Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

‘Champagne Killer’ Karl Breen dies of suspected drug overdose

• 03-02-2015 3:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭

KARL BREEN — known as the ‘Champagne Killer’ — has died of a suspected overdose.

His body was found in an apartment building in Finglas, west Dublin, overnight.

A post-mortem is yet to be completed, but it’s believed he died of a drug overdose.

Breen was found dead on the floor of the apartment, when emergency services arrived on the scene, a source said. Sleeping pills were also found nearby.

It’s believed he had been dead for some time.

A Garda spokesperson confirmed a man’s body had been found, and said that the force was required by law to investigate every sudden death.

The man’s death is not being treated as suspicious, the Garda spokesperson said.

Major gangland figure Karl Breen was once the leader of ruthless drugs mob ‘Infamous D22’ which terrorised people in west Dublin.

However, since his release from jail last October, Breen struggled to re-establish himself as a leading crime figure in the capital and spent much of his time hanging out with low level criminals from Athlone, Co Westmeath, who he met in prison.

Breen was given a nine-year jail sentence in October 2007 for the manslaughter of his pal Martin McLaughlin on January 1, 2006, during a cocaine and booze-fuelled session at Jurys Croke Park Hotel.

Breen earned his ‘Champagne Killer’ nickname when it emerged that he was part of a group of five couples who drank five bottles of Moet & Chandon before the new year celebrations turned very nasty.

At his murder trial, it was revealed that Breen stabbed his close mate Martin McLaughlin three times in a brutal row before going on the run for two days.

The build-up to the case was marked by a campaign of terrifying intimidation against witnesses which was driven by Breen’s gangland associates.

graffiti

A key witness was forced to flee to Spain after he was warned that he would be murdered if he gave evidence in the trial.

The witness’s Clondalkin home was shot at a number of times by members of Breen’s gang in the months before the case came to trial.

Threatening graffiti about the individual was also sprayed in housing estates in the area.

Sources say that at its height between 2004 and 2007 Breen’s gang were one of the biggest heroin trafficking gangs in Dublin and were linked to at least three gangland murders in the capital.

The mob had dozens of juvenile “foot soldiers”, many of whom had an irrational sense of loyalty to Breen.

http://www.herald.ie/news/brutal-gang-boss-karl-breen-was-one-of-the-most-dangerous-criminals-in-city-30960429.html
    http://www.thejournal.ie/karl-breen-dead-overdose-1917645-Feb2015/

A seriously nasty piece of work. I was in Diva/Hush/Whatever it's called now one night and he jammed a pint glass top side up into some kids face. I know a few lads who went to Moyler with him. Smart enough chap, his ma was a respectable lady, who he drove demented; just turned into an utter knack in his mid teens. Didnt come from a broken home or have a deprived childhood like is often offered up as somewhat of an excuse. Also heavily linked with a couple of murders before his arrest.

A lot of people in Dublin will be breathing a sigh of relief tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,694 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

It's an awful shame.

Lol jk. Good riddance

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

http://www.herald.ie/news/brutal-gang-boss-karl-breen-was-one-of-the-most-dangerous-criminals-in-city-30960429.html
    http://www.thejournal.ie/karl-breen-dead-overdose-1917645-Feb2015/

A seriously nasty piece of work. I was in Diva/Hush/Whatever it's called now one night and he jammed a pint glass top side up into some kids face. I know a few lads who went to Moyler with him. Smart enough chap, his ma was a respectable lady, who he drove demented; just turned into an utter knack in his mid teens. Didnt come from a broken home or have a deprived childhood like is often offered up as somewhat of an excuse. Also heavily linked with a couple of murders before his arrest.

A lot of people in Dublin will be breathing a sigh of relief tonight.

there are always replacements. just as when they kill one terrorist another pops up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

It's an awful shame.

Lol jk. Good riddance

Still somebody's son. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

eamonnq wrote: »

Its odd that people say this without asking the parents. Sometimes parents have completely washed their hands of them.

Its hard to know tbh. But its a fairly generic comment to make 'hes somebodies son'

I mean arent we all....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

I live probably 50 metres down the road from that apartment block, somehow managed to miss everything of note.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

listermint wrote: »
    Its odd that people say this without asking the parents. Sometimes parents have completely washed their hands of them.

Its hard to know tbh. But its a fairly generic comment to make 'hes somebodies son'

I mean arent we all....

Sure Hitler was someones son.Its a pretty meaningless phrase.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I mean arent we all....

Yup. We sure are. I mean I know I am. I definitely am not an artificially created life-form sent here to observe mankind on a scouting mission for my masters who are bent on the total destruction of every living thing on this planet.

*nervously loosens tie*

What about that superb bowl eh? Go Compatriots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,384 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

So what. I'm a son and have never stabbed a 'mate' to death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

I mean arent we all....

He had a few "family welfare sessions" outside of the prison during the summer to get him ready for his release. So at least some of them hadn't wiped their mouth of him. It's his three kids that I feel sorry for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

Any person who can get enjoyment out of animals fighting is a nasty piece of work.

I agree.

That David Attenborough fella is the worst, filming that kind of stuff and putting it on the BBC.

Outrageous!

"Theres NO feud in clondalkin, its sorted but d media are doin their best to restart it."
    “I’m not paranoid bout enemies, id b more paranoid of d garda settin me up or killin me and makin it look lîke sumtin else.”
    “I dont have to giv my adress to NOBODY so F**L them tramps.  Tryn to get me killed,certain garda wud b in collusion wit certin crims theyd giv ur adress up like a light."
    “And d LAST time d garda had me adress they tried to kill me and make it look like an accident,only for there was a witness there they wouldve killed me.. Im on d sóuthside EVERY day im hidin from NOBODY.”

One for the conspiracy theorists!

I agree.

That David Attenborough fella is the worst, filming that kind of stuff and putting it on the BBC.

Outrageous!

Attenborough is an observer of animals in their natural habitat. To compare him to those involved in organised dog fighting is preposterous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

If there's a hell I hope he is there screaming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

Attenborough is an observer of animals in their natural habitat. To compare him to those involved in organised dog fighting is preposterous.

Ah right, thanks for clearing that up for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

aw so sad havnt stoped cryin all day heavans got a new angle now rip hun sleep tite xx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Threatening graffiti about the individual was also sprayed in housing estates in the area.
    Say it isn't so! Those animals!

I don't drink but I'll toast a glass of cheap wine to his demise tonight.

K4t wrote: »
    Say it isn't so! Those animals!

The graffiti and shots were aimed at the witnesses family home. Not at the now deceased. A lot of the witnesses close family emigrated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Good night sweet prince.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Venus In Furs

“I’m not paranoid bout enemies, id b more paranoid of d garda settin me up or killin me and makin it look lîke sumtin else.”
    Quote:
    “I dont have to giv my adress to NOBODY so F**L them tramps. Tryn to get me killed,certain garda wud b in collusion wit certin crims theyd giv ur adress up like a light."
    Quote:
    “And d LAST time d garda had me adress they tried to kill me and make it look like an accident,only for there was a witness there they wouldve killed me.. Im on d sóuthside EVERY day im hidin from NOBODY.”

Aw, the poor wee victim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Quote:
    “I dont have to giv my adress to NOBODY so F**L them tramps. Tryn to get me killed,certain garda wud b in collusion wit certin crims theyd giv ur adress up like a light."
    Quote:

Aw, the poor wee victim.

They always try and twist things around to make it look they're being victimised, you see it all the time, they blame the state, the Gardai their victims, no personal responsibility. I remember a couple of years back Wayne Dundon stormed into the offices of the Limerick Leader and tried to make out that the Collins family were the ones harassing him. There's no point in even attempting to rehabilitate such a species.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

The graffiti and shots were aimed at the witnesses family home. Not at the now deceased. A lot of the witnesses close family emigrated.
    Graffiti doesn't pierce through your skin at potentially supersonic speed and it doesn't have the potential to kill you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

. It's his three kids that I feel sorry for.

Yes , theyd be much better off having a scumbag father around to look after and influence them.
    With any luck, knowing he died in a heap from the crap he was peddling to other peoples kids will give them a better outlook and keep away from a life of crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

It was suicide according to reports on the wireless this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

It was suicide according to reports on the wireless this morning

found with 12 bullets in the back doctors said it was the worst case of suicide they've ever seen

RayM wrote: »
    aw so sad havnt stoped cryin all day heavans got a new angle now rip hun sleep tite xx

You're not far wrong.
    Everyone one of you will get your day, you all only know Karl through the media and dirty filthy lies they wrote about my cousin in all papers, you don't know the Man behind the lies, A Father, Son, Brother, a Friend. Karl did not set out that fateful night to kill his Friend he made a terrible mistake and he paid for it, now let him R.I.P and The Family Grieve. Safe in the Arms of The Angels cuz
    Xxxxxx don't believe everything this rag of a newspaper writes my dear! Did u personally know Karl? Yes he stabbed his mate when things got out of hand,which can happen. It was a ****ing accident and he done his time. Dosent give you the right to talk about him now he passed on.Saint xxxxxxx is it ?
    He still has a ****in family that are devastated ya heartless ***** d22 are a new generation now..........
    RIP Karl you will be sadly missed
    Use trolls need to no ur facts first ,, half of use muppets should wrk for the papers the amount of crap that cums from ur mouths ,,
    xxxxxxx your nothing but a little dying scumbag ur self he only passed let me family grief you little nacker let them have there peace . All big mouth now that he has passed get a life ya tramp your the one that will die screaming. How could you say that about anyone just shows your true scum!!!!
    xxxxx don't let them people upset you or your family. You know the truth about Karl as do those who knew him . you have enough to deal with. xx
    No matter wat anyone says or thinks he was a good father my little girls world changed for ever today and I hope no one on this page wakes up to the same news or the same hatred towards someone they loved...
    Dont mind wat other people have to say they can only hide behind there key boards people the new karl new he was a good bloke ,, an a paper never refuses ink when did u ever see a paper write sumting good about sumone he done his time for a crime that got out of hand thats all ,, may he rest in peace nw my thoughts an prayers are with use all x 

He was a great lad really. The media just had it in for him. He could of made pope!

I laughed out loud to this;
    did he register with irish water?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Zack Morris

You're not far wrong.

He was a great lad really. The media just had it in for him. He could of made pope!

I laughed out loud to this;

Where are you quoting those from? Do you have a link?

The pièce de résistance;
    Took the easy way out.thought he was stronger than that.the current goverment has killed more people since they came to office than all the gangland murders during the same time period.whos the ****ing crims now!?!.think about what u are saying before you speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,176 ✭✭✭blackwhite

***Excerpts from Facebook***
    Yes he stabbed his mate when things got out of hand,which can happen

That's the best of them there - really sums up what sort of scumbag is posting in sympathy for this guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Venus In Furs

Yes he stabbed his mate when things got out of hand,which can happen. It was a ****ing accident
    the current goverment has killed more people since they came to office than all the gangland murders during the same time period.whos the ****ing crims now!?!

Couldn't make this sh-t up.

Fantastic debate happening on the Adrian Kennedy Facebook page, well, when I say fantastic I mean illiterate ranting but amusing nonetheless.

Birneybau wrote: »
    Fantastic debate happening on the Adrian Kennedy Facebook page, well, when I say fantastic I mean illiterate ranting but amusing nonetheless.

Checked it out there. In fairness, at least one of them is bang on the money.
    He didn't just "accidentally" stab someone. He played his part in a lot of other deaths of young men. He terrorised witnesses families, he terrorised the whole community. 
    He threatened to rape and kill victims family members. 
    Threatening to rape and kill people. Threatening to cut the baby from a pregnant girls stomach. 

I actually think this topic is bollox. If they wanna grieve in peace do it. But stop painting him as some ****ing angel who served his time after an accidental killing because he ****ing wasn't. 

People talking about empathy. He had none. 

How about some respect for his victims families. 
    Posing last new year (the anniversary of the incident) with bottles of champagne. 
    How very ****ing respectful of him. 

I do not believe that just because someone passes it makes them a better person. 
    I think it would be highly hypocritical of us all to say otherwise. 
    Death doesn't mask the truth of a person. 

And anyone who has a problem with my opinion can **** ****ing off.

Yeah, that one rings true, from someone who knew him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

This was posted on the Adrian Kennedy FB page:
    He was Irelands Diana. The nation is in mourning. If it wasn't for the meeja blackening his name, along with the Jesuits of course - he could have made Pope! So long, sweet prince.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Desolation Of Smug

It's Ireland, as I've said before, -Never a bollix died. All saints in the graveyard.

Maybe he was another Saint. Personally, I've no idea, never met the chap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭brandnewaward

fuk off yas pair of parasites adrian and jim jim ur as retarded as the ppl who listen to your shows...who gives a fk about what ppl say and opinions are opinions till you get the halfwits ringing up...max clifford must have been fornicating with both ur ma's
    bahahahahaha