Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TB testing calves

• 04-02-2015 9:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20

Hi my herd test is coming up on Friday and i have a 10 calves a few weeks old. There on my herd profile.Never usually have cows calved at my herd test. Do I need to get these tested even though there under 6 weeks old?
    And if there not will if have implications with the department wondering where my animals are?
    Personally dont see the point in getting them tested as I wont be selling them and Ill have them hopefully next year for the herd test.
    All replies appreciated. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Yeah, they will have to be tested unless they're under six weeks old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Even when a calf is born on the morning of the test, the calf has to be tagged and tested as far as I can remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

Calves under 6 weeks that were born on farm do not have to be tested, going by the link below

http://www.agriculture.gov.ie/publications/2010/schemesandservices2010-2011/9animalhealthandwelfare-part1/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Feck, never knew that:o.

If it is possible to get them tested anyway I think I would. It would allow you to sell them during the year if you needed to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,273 ✭✭✭orm0nd

tomnjerry wrote: »
    Hi my herd test is coming up on Friday and i have a 10 calves a few weeks old. There on my herd profile.Never usually have cows calved at my herd test. Do I need to get these tested even though there under 6 weeks old?
    And if there not will if have implications with the department wondering where my animals are?
    Personally dont see the point in getting them tested as I wont be selling them and Ill have them hopefully next year for the herd test.
    All replies appreciated. Thanks

no need to test any thing under 42 days , unless you want to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Capercaille

Local vet tests them. If they have tag in the ear, he jabs them (never bothers to clip calves though).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 tomnjerry

Great less hassle then! They wont be wiped off my profile if not tested?

tanko wrote: »
    Feck, never knew that:o.

If it is possible to get them tested anyway I think I would. It would allow you to sell them during the year if you needed to.

yeah you can test if you want,

if you haven't them registered , make sure you put the date of birth before the test date , not saying anybody would think of doing otherwise :rolleyes:

Local vet tests them. If they have tag in the ear, he jabs them (never bothers to clip calves though).

and you pay him , young vet tried that here once, wasn't long putting him in place
    tomnjerry wrote: »
    Great less hassle then! They wont be wiped off my profile if not tested?

no you'll be grand

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Bought in calves must be tested regardless of age.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭smokey-fitz

My vet let off a few last year, only a couple weeks old. If your keeping them then no harm, get tested next year. If your going to sell they need a test.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

[QUOTE=tanko;94153218]Feck, never knew that:o.

If it is possible to get them tested anyway I think I would. It would allow you to sell them during the year if you needed to.[/QUOTE]

Jaysus your the first fella to respond to the thread saying they have to be tested.....funny stuff :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,206 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

always tested them here, on the clipping all animals that are tested should be clipped, measured and injected, local dvo vet is very particular on that here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

if under 42 days no need to test, as for paying the vet to test young calves sure wont they be tested sometime, we usually do any one tagged, as for the vet not clipping the animal, end up like the two vets in our prctice who got six months suspension and then one got three years for not testing right shortly after the six month one and is just back testing, one neighbour ihas open a betting book and giving odds on how long he will last this time.

the vet will be in the yard you have paid for the visit fee, dont see the point in not testing the young calves as you would have to pay another visit fee to get them done again if selling. On the vet getting in trouble, dept inspector arrived at local farm where vet was to be reading a test no sign of vet, farmer said , he's long gone he didnt have to measure one , was great .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

whelan2 wrote: »
    the vet will be in the yard you have paid for the visit fee, dont see the point in not testing the young calves as you would have to pay another visit fee to get them done again if selling. On the vet getting in trouble, dept inspector arrived at local farm where vet was to be reading a test no sign of vet, farmer said , he's long gone he didnt have to measure one , was great .

Fool of farmer

orm0nd wrote: »
    and you pay him , young vet tried that here once, wasn't long putting him in place

I don't have cattle, just helping at test. Vet clips all adult cattle and tests them proper. He doesn't clip young calves though, but gives them the dart. IMO there no real need to clip young calves like that there not going to be positive anyway.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

IMO there no real need to clip young calves like that there not going to be positive anyway.

It's really rare but it does happen. Usually when there's a lot of more adult casualties too.
    There's one farm locally that's locked up because it bought in calves under 6 weeks to go on a cow. The source herd subsequently went down badly and so did the calves, with lesions, about 4 months later.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

greysides wrote: »
    It's really rare but it does happen. Usually when there's a lot of more adult casualties too.
    There's one farm locally that's locked up because it bought in calves under 6 weeks to go on a cow. The source herd subsequently went down badly and so did the calves, with lesions, about 4 months later.

That's fair enough. On young calves the hair is tight and you will see the lumps without clip marks. Talking about real loose testing i remember the old vet who used to test. He used to have the crush gate open and he would double jab the cattle as they ran out. He was a bit liberal about taking the blood as well. Some character:D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭LostCovey

That's fair enough. On young calves the hair is tight and you will see the lumps without clip marks. Talking about real loose testing i remember the old vet who used to test. He used to have the crush gate open and he would double jab the cattle as they ran out. He was a bit liberal about taking the blood as well. Some character:D.

Ah thats brilliant.

Still can't figure why TB isn't eradicated though.

LC

LostCovey wrote: »
    Ah thats brilliant.

LC
    hi ya lc are ya home in Ireland or still abroad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭LostCovey

whelan2 wrote: »
    hi ya lc are ya home in Ireland or still abroad?

Home for a break that was meant to be a short one! I'm not eradicated yet, but I hear there's a scheme.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Home for a break that was meant to be a short one! I'm not eradicated yet, but I hear there's a scheme.......

I think you mean petition rather than scheme. Welcome home, if Only temporary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Some vets are just easier to deal with than others.
    Thankfully ours is easy going.

Ah thats brilliant.

LC

The loose vets certainly did not help. Not many of those old-timers left in practice though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

A vet near us lost the Testing, because she tested for a farmer who still used a tie-up byre.
    When he saw lumps on two cows, he swopped them into different stalls, and on reading day, the vet went in between them as usual to check. Only now the tested side was next the wall. Of course, he couldn't keep his mouth shut about his brilliant ruse, and the Dept. investigated. Result, she lost a goodish chunk of her income.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    A vet near us lost the Testing, because she tested for a farmer who still used a tie-up byre.
    When he saw lumps on two cows, he swopped them into different stalls, and on reading day, the vet went in between them as usual to check. Only now the tested side was next the wall. Of course, he couldn't keep his mouth shut about his brilliant ruse, and the Dept. investigated. Result, she lost a goodish chunk of her income.
    That's bad form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Some lads jus can't keep their gob shut