMHs6q8

fair play lad very helpful 2 lovely bitches there

Thank u works for me.

Here goes lads i made these 2 videos this morning in the fog. Both dogs have had the same amount of time spent on them but the springer is well ahead of the cocker. There both bitches same age but the cocker has a lot more drive so will be harder to train.

Well done,making progress,patience and repitition,works every time.

Springer is coming on well the cocker bitch is tough still stuck on the sit she just finds it hard sit still. But i won't give in to her.