Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2002 Fiat Punto

• 04-02-2015 8:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭

Hey I have a chance to buy a 2002 punto. Just wondering should I bother as I have heard bad reports about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Test it well and make your mind up from there. They aint a bad auld yoke, just get a good one.

Awaiting the usual c*ntish opinions in the replies

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

I had the rarer 16v version, an 02 as well. It served me very well and had been looked after by its previous owner. If you get one that has been minded, go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭lookinghere

Hey I have a chance to buy a 2002 punto. Just wondering should I bother as I have heard bad reports about them.
    if you get it cheap it would be okay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭porsche boy

For what they are, their not a bad yoke. plenty of waffle talked about them being this and that but if it runs and stops then it's gotta be worth a few quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

Drove a mk2 sporting 6 speed last week. Good craic it was. Still has power in 6th which was surprising for a 1.2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

The OH's parents bought one new in 2002. Served them really well only needed an exhaust and wiper link in its latter years. It was so good they bought a grande punto then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

It's a 13 year old FIAT so don't pay much for it.
    There is always plenty for sale.

Head gasket are common fault and expensive to put right.

Look for one with new head gasket and timing belt / water pump done recently.

Check the electric power steering does give bother too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭ihatewinter

Thanks for the replies.

It is for sale for 1500 euro with NCT to October 2015 and Tax till September 2015. How much should 02-04 cost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭lookinghere

Thanks for the replies.

It is for sale for 1500 euro with NCT to October 2015 and Tax till September 2015. How much should 02-04 cost?
    I hope your good at pushing cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭porsche boy

it seems a bit steep for a 02. does it have tax or nct?
    just for a bit of backround, the engine in these are as basic as you'll get, i mean that in a good way. if the timing belt snaps it wont do harm to the engine as their a non interfearance engine. Access is abundant so jobs like that or a waterpump are straight forward. If the head gasket goes it's about 250-300 quid. definately one of the cheapes cars to do. As has been mentioned, check the 'city' button for the power sterring, that it makes the steering feather light when turning.
    As a city run around their quite good at the job, not the brilliantest on the motorway, a bit light and tinny if you get me, you definately feel it when a truck passes you

I hope your good at pushing cars

Surprised it took this long for the muppetry to appear!

Slow on the draw tonight ;)

Yeah NCT till October and Tax till September 2015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

€1500 is steep for a 02.

Here is a nice looking 04 for not a huge amount more:
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/04-punto-tax-04-15-nct-07-2015/8430661?sv=1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

An 02 Punto is worth about 3-400 and no more. Don't pay 1500 or anything like it. Far better cars out there for that money.

And I say that as a fan of Fiats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭vandriver

A mate in work bought an 01 two years ago for a grand,put a new clutch in it (65 online for part,70 labour) and has had 2 years of trouble free driving.

Kia Rio. Same tax as the Punto. Same price, and 3 years newer.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/car-2005-1-3-nct-10-2016-swap/8594102?offset=15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

pablo128 wrote: »

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/car-2005-1-3-nct-10-2016-swap/8594102?offset=15

Ah jesus!

id rather be driving a car lol instead of lying under it fixing it l

With that attitude I doubt youd be able to fix up a sandwich let alone a car. So what would go wrong then? Oh intellectual one. Without googling it.

Lol

Actually, don't bother. Just to back to the xbox like a good child ;)

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

As already said, that price is too high even for a minded punto. I sold mine for close to that amount 3 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

bazz26 wrote: »
    Ah jesus!

Those rio's are probably a better car tbh :pac: although there isn't much between either of them :p

Much better cars out there for the money.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

bazz26 wrote: »
    Ah jesus!

Head Gaskets blow on these. But you could land on a good 'un

I bought an 01 Punto 3 years ago for the missus to learn in, for 300 euro. I had to (re)do the head gasket which someone had previously done without having the head skimmed.(It was leaking oil between head and block). The electric steering went too which has to be recoded when replaced. And the steering is known for giving trouble. She passed her test after 7 months in it though, so I sold it to my brother to learn in. He has had no trouble since apart from the radio draining the battery which was easily sorted.

So I don't think they are that bad a car, but if I was spending 1500 on a car, it wouldn't be a Punto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

I can't stress enough how fantastic these little cars are. However, like all cars from all makes and models they have their known faults. Things that car go wrong on them are; wiper linkages, electronic power steering and head gaskets. Personally I would only list that they have 2 faults because if they even get a whiff of basic maintenance in their lives the head gaskets don't fail. However, the idea of an Irish person maintaining a car is laughable which means that the HG stays on the list.:rolleyes:

My sister got one about a year and a half ago. That little car has put up with nothing but abuse since she got it and I would guess its whole life before that too. She got it at about 115,000 miles and I think it has nearly 140,000 on it now (137,000 IIRC). The only parts that have gone into that car are a wiper linkage, timing belt and water pump, coolant change when changing the water pump, back box, wiper blades, an air filter, a set of spark plugs, brake fluid changed, and I think 3 oil changes. Other than the wiper linkage and the back box just routine maintenance stuff.

In terms of the abuse it has put up with there is too much to list! It gets driven flat out everywhere, all the time :P. It is smashed through potholes and over speed bumps. It has been run low on oil a few times. It has been used to pull a BMW 5 series out of a ditch in the snow. Many other adventures too :D

In short, a very very dependable car that is great around town, fantastic fun on a backroad and will comfortable cruise at 80mph on the motorway all while getting 50mpg. Can't go wrong really :)

EDIT: She paid about €800-900 for hers so €1500 sounds steep. It would want to be absolutely tip top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

Good little car, lots of very old ones still driving away fine. No way I'd pay 1500 for a 03 though, even if the condition is good. 900-1000 at a push if it drives well and checks out, has decent tyres etc. If the seller won't move substantially on the price I'd leave it. Some people are a bit delusional when it comes to what their car is worth when selling unfortunately.

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    The only parts that have gone into that car are a wiper linkage, timing belt and water pump, coolant change when changing the water pump, back box, wiper blades, an air filter, a set of spark plugs, brake fluid changed, and I think 3 oil changes.

That's a fair bit in 18 months Zebra

Friend of mine got his Punto recently (his first car). Paid €900 for a 2004. Hasn't given him any issues yet. That said, there is a 'knocking' kinda noise that sporadically comes from the back under acceleration. It hasn't really turned into a problem, as such, yet, though, and hasnt stopped him driving it.

Great thanks, if he doesn't reduce I'll leave it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Luke92

Girlfriend will have an 02 punto 2 years in may. When she got it, car needed water pump done. Other than that no problems! Great little car and absolutely nothing on petrol!

I'd take that price down a few hundred. I'd be expecting to pay 800. But the fact its taxed and NCTd til late 2015 I'd give 900 at a stretch! No more!!

Recently seen someone on sell your stuff Dublin (Facebook) selling an 2000, 3 door Micra for 1250 :O and not long left on nct or tax!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    I can't stress enough how fantastic these little cars are. However, like all cars from all makes and models they have their known faults. Things that car go wrong on them are; wiper linkages, electronic power steering and head gaskets. Personally I would only list that they have 2 faults because if they even get a whiff of basic maintenance in their lives the head gaskets don't fail. However, the idea of an Irish person maintaining a car is laughable which means that the HG stays on the list.:rolleyes:

My sister got one about a year and a half ago. That little car has put up with nothing but abuse since she got it and I would guess its whole life before that too. She got it at about 115,000 miles and I think it has nearly 140,000 on it now (137,000 IIRC). The only parts that have gone into that car are a wiper linkage, timing belt and water pump, coolant change when changing the water pump, back box, wiper blades, an air filter, a set of spark plugs, brake fluid changed, and I think 3 oil changes. Other than the wiper linkage and the back box just routine maintenance stuff.

In terms of the abuse it has put up with there is too much to list! It gets driven flat out everywhere, all the time :P. It is smashed through potholes and over speed bumps. It has been run low on oil a few times. It has been used to pull a BMW 5 series out of a ditch in the snow. Many other adventures too :D

In short, a very very dependable car that is great around town, fantastic fun on a backroad and will comfortable cruise at 80mph on the motorway all while getting 50mpg. Can't go wrong really :)

EDIT: She paid about €800-900 for hers so €1500 sounds steep. It would want to be absolutely tip top.

Tbh hg failure on these is due to design deficiencies and not "Irish lack of maintenance". They are an ok car for not much money but fantastic little yokes they ain't. They are cheaply made and are not all that well screwed together either. For small money they are fine as a run about but for anything north of a grand there is far better yokes out there.

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    Tbh hg failure on these is due to design deficiencies and not "Irish lack of maintenance". They are an ok car for not much money but fantastic little yokes they ain't. They are cheaply made and are not all that well screwed together either. For small money they are fine as a run about but for anything north of a grand there is far better yokes out there.

I used to a heap of head gaskets and clutches on these back in the day when they were fresh enough. I don't think I ever changed a head gasket on a 16v engine which had the same block. Now if the 8 valve gave trouble and the 16 valve didn't, it's fair to say it was a bad cylinder head design.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Quote:
    Originally Posted by pablo128

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sal...4102?offset=15
    Ah jesus!

The Kia Rio is a great little car and very reliable. My Mum has one 4 years now and has not had a single fault with it. The only thing is they are quite hard on the oul fuel. It might not be the most exciting car to drive or the most sophisticated but it is a great little car.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

JohnBoy26 wrote: »

Not the same old again...

Whats this every time with cheaply made? What defines not well screwed together? Do you take apart stuff and write up reports on them or what forms this opinion this time?

Jesus. wrote: »

A wiper linkage and a back box? That's all it got really.... Every car would have got the service items over that time.

You're right Johnboy, they are cheaply made and, in my mind as an engineer, they are brilliantly made! Absolutely everything is is made as cheaply as possible while still performing the task it was designed for. Sure that makes the "back end" of some components a bit grotty looking. That is why they could sell them so cheap back in the day, and in massive numbers as a result!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Old diesel

A lot of it seems to be routine/preventative maintenance.

Spark plugs and filters seem routine.

For a car being kept for the long term - a timing belt change seems sensible - changing the water pump and coolant at the same time seems prudent.

Back box can go on any car.

3 oil changes seems about right assuming 6 monthly changes (6 x 3 = 18 months)

Nothing horrific on that list imo - especially if after 18 months driving and all the above - you've still got a good working car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Would a Panda not be a better buy for the OP - or am I completely wrong in assuming the Panda is more reliable then the Mk 2 Punto.

Btw - on the whole general Fiat "nonsense" talk - my brother dropped his Santa Fe in for some service work.

One of the mechanics other customers had a Fiat in to have brake pipes replaced - and the mechanic had difficulty understanding why "shed put that money into a Fiat" rather then buying a newer ("better then a Fiat") car.

Yet I know of quite a few people whove run Fiats without much issue.

Does make a nice negotiating point if you are looking at a nice one though

Old diesel wrote: »
    3 oil changes seems about right assuming 6 monthly changes (6 x 3 = 18 months)

3 oil changes in 18 months???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

3 oil changes in 18 months???

I change my oil every 6 months or 6k miles. Only because oil is cheap.

Also the pinto in question gets it changed every 8k Miles. What would you consider reasonable mileage intervals for an old car

What would you consider reasonable mileage intervals for an old car

I'd not have long changed it at 18 months. I'd be only half way through my first change. Especially in bangernomics terms, once a year is more than acceptable. (Unless you were doing huge miles which is probably not the case in a petrol punto. Its normally a little runaround)

But to each his own :)

I'd not have long changed it at 18 months. I'd be only half way through my first change. Especially in bangernomics terms, once a year is more than acceptable. (Unless you were doing huge miles which is probably not the case in a petrol punto. Its normally a little runaround)

But to each his own :)

It got an oil change when she first got it and roughly every 12,000miles since that. Would never leave one of my own cars that long!!! and definitely not excessive IMO.