Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Deere 6120 any good?

• 29-01-2015 7:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10

Hi everyone, just wondering what's anyone thinks of the John Deere 6120 are they any good ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Justjens

My 6120 has been with me 11 years and just over 4000 hours on the clock and so far (touch wood) only cables and small things gone wrong.

A compact tractor that is easy to use, do my own mowing (8' moco), turning, baling, topping and slurry spreading. Feeds the cattle every morning, fitted with a 551 loader.

If anything a little bit under powered for some things (1600 gal tanker!) but then I just don't get too greedy, was chipped new and gave out 90 hp at the time.

Once it's been serviced regularly you should be fine, just done a major one myself that cost close to €400 in oil and filters. Pick up hitch can be troublesome at times, just a matter of grease and adjustment.

No bother carrying three Fusions, comfortable and quiet with air seat and aircon (essential!), can't really fault mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 whitetail

Hi had one for 5 years put 3000 hrs on it never once a Problem got a 6130 now and miss the 6120 everyday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 ck6120

Thanks for the replies lads , was looking at one yesterday 03 with 3800 hours and a rossmore loader for €28000 he also had a 04 6320 5000 hours with a rossmore loader for €33000.both se spec. what was wrong with 6130 whitetail if u don't mind me asking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭reps4

take a while to think about it, worth test driving a SE v's premium, speaking from experience, its better spend the few grand extra and get a premium spec..

also, get a loader with float, not sure if rossmore have it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

I've a 6130 here for tipping around the yard. It's five years old and has 5k hours just got a new set of tyres this morning.

It has a Quickie 55 loader on it.
    Tractor is PMO and FOR SALE!!

I absolutely hate the fecking thing even though it never gave trouble....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 whitetail

ck6120 wrote: »
    Thanks for the replies lads , was looking at one yesterday 03 with 3800 hours and a rossmore loader for €28000 he also had a 04 6320 5000 hours with a rossmore loader for €33000.both se spec. what was wrong with 6130 whitetail if u don't mind me asking?

Mainly it feels under powered hasn't got the same response under load. The loader is new model john deere it is a bit longer and makes the tractor less stable not big problems really just was used of 20 series! Maybe should have gone up to 6330 but it really is only for bales and topping, couldn't justify extra money !

Thanks everyone for the replys, when out today and got a 6420 that just happened to b trade in 06 3200 hours never a loader on it full spec premium for €27000 , the loaders are extra. A rossmore fl65 with softride at €6000 or jd 633 with multidock and softride and self leveling at €8000. Because it's old stock he said the John Deere loader was over €10000 New . The tractor is immaculate just wondering is it too big and will I b sorry buying it! The neighbor down reckons a se is better than the premium can't see how but that's what he was saying. Didn't decide yet on the loader or which one to get

Well lads i have the 6420 over 3 years best tractor i ever owned . And i got the john deere loader after