Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ice-cream van business

• 02-02-2015 11:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭

Is there anyone here in the ice cream van business?
    Do you need a licence to sell ice cream from a van other than a driving licence.
    Can you just drive into any housing estates and beaches?
    Posting here as might get more people who have done it or know someone doing it. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

I was told from a not very reliable source that ice cream vans are just a front for people who sell drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Feckthis wrote: »
    Do you need a licence to sell ice cream from a van other than a driving licence.
    Can you just drive into any housing estates and beaches?
    Posting here as might get more people who have done it or know someone doing it. Thanks

Do you have a mattress in the back of yours?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

You just need to be creepy and leery towards kids, sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Can't say I have, but there was an S & M themed one going round Kilkenny for a while.

Mr Whippy he was called.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

poisonated wrote: »
    I was told from a not very reliable source that ice cream vans are just a front for people who sell drugs.

They deserve to be put a wafer a very long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭trixychic

Ice cream vans get a very bad rap there days and Im not surprised. They dont seem to be held to HACCP standards or any other food safety orgs and i have seen one of our local van men get out of the van for a wee on the side of the road, get back in and keep going. There is also the issue of how many of them go around. My estate is a small one of 20 houses, in a small country town and we get at least 3 ice cream vans a day from April till October. They fly around the estate and have often nearly hit kids.

Op if you are thinkin about a business in this i would be very weary!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

trixychic wrote: »
    Ice cream vans get a very bad rap there days and Im not surprised. They dont seem to be held to HACCP standards or any other food safety orgs and i have seen one of our local van men get out of the van for a wee on the side of the road, get back in and keep going. There is also the issue of how many of them go around. My estate is a small one of 20 houses, in a small country town and we get at least 3 ice cream vans a day from April till October. They fly around the estate and have often nearly hit kids.

In fairness, it's a high-pressure job. An ice-cream man was found dead recently, lying on the floor of his van covered in strawberry syrup and hundreds and thousands.

Gardai say he may have topped himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

If they were a legit business opportunity, hundreds and thousands would be at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭trixychic

tinkerbell wrote: »
    :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

I know. I have never bought from them but that strengthened my reasoning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Did you call 99?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

A husband came home with half a gallon of Ice Cream and asked his wife if she wanted some.

"How hard is it?" she asked.

"As hard as my d*ck," he replied.

"Pour me some then."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭vandriver

If they were a legit business opportunity, hundreds and thousands would be at it.

No,just 99

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Is anybody else thinking ICE CREAM ICE CREAM in an Eddie Murphy voice right now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I'd feel like the child catcher out of fcuking chitty chitty bang bang

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

I thought about it once, Op, I wanted more than life could ever grant me, bored by the chore of saving face..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

This goes out to YOU Mr Whippy, ya junkies junkies bastard ya. You never had a son that would bait an O'Donnel; DJYA HEAR ME?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Iranoutofideas

Feck ice-cream get a chip van. They're all the rage!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Desolation Of Smug

It's a bit of a dodgy business, most of the people involved are flakes and spend all day carpigan about how little profit there is and all the conepetition. You'd be better off getting a hot-dog stand, in General. At least then you could burger off if business was slack, but you'd need to know your onions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Neighbour of mine used to have one, but it depends on good weather to make real money and the insurance is huge, due to kids always running around them.
    Think insurance was about €3500 and assuming you can really only work for 6 months and it will rain for 5 of those, it's a short window to make money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Do AH posters strike you as people in the know about the ice cream trade/business? Funny stuff! Please don't post threads because the forum has a wider audience. Ta.

Mod