Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cost of bulk tank servicing contract

• 30-01-2015 1:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭

What's the monthly charge for bulk tank servicing? Does the monthly charge also include the installing of the tank? I was told that the installation would cost 2.5k outside of paying for the tank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

What's the monthly charge for bulk tank servicing? Does the monthly charge also include the installing of the tank? I was told that the installation would cost 2.5k outside of paying for the tank.

2.5k for installing a tank???? They are utterly taking the piss. 500 quid max I would have guessed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,482 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Timmaay wrote: »
    2.5k for installing a tank???? They are utterly taking the piss. 500 quid max I would have guessed.
    its included in the price of a new tank, i suppose it depends how much work is involved?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

whelan2 wrote: »
    its included in the price of a new tank, i suppose it depends how much work is involved?

At that price they'd want to be popping it down in the yard and building a dairy around it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Less than 500 to install and re gas the tank here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭visatorro

crowd of bastards I bought the second hand tank off won't answer the phone when it's giving trouble. all comes down to reliability aswell. cavan based company btw, stay well clear

visatorro wrote: »
    crowd of bastards I bought the second hand tank off won't answer the phone when it's giving trouble. all comes down to reliability aswell. cavan based company btw, stay well clear
    are they under contract to glanbia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

are they under contract to glanbia?

who isn't these days?...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

I got rid of the maintance contract yrs ago from my co-op.it was near €400 a yr and the lad that was contracted to maintain the tank never called.have a private lad that comes when needed and no yearly contract.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

It's a 30 yr old 750 gallon packo tank I was told €1800 for tank and installation over the phone. When I went to look at it the man that I was on the phone to wasn't there so I had to deal with another man he was trying to push a more expensive tank from the start for €6-7k. When I told him that the man on the phone said 1800 for the tank installed he said that was only for the tank and that they charge 2.5k to just to deliver and install it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭visatorro

crowd landed today at one o'clock ( first contacted on thursdsy morning). yer man starts giving out saying he had better things to do and why couldnt we wash out the tank with a hose. ignorant pr**k. fitting part thats broken on wash system on monday and will never set foot here again.

That's like the first man that I had a contract with for bulk tank maintenance, I noticed that the tank wasn't cooling on a Friday evening at 6 o clock and rang him about it all I got was abuse from him. He had a 24 hour breakdown service but preferred not to be contacted about faults outside normal working hours :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

Lads why are ye paying maintenance contracts of 400 a year? Most tanks are relatively trouble free and if you use your local refrigeration guy to install any tank you buy, he will cover breakdowns without any contracts. Usually you wont have to call him maybe once in 3 yrs. As one refrig guy said to me if he had a contract for every tank he installed he would be a millionaire!

Timmaay wrote: »

Tim you're way off with that 500 quid. But 2.5k is mad

My tank was fitted and re gassed for less than 500.

there was 3 lads here for the full day fitting my tank, so 100 euro each-at least- , then all the parts, milages etc wouldnt be long adding up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭joejobrien

Lads why are ye paying maintenance contracts of 400 a year? Most tanks are relatively trouble free and if you use your local refrigeration guy to install any tank you buy, he will cover breakdowns without any contracts. Usually you wont have to call him maybe once in 3 yrs. As one refrig guy said to me if he had a contract for every tank he installed he would be a millionaire!
    sorry, not all are trouble free im afraid. I take your point but our one would cost us a fair wack if it wasnt under contract. ie. service would be called min. 3 times per year for various proplems. tank bought new , going 8 years old now. Lads in my group also have sameand they concur above also:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭quader

i am being charged 1350 for a 8000 lt to be fitted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Cost us 2,300 to get one installed, I'm sure you could of got it done for 500 quid but would question the quality of the work...probably took your man two days to install and he put in lots of new parts was a real quality job though in fairness, have a service contract with the same lad and he is top notch when it comes to breakdowns

Local company fitted mine must have got a good deal.
    Been working now for a good few years without any problems.

joejobrien wrote: »
    sorry, not all are trouble free im afraid. I take your point but our one would cost us a fair wack if it wasnt under contract. ie. service would be called min. 3 times per year for various proplems. tank bought new , going 8 years old now. Lads in my group also have sameand they concur above also:(

I'm sure not all are but generally most are

quader wrote: »
    i am being charged 1350 for a 8000 lt to be fitted
    The tank that I was told that would cost 2.5k to install was a 30 yr old packo basic tank no washer just a panel with 2 switches one for the agitator and one for the compressor. The last tank I had fitted took 2 men 3 hours.

I rang the first salesman again today the €1800 was for the old 760 gallon packo with old compressor and r22 gas.