Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A-frame for 3 point linkage/implement

• 29-01-2015 10:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭

I was reading a thread here last night regarding a A-frame for the 3 point linkage. Googled them also and Dromone Engineering beside me does them.
    Im looking at the type that you attach to the implement with the pins, not weld on.

So do many of ye use them on your farm?

My main reason is I have hurt my back a few times and if I can reduce strain. And also safety point of view.

any prices and feedback ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭locha

I have the Dromone system. All I can say is one of the best things we have on the farm. Have it on two tractors, boxes, mower, pallet forks, mole plough. Don't need to take it off for trailers or diet feeder. Bought it as much for safety as anything else but it is a huge time saver. If your beside them, Id swing by and have a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

locha wrote: »
    I have the Dromone system. All I can say is one of the best things we have on the farm. Have it on two tractors, boxes, mower, pallet forks, mole plough. Don't need to take it off for trailers or diet feeder. Bought it as much for safety as anything else but it is a huge time saver. If your beside them, Id swing by and have a look.

Have you the A frame you weld to the implement or use the pins? how many A frames have you or do you interchange them around?

I have both the welded and the pin frames. The mole plough and pallet fork is welded, I have pins one for each of the boxes and the mower. I can interchange them with the sprayer and shaker when I want.

can you remember the prices?

Around €350 for the male and €150 for the females + the govt grab. Have not the paperwork to hand but that the ballpark. I have them nearly two years and I cant recommend it to people enough. Any lad who is in the yard always makes a beeline for it for a good inspection. Its good heavy duty stuff in it and it can take a mole plough with 120hp pulling it without any problems.

great job I must call Dromone so

What attachments would you be putting it on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

I bought one of these off a guy on Donedeal for €100. I didn't buy any implement frames just this. I welded up one frame from Channel for the one I made so far. I must make a few more. One thing though, you do need a hydraulic toplink. A pain to attach otherwise, I'd say.

A-Frame-back.jpg

Here's the Dromone one;
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yejt-JWDEJI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭PatQfarmer

I bought one of these off a guy on Donedeal for €100. I didn't buy any implement frames just this. I welded up one frame from Channel for the one I made so far. I must make a few more. One thing though, you do need a hydraulic toplink. A pain to attach otherwise, I'd say.

A-Frame-back.jpg

Here's the Dromone one;
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yejt-JWDEJI

I have similar to the one above for 10+years. Bought weld-on females, but after welding on one, we made brackets and welded brackets to females, then left them attached to implements. Very handy as if my father is "borrowing" any of my stuff, his tractor can lift them without taking my male A-frame. Agree re hydraulic top-link, would mean no hoping up and down off tractor to adjust it. On my wish-list...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

Do you have any experience of the other type, like onyerbikepat posted?

I'm curious as to the advantages of the dromone system over the traditional A frame.

What attachments would you be putting it on?

Powerbox, bale lifter, pallet fork, weightblock, topper, panmixer

I have a hydraulic toplink but only use it the very off time with the pallet fork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

Cant say I have experience of the others. I wanted something that was very strong, and the dromone system is that. I did a good bit of pushing and pulling with it during the summer with the mole plough and powebox and it stood up to the test. the gethitched looks neat but you are still hopping up and down to put on the toplink.

Powerbox, bale lifter, pallet fork, weightblock, topper, panmixer

I have a hydraulic toplink but only use it the very off time with the pallet fork

Reckon you would have a huge time saving between using the bale handler and powerbox alone.

I would agree but im more after the safety and minding the back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

PatQfarmer wrote: »
    I have similar to the one above for 10+years. Bought weld-on females, but after welding on one, we made brackets and welded brackets to females, then left them attached to implements. Very handy as if my father is "borrowing" any of my stuff, his tractor can lift them without taking my male A-frame. Agree re hydraulic top-link, would mean no hoping up and down off tractor to adjust it. On my wish-list...
    Hydraulic top link here was around € 100 .

td5man wrote: »

Snap I bought a 2nd hand never used for €100 about 10 mile down the road. It has a ball either end, not the newer type on the implement end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭ford 5600

I have one like on your bike pat has, I don't use it that much as have damn nearly enough old tractors to leave most of the yokes in constant use on.
    One thing struck me looking at the Dromone video. I presume they used reasonably competent drivers to show it off to best advantage. They would both seem to take a bit longer to yoke up than would be possible with the common or garden model, considering they had hyd toplink, and we presume used to the job and tractors. A hyd toplink is essential to work it with any level of comfort.
    On working a PTO implement, the Dromone seems to have less clearance, but iam sure they have tested them with various tractors. I found to my cost , that you need to make sure the arms are up the whole way if using a slurry tanker, very easy to catch the middle of shaft with lift arm lugs if not risen completely , when turning into gateway off narrow road.
    I know of one man uses a homemade A frame on everything he owns. Both ends made himself. A great advantage is no one can borrow anything from him, he reckons!
    Which ever model you decide on, it's a system well worth using to save time and back strain.
    Without hijacking your query, has anyone ever used an A frame as a quick attach on a front loader? Have to be ten times easier used than the dreaded Tanco Q/A .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭PatQfarmer

td5man wrote: »
    Must call into Abbey so!

the euro hitch on the front loader is as easy as it comes.

Im going to look at the Dromone one next week in the yard. he said use there tractor and see if I like to use it and if im happy he will let me demo it at home for a few weeks. (Take it im within 5 mile of the factory)

ford 5600 wrote: »
    I have one like on your bike pat has, I don't use it that much as have damn nearly enough old tractors to leave most of the yokes in constant use on.
    One thing struck me looking at the Dromone video. I presume they used reasonably competent drivers to show it off to best advantage. They would both seem to take a bit longer to yoke up than would be possible with the common or garden model, considering they had hyd toplink, and we presume used to the job and tractors. A hyd toplink is essential to work it with any level of comfort.
    On working a PTO implement, the Dromone seems to have less clearance, but iam sure they have tested them with various tractors. I found to my cost , that you need to make sure the arms are up the whole way if using a slurry tanker, very easy to catch the middle of shaft with lift arm lugs if not risen completely , when turning into gateway off narrow road.
    I know of one man uses a homemade A frame on everything he owns. Both ends made himself. A great advantage is no one can borrow anything from him, he reckons!
    Which ever model you decide on, it's a system well worth using to save time and back strain.
    Without hijacking your query, has anyone ever used an A frame as a quick attach on a front loader? Have to be ten times easier used than the dreaded Tanco Q/A .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭ford 5600

the euro hitch on the front loader is as easy as it comes.

Im going to look at the Dromone one next week in the yard. he said use there tractor and see if I like to use it and if im happy he will let me demo it at home for a few weeks. (Take it im within 5 mile of the factory)

I have a Tanco 978 QA, a real guessing game picking up an implement. The euro is a huge improvement on it.
    You couldn't ask for fairer than that . You would like to deal with people like that. Shop local is a good thing as well! Not much air miles involved.