Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Protien shake to get

• 02-02-2015 11:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭

I have just started back GAA training and we are doing nothing but running for the next few weeks.

Started off not too bad but last week i could feel i didnt have the same "go".
    I could feel that I was slower, and legs for tireder quicker.
    Can someone point me in the right direction on what Whey Protein to get.

So
    For the next few weeks its 100% running
    Then after that its a month of upper body strengthening with bit of running
    Then it will be lots of running and ball work drills, with strengthening drills thrown in as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Protein will not help you run faster, or get fitter. It may help recovery after the run but that's about it. As the training progresses you should start to feel better and fitter and the running will get easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭badgerhowlin

I know it will not help me get faster or fitter but it will help with the recovery. Help with the production and recovery of my poor muscles. This in turn will help with the overall running time to decrease for distance or help increase distance for the time.

SO probable what i should of said was
    What protein should i get to help in recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Ghost in Cratloe

I know it will not help me get faster or fitter but it will help with the recovery. Help with the production and recovery of my poor muscles. This in turn will help with the overall running time to decrease for distance or help increase distance for the time.

Tin of Tuna

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

It's pretty sad that people think, "I'm tired after training - better go to the chemist and buy a tub of something!"

'Bulking up' is not the answer to everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

This is a popular choice:

http://www.discountsupplements.ie/kinetica-100-recovery-1kg-model-kinetica

Never said anything about bulking up.

And its not that I'm as you say it tired. It to help with the recovery so my muscles are ready for the next session. If that bulking up I guess me and you have different ideas of building up.

I'll try tuna for the next week and see how it goes. Thanks Ghost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭conavitzky

I have just started back GAA training and we are doing nothing but running for the next few weeks.

Started off not too bad but last week i could feel i didnt have the same "go".
    I could feel that I was slower, and legs for tireder quicker.
    Can someone point me in the right direction on what Whey Protein to get.

So
    For the next few weeks its 100% running
    Then after that its a month of upper body strengthening with bit of running
    Then it will be lots of running and ball work drills, with strengthening drills thrown in as well.

Having played GAA for a good few years I would guess the problem is in the type of training ye are doing relative to the teams fitness level rather than a refuelling issue.(Im only going on my own experiences here!). What type of running training are you doing if you dont mind me asking? What pace?, What duration? What type of rest / recuperation between sessions?
    I think a lot of club teams now risk burning out players with the type of high intensity training they are doing.
    I know when I played the season finished in October (if it went well) and bar some of the team ticking over playing soccer, most people arrived back to the first session of the following year having done nothing in the way of training (light jogging or the like). It was then straight into slogging around the pitch doing fast laps where you would be fit to calve after an hour. You came back two nights later and did the same. Then at the weekend you done more except this time there would be shuttles thrown in. At no stage was active recovery mentioned or did anyone say "Hold on here a minute should we not start slowly and build fitness at sustainable levels week on week". In fact, if anything you were expected to hit the gym and lift weights on the in between days so there was a lets do everything eye balls out culture. If we all hurt enough and puke enough in the winter/spring wont it stand to us during the championship when the going gets tough??
    Now im not saying for a minute that thats the way things still go or the way your training goes but it would be interesting to see your typical training schedule and what it consists of. Then I think your original question can be answered better. I suspect (could be totally wrong!) that your body is struggling to cope with the heavy load of training. After a few heavy session you will lose the "zip" in your legs through cumulative fatigue. Its to be expected and I dont think any supplement / protein shake will be your "silver bullet" if this is what is happening. Maybe its a case that the trainers training methods are to be questioned??:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

A friend of mine who is a qualified physical therapist and doctor told me that the body needs 9g of protein for every 10kg of body weight. Anything in excess of this per day and you excrete it out. So by buying protein shakes you are literally pissing money away. There's more than enough protein to be gained from meat, fish, eggs, nuts etc. He did say the one advantage of protein shakes are the ability to get them into you right after training, while with regular food you have to go home and cook it first.

There are other opinions on this that disagree with the above. A debatable issue in sure. I personally get plenty of protein from by diet and don't bother with the artificial stuff.

Disagree with your post about bulking up Ray. Protein doesn't necessarily equate to that at all. Nor does weights. It helps strengthen the muscles, but if you are doing intensive workouts on top of that you are not going to get 'big', but lean. At least that's my personal experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

RayCun wrote: »
    It's pretty sad that people think, "I'm tired after training - better go to the chemist and buy a tub of something!"

'Bulking up' is not the answer to everything

Top athletes use it though, not one doesn't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Netwerk Errer

Chivito550 wrote: »
    A friend of mine who is a qualified physical therapist and doctor told me that the body needs 9g of protein for every 10kg of body weight. Anything in excess of this per day and you excrete it out. So by buying protein shakes you are literally pissing money away. There's more than enough protein to be gained from meat, fish, eggs, nuts etc. He did say the one advantage of protein shakes are the ability to get them into you right after training, while with regular food you have to go home and cook it first.

There are other opinions on this that disagree with the above. A debatable issue in sure. I personally get plenty of protein from by diet and don't bother with the artificial stuff.

Disagree with your post about bulking up Ray. Protein doesn't necessarily equate to that at all. Nor does weights. It helps strengthen the muscles, but if you are doing intensive workouts on top of that you are not going to get 'big', but lean. At least that's my personal experience.

While I agree with the overall conclusion of your post Chivito about getting your protein from food except directly after a race.

There's a few things I would disagree with in there. The biological protein requirements for a highly active person are well above 9g/10kg. That's a recommended daily use for the averagly active person. I also disagree with the point you made about excreting excess protein. Excess protein is stored as glycogen and fat or broken down into ATP for quick energy. It's actually the byproducts that are excreted, any part of protein that the body can use or store is kept or used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

While I agree with the overall conclusion of your post Chivito about getting your protein from food except directly after a race.

There's a few things I would disagree with in there. The biological protein requirements for a highly active person are well above 9g/10kg. That's a recommended daily use for the averagly active person. I also disagree with the point you made about excreting excess protein. Excess protein is stored as glycogen and fat or broken down into ATP for quick energy. It's actually the byproducts that are excreted, any part of protein that the body can use or store is kept or used.

So would you recommend a runner to take it if training 5-6 times a week?

Well a the moment this is how its goes
    5k run (one day)
    45min run (another day)
    then 1 to 1hr half at the running track on friday
    (2 laps round the track, 30 secbreak)
    (2 laps round the track, sprint past 100m, min break)
    3 laps at slow pase
    then verious short and long sprints
    Teams of 4 or 5 all in or around the same pase.

Come next week it will be 2 to 3 nights of mostly upper body strenghting. with running thrown in to the mix as well.
    Pushup, setup, throwing tires around the feild, hitting then with sledgehammer, running, sprints, maybe a few weights, kettle bells, shodow boxing, wrestling holds\push's ETC.

So conavitzky you know its the basic lets get as much work in for the leauge starts in March and Champ in April
    It will all stand to you lads once the ball is thrown in.....

muscle fatigue is the major part of it. and not getting enough time to heal\recover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Netwerk Errer

So would you recommend a runner to take it if training 5-6 times a week?

It's probably not necessary as your diet should still cover it. The amount of protein needed per unit of bodyweight will be higher but your intake will also be higher when you are active unless you're on a highly restricted diet. For instance, the average recommended daily calorie intake for a male is 2500kcal but a runner will need far more than this to cover energy costs. So, if you're eating 3800kcal a day, you will be taking in more carbohydrate, proteins and fat.

A balanced runners diet should give you enough of each without supplementation but only if your diet is balanced. So, take it if you think your not getting enough protein but excess protein will be stored as glycogen, fat or ATP for energy and not for recovery.

Edit: The reason most people will use a protein shake is as Chivito already mentioned, they can't get home and cook food quickly enough after a workout or race. There is a golden window of roughly an hour after a workout where your body will crave protein and use it best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭ECOLII

@OP

Just out of interest how many hours are you sleeping a night? Whats your overall hydration like? alcohol consumption?

Often the basic indicators of recovery are too quickly overlooked when trying to make improvements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭Ceepo

5k run (one day)
    45min run (another day)
    3 laps at slow pase

Come next week it will be 2 to 3 nights of mostly upper body strenghting. with running thrown in to the mix as well.
    Pushup, setup, throwing tires around the feild, hitting then with sledgehammer, running, sprints, maybe a few weights, kettle bells, shodow boxing, wrestling holds\push's ETC.

So conavitzky you know its the basic lets get as much work in for the leauge starts in March and Champ in April

muscle fatigue is the major part of it. and not getting enough time to heal\recover.

What training of any have you been doing prior to starting back ?

These might help you a little.

http://www.ausport.gov.au/ais/nutrition/factsheets/basics/protein_-_how_much

http://www.vanderbilt.edu/AnS/psychology/health_psychology/Protein.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭conavitzky

5k run (one day)
    45min run (another day)
    3 laps at slow pase

I suspected as much badger. Seems not much has changed since I hung up the boots! A good rule of thumb I find when training is 75 percent easy 25 hard for the week. Any thing more than that and after a few weeks I start breaking down. Unfortunately can't see your manager buying Ino that. If you take it upon yourself to do what you think is best for you you risk losing your place on the team.... I would suggest backing off a bit during sessions. So what if you are not up the front on some of the runs. Ego can take over at group sessions especially at gaa training and it becomes a mickey measuring contest. Learn to train at an even effort, ie if doing 8x400m runs try and hit them all in around same time. Usually the first few will be flat out
    with everyone dying a death. Try and do the last one as you done the first. You will get more benefits this way. I don't envy the predicament you are in! Proper Sleep and hydration are very important also. Good luck for the season.

ECOLII -> 10.30\11 till 6. And a very heavy sleeper. Some night woken up by my child crying up if I am, its quick stager to his room to settle him and back to sleep
    Drink about 3 points of water a day
    Dont Drink alcohol at all.

Ceepo
    Playing Soccer during the winter(in Goal) not too much running, Mainly Short sprints(training for that consists of 10-15 mins warm up and then match for 45 mins

conavitzky
    I dont know what th front of the pack is unless we do that sprint to the front of the pack training. Mostly I'm near the back of the pack