Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help help with my insurance. Young driver!

• 29-01-2015 6:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19

Hello Boards, I need some advice.

I am a first time driver looking to get insurance. God help me I know.
    I live out in the middle of no where and I need to be able to drive, There is no public transport and I have to from A to B for work.

Anyway, I have an old 1.3 toyota and I'm 20 on a learners and to make things worse I have 3 points! Any Idea who will insure me and not for an extortionate amount?

My girlfriend also I looking to get insured on the car. She has a full license and is 19 but every where I ring is just quoting crazy money.

I got a somewhat ok quote (By that I mean 2,500) from cover in a click but I never told them about the 3 points I have. I just need the price of paper and I know if I tell them I have points the quote is going to sky rocket if they will even take me that is. Will they check as there is no way I can pay more then 2,500. :(

So any advice is welcome. I am pulling my hair out over this issue and I need to get it sort as soon as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

First timer myself (not hijacking thread)

Have done over 100 quotes in the last week ( fecking insurance companys won't stop ringing my phone :L )

So far a good 90percent were quoting me in the 4-5k region

found a decent one with axa insurance , they quoted me 2.5k and 2k for a brand 151 volkswagen golf 1.2l which I am thinking of getting,
    still crazy money to be spending on insurance but I am told they go down alot of a year or 2, trying to look for another place, my friend told me hes with Aaron insurance, so you could try them, he said they are cheap enough for first time drivers, although I am still waiting on a quote for them since tuesday.

But ya, all you can do is try all different places, their are so many its unreal.

the worst ones I got quoted for were 123 and liberty insurance, quoting me roughly 6k,
    then a few others would not even quote me because I did not qualify for one, as in them basically saying " We don't take on young/new drivers" which is fair enough

Best of luck, just remember look around, get quotes, you will find one that suits you well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭LilRedDorcha

Aviva can be good for new drivers. They give discounts if you either do your lessons with them or if you do their ignition test and do well in it. I did the lessons so didn't need to do the test and on a learner's permit they were offering me insurance for about €900. This was back in September or so when I was 21 so I'm not near the 25 cut off point at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 pivotman94

2Mad2BeMad wrote: »
    First timer myself (not hijacking thread)

Have done over 100 quotes in the last week ( fecking insurance companys won't stop ringing my phone :L )

So far a good 90percent were quoting me in the 4-5k region

found a decent one with axa insurance , they quoted me 2.5k and 2k for a brand 151 volkswagen golf 1.2l which I am thinking of getting,
    still crazy money to be spending on insurance but I am told they go down alot of a year or 2, trying to look for another place, my friend told me hes with Aaron insurance, so you could try them, he said they are cheap enough for first time drivers, although I am still waiting on a quote for them since tuesday.

But ya, all you can do is try all different places, their are so many its unreal.

the worst ones I got quoted for were 123 and liberty insurance, quoting me roughly 6k,
    then a few others would not even quote me because I did not qualify for one, as in them basically saying " We don't take on young/new drivers" which is fair enough

Best of luck, just remember look around, get quotes, you will find one that suits you well.

So far I'm finding driving in Ireland extremely disconcerting. Due to the crazy price of insurance I have brought that worth next to nothing, To tax it for the year is more then what I payed for it. Then I try and get my NCT, I'm given a date 5 month away.
    Due to the points on my license every insurance company is quoting me 5 grand plus!

I know a lot of people who drive legally and I can see why, this is just nuts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭Aeternum

It's expensive enough getting insured on a learners permit without any points, never mind with any. It would be silly of you not to disclose your points though, pretty sure you wouldn't be covered at all. Most insurance companies ask for a copy of your license AFAIK so perhaps they can check if you have any points from that, not sure. But lying isn't really a solution in this situation.

Aeternum wrote: »
    It's expensive enough getting insured on a learners permit without any points, never mind with any. It would be silly of you not to disclose your points though, pretty sure you wouldn't be covered at all. Most insurance companies ask for a copy of your license AFAIK so perhaps they can check if you have any points from that, not sure. But lying isn't really a solution in this situation.

What cover? As a young driver if you put in a claim your insurance will sky rocket.
    If I was to get in an accident I would more then likely settle it privately.
    I'm simply paying thousands for a piece of paper that will get my passed a garda check point. It makes no sense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭thesimpsons

its more than a piece of paper - its insurance which pays out in event of accident. surely you can see that in event of a major accident where medical costs may be extremely high, you would not be able to settle this privately. even a small accident could see car repair costs run to over thousand euro quite easily. Seeing as you already have 3 points while still only a learner, insurance companies quite rightly see you as an unsafe driver and therefore a high risk of them having to pay out.

incidentally, if you cannot get a date for NCT earlier than expiration of existing certificate, you should ring NCT offices to get an earlier scheduled date. their website says it quite clearly on front page.

its more than a piece of paper - its insurance which pays out in event of accident. surely you can see that in event of a major accident where medical costs may be extremely high, you would not be able to settle this privately. even a small accident could see car repair costs run to over thousand euro quite easily. Seeing as you already have 3 points while still only a learner, insurance companies quite rightly see you as an unsafe driver and therefore a high risk of them having to pay out.

incidentally, if you cannot get a date for NCT earlier than expiration of existing certificate, you should ring NCT offices to get an earlier scheduled date. their website says it quite clearly on front page.

Be that as it may I still believe the system is extremely unfair to young drivers!
    I live with two middle aged people, One who has never had her car NTCed ever and its waved thought checkpoints with no problem. The other doesn't hold a valid drivers license and says the garda don't care when he is stopped. If a young drivers was stopped with out NCT or without a valid license the book would be thrown at them.

I just got off the phone with cover in a click. I told them about my points. To my surprise the quote didn't change!
    That by far the best deal I have gotten. 2,500 for me and my partner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

Aeternum wrote: »

A good few insurance companys dont look for your license, setanta and FBD didnt/dont. Asked in FBD and was told more or less that i was telling them i had a full clean driving license , if in the event i was lying to them and there was a claim my insurance might be invalid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

My first policy was with Aviva and had the lessons pack with it and was brilliant.

I'm on a provisional license on my own policy the last three years, and even though I'm not 26, with 3 years no claims, my premium has gone up year on year. My first individual policy on a provisional was €750, my recent renewal there on December was €1500 with Allianz.

A few companies not offering policies to cover a provisional driver saying "it's illegal for a provisional driver to be alone in a car", some really odd conversations there around December.

Personally found ringing chill and letting them do all the leg work has been the best. The independants not operating with chill were typically embarrasing when quoting the pricing down the phone.

TheDoc wrote: »
    My first policy was with Aviva and had the lessons pack with it and was brilliant.

I'm on a provisional license on my own policy the last three years, and even though I'm not 26, with 3 years no claims, my premium has gone up year on year. My first individual policy on a provisional was €750, my recent renewal there on December was €1500 with Allianz.

A few companies not offering policies to cover a provisional driver saying "it's illegal for a provisional driver to be alone in a car", some really odd conversations there around December.

Personally found ringing chill and letting them do all the leg work has been the best. The independants not operating with chill were typically embarrasing when quoting the pricing down the phone.

you should try naming your parents on the policy.
    You are technically high risk. they are technically low risk.
    By naming them you could bring your risk down so your insurance might follow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭daveob007

my son got named on my policy with aviva for 1200 for 6 months,he also did the 12 lessons with their driving school for 450 only problem was that the instructor was useless and gave him some very bad habits that would fail him in a test,we needed to get him 6 more with someone else to correct this and now he has applied for test. the cost might be better but we ended up spending extra on lessons that he should not have needed

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

9935452 wrote: »
    you should try naming your parents on the policy.
    You are technically high risk. they are technically low risk.
    By naming them you could bring your risk down so your insurance might follow

Thats called fronting and the Insurers are onto it.

btw are you proposing to break the law and drive unacompanied? A learner permit doesn't allow anyone to do that.

Thats called fronting and the Insurers are onto it.

btw are you proposing to break the law and drive unacompanied? A learner permit doesn't allow anyone to do that.

Fronting is where you are named on your parents policy, What im saying is name them on your policy.
    Im 33 and naming my parents on my policy brings it down by something like 20 quid. They do drive my car occasionally. Brother and sister can be named for nothing.

Where did that come from? I have never said drive on your own on a learner permit. If there is an acccident you are possibly not covered.
    Right or wrong in an accident you are wrong.
    I dont condone it myself.