Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Notorious

• 27-01-2015 3:09pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭

Some might say a notorious eejit, but you cant deny he makes good entertaining viewing, but the man is a gimmick. No doubt he is in great shape and seems to train hard, but really his sport seems to involve a lot of lads rolling around on the floor together, its not a patch on boxing. I would have andy lee any day over mcgregor, but lee doent need to make a big deal of himself, he is a class fighter in a proper sport, ufc is a circus and mcgregor is only too happy to be the clown.
    The plus points, i have to admire him going from the dole to a very rich man, dedicated himself to his sport, eating well and maintaining a certain lifestyle whilst i'm sure his mates were off boozing. A lot of young lads can learn a thing or two from him, better going down the mma gym than hanging about street corners. Whilst he comes across as being uneducated and cocky, he also has that loveable rogueness to him, a sort of harmless innocence to a very capable fighter. I like that he dresses well, he has helped smarten up lads around the country, great to get away from the typical socks tucked into the tracksuit look. he has already made more money than most so good luck to him. I wish I had a 60k payday and make all my problems go away.
    The downside, ufc seems to be a load of hyped up crap, sure, the fighters may be skilled but the ufc is a bandwagon. McGregor has been fast tracked because he is highly marketable, he has beaten a bunch of nobodies, aldo will be the test if he loses that then its all over for him (although he does recognise this himself) I dont mean this in a bad way but his family look like a bunch that have just won the lotto, the aul fella going round in his backyard in a tux, waving all the neighbours off in a limo, he was like an auld lad who missed the debs, his sister is a bit of a howya too, i dont mean this in a bad way but i am stating fact, they could do with toning it down a bit and letting conor concentrate on fighting, its not about them....on the plus side you could say they are a working class family who have done alright for themselves, they have a nice house and the father seems to be a worker. Everyone likes an entertainer but sometimes you can become too big for your boots and mcgregor is in danger of doing that, he should remain a loveable rogue not an asshole, he will and has already turned people off him, not good if he wants to keep marketing himself.

All in all, best of luck to him, he is a lad working hard to achieve something in life, more should follow his lead instead of sitting watching jeremy kyle, drawing the dole and blaming the government for everything, chances are mcgregor doesnt even know what a government is, he is going out for himself and thats a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

MMA and boxing are leagues apart or centuries apart ,
    MMA is the present and future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Your Superior

I have no idea what any of that is about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

He talks the talk, albeit like a genuine retard, but he does walk the walk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

Gatling wrote: »

MMA isnt a serious sport, its all very silly. Strikes me as a sort of homoerotic WWE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

drumswan wrote: »
    MMA isnt a serious sport, its all very silly. Strikes me as a sort of homoerotic WWE

What a weird thing to say, most people would say the opposite :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,991 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Gatling wrote: »

Meh,
    both "sports" are filled with a lot of greedy and self important people who I wouldn't like any young person using as a role model.
    There are at least a few decent people in boxing.
    The money that gets thrown around at the top levels of each sport is disgusting tbh and the entertainment value of both is minimal.
    Thats my opinion although I do watch a bit of either for a laugh every now and again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

but really his sport seems to involve a lot of lads rolling around on the floor together, its not a patch on boxing.

You haven't a clue what you're on about. I boxed in the amateurs for years and had my first unlicensed pro fight in November and I have nothing but respect for grappling and MMA. I did a few months of Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and was utterly and completely humbled; it's a sport that demands huge amounts of skill, dedication and intelligence. It's like the physical equivalent of learning a new language or playing chess.

MMA athletes are some of the best on the planet, in any sport.
    McGregor has been fast tracked because he is highly marketable, he has beaten a bunch of nobodies,

Nobodies like Dustin Poirier and Max Holloway? You're talking out of your hoop here again lad. Many of McGregor's opponents have been well-respected with Poirier being a top-5 and also a fantastic fighter.

To be honest I think you're on a wind-up, but it's clear as day despite your professing of love for boxing etc you've never thrown on a pair of gloves in your life because if you had you'd realise the sacrifice that fighters in all sports make to get where they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

I did support him in the beginning, because he was Irish and he was doing well, like I would any Irish athlete. But I've totally gone off him now, he comes across as an absolute knob jockey.

Anyone see the interview he did where he was asked about his romantic side? "You won't see me walking on the beach, holding hands. You'll see me.......going in deep" As if her family's not gonna hear about that, f-cking dzzzope!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

You can discuss him in the MMA forum. The last thread posted here was a train wreck. Thanks.

Mod.