Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why did "no sex before marriage" fall so much out of favour ?

• 03-02-2015 12:38pm
    Site Banned Posts: 824 ✭✭✭

Was it an over-reaction 2 fingers to the church who'd still have comely maidens dancing at arms length in the ballrooms ?.

Was if an afront to human basic instinct, it could be suppressed but never denied ?

Was it always going to fall by the wayside in a world of sexual freedom ?

Are there any groups in Ireland who still rate it & hold to it ?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

The availability of birth control would be my guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I guess its partly to do with contraception, longer engagements and women's liberation ie women can have sex outside marriage without it being seen as a character flaw. Of course there are people out there who still don't have sex until they marry and they make it work. I couldn't do it, its important to be physically compatible with someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Was it just a Victorian thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

kneemos wrote: »

Not at all, its still a concept that is being encouraged today to teens in Catholic schools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Because... Sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Why did "no sex before marriage" fall so much out of favour ?

The more astonishing thing is why was it ever in favour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭Zab

And they say there's no such thing as a stupid question

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Because the ride is only bleedin deadly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭Sheldons Brain

Contraception. Education.
    The latter because people tend not to settle down until they are 30+.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,515 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Cus we are no longer repressed robots that listen to and obey clueless celibate preaching

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭wannabegard

Cause irish people are horny motherfcukers!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

The Master wrote: »
    Because the ride is only bleedin deadly

sex is fcukin awesome (No pun)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Why does this thread exist?

Sex > Religion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Because it's extremely difficult for the RC church to have their priests preach such a thing when the fcukers are full time steady riding everything in sight themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

Research your family tree and you'll see shot gun weddings going back a long time ago. Abstaining from sex before marriage was never a thing with ordinary folk, just the church liked to try to force their will on people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭lazza14

As allready said, Religions control over people is up.

It was all about the RCC manipulating people into feeling guilt when there was no need for it.

That's all gone now and thank fúck.

Can't wait till they bulldoze all the cúnting churches and stick up fast food joints in their place

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

I'd say better availability of contraception, and education about using contraception. Sure it was feckin illegal to sell it until the late 70s AFAIK, and even then it could only be dispensed on production of a prescription. Probably also the fact that people started to cop on that sex is awesome, and a natural act that shouldn't elicit feelings of shame or embarrassment.

TBH, as a woman if I'd lived back then, no matter how much I enjoyed getting the old plumbing flushed out, I would be very very slow to have sex without contraception. In reality, the guy could bugger off and I'd be the "ruined woman" literally left holding the baby. Of course, if you were married, you could go at it hammer and tongs, but you could very well end up with 15 kids to feed then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

1. People married younger. Less of a wait. Getting married before having sex is a lot easier when you would be married at 15.
    2. No contraception so pregnancy was a larger risk, if she did get pregnant you would marry and the baby happened to be born early.
    3. We had ways of dealing with women who didnt fit into the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭thehouses

Contraception made it easier (no pun intended) and also made it less risky to fall pregnant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I don't believe that "no sex before marriage" was ever in favour, strictly speaking. It was something they felt compelled by society to abide by, but that doesn't mean they wanted it.

The existence of the Magdalene laundries proves that people didn't stick to it, but also showed that society enforced serious consequence for those who didn't, thereby terrifying everyone else into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Could be worse,we could be like the Middle East where the woman runs the risk of being stoned to death or worse for daring to indulge in a bit of jiggy jiggy before marriage.

In parts of the States,ultra conservative types preach no sex before marriage-a bullsh1t notion IMO.It's a real country of contradictions,proclaims upholding freedom but certain parts have such an outdated set of morals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,821 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Try before you buy ??

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Markcheese wrote: »
    Try before you buy ??

Im no longer allowed into the local sex shop thanks to this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Im no longer allowed into the local sex shop thanks to this

Or the pet shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

A way around it is the tradesmans'.Virginity intact.;)

As we say down here: "If the pitch isn't playable,you can always go for a tap around behind the goal".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Well personally speaking it because I wanted to sleep with more women than I wanted to marry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Widely available forms of contraception, attitudes and perceptions changes regarding sex in media form (tv, film, internet, etc)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Wouldn't buy a car without driving it. Have to check how it handles in the corners for some decent grip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

I think as people get older they realise that sexual compatibility is a huge deal-breaker in any long term relationship or marriage. Better to find out if there are issues in the bedroom before rather than after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

seamus wrote: »
    I don't believe that "no sex before marriage" was ever in favour, strictly speaking. It was something they felt compelled by society to abide by, but that doesn't mean they wanted it.

The existence of the Magdalene laundries proves that people didn't stick to it, but also showed that society enforced serious consequence for those who didn't, thereby terrifying everyone else into it.

Yeah, my grandmother once let slip that ALL her brothers had to get married

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

kneemos wrote: »

Are ye messin??

Vicky is a right slut!