Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'm fattening myself up for my first Slimming World weigh in, 2 days to go

• 27-01-2015 11:41am
    Site Banned Posts: 824 ✭✭✭

Missus has lost nearly 3 stone so she's talked me into trying it.
    Seems like a mad fad to me where you're allowed eat 10 kilos of pasta but one slice of bread is pure evil but sure we'll give it a whirl.
    Exercise has always been my big thing, if I get out on my bike the weight drop off so I'm more hoping for decent weather rather than a strict diet plan.

This week I've been in full De Niro Raging Bull mode trying to eat all round me for a good heavy first weigh in.
    Stuffing your gob with rubbish all day long is much harder than it looks, I don't know how the real fatties do it, anyway Operation Slimming World here I come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

k

• Site Banned Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Shiraz 4.99

biko wrote: »
    k

Special K

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Special K

There is ten million kgs of sugar in one spoonful of special k.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

K elp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

Get a blog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

There is ten million kgs of sugar in one spoonful of special k.

Jaysus! That's some size o' spoon ye have there Turk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Slimming Tip:

Pussy is calorie-free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Only eat half the doritos in the share pack and you'll be grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Slimming Tip:

Pussy is calorie-free.

Not if you're eating Special K out of it

If you’re not sure about something, rub it against a piece of paper. If the paper turns clear, it’s your window to weight gain.

Not if you're eating Special K out of it

you are doing it wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Slimming Tip:

Pussy is calorie-free.

It's like McDonalds though. two hours later you just want more.

Grayson wrote: »
    It's like McDonalds though. two hours later you just want more.

everybody is happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Thanks for reminding me OP, I've pizza in the freezer. And ice cream. And chicken nuggets across the road in Aldis freezer.

Lunchtime!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

I'm joining myself next Monday, my sister in law is a group "leader". Seems to be fairly easy to follow, and not that restrictive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,384 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Missus has lost nearly 3 stone so she's talked me into trying it.
    Seems like a mad fad to me where you're allowed eat 10 kilos of pasta but one slice of bread is pure evil but sure we'll give it a whirl.
    Exercise has always been my big thing, if I get out on my bike the weight drop off so I'm more hoping for decent weather rather than a strict diet plan.

This week I've been in full De Niro Raging Bull mode trying to eat all round me for a good heavy first weigh in.
    Stuffing your gob with rubbish all day long is much harder than it looks, I don't know how the real fatties do it, anyway Operation Slimming World here I come.

Doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭boredatwork82

We do.it in.work, so.I always drink about 2 litres of water before 1st weigh in and gradually decrease the amount I drink before each weight. 2 litres of water is a good weight.

Why?

I know the OP is on a wind up, but why would you actually do that? Is there a prize involved?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I'd be pissing for the afternoon :o

Birneybau wrote: »
    Doubt it.

There's an allowable limit on bread or dairy you're allowed before you loose credits.
    There's no such sanction for pasta, rice, potatoes . . . I'm sure it's all backed up by science

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

This Slimming World and Weight Watcher's are a load of crap.

The formula is quite simple:
    • Exercise for 30-40 minutes each day.
    • Cut out all excessively sugary foods such as biscuits and sweets.
    • Eat natural foods, while avoiding processed ones.
    • Avoid excessive consumption of alcohol whenever possible.
    • Avoid excessively eating out at restaurants as much as possible.
    • Savagely cut down on portions of white bread, rice, potatoes and pasta.
    • Eat as much green vegetables as possible.
    • Learn to drink water as opposed to fizzy drinks.
    • Get up as early as possible to kickstart metabolism - even at weekends.
    • Cut down on consumption of red meats as much as possible.
    After 4 weeks, you'll lose a sh1tload of weight.

Why?

I know the OP is on a wind up, but why would you actually do that? Is there a prize involved?

I'll give you a wind up [shakes fist] :mad:

The missus has told me for every stone I loose she'll perform a highly intimate act upon my person so it's worth it.;)

Once again "pegging" rears its ugly head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

If you lose 5 stone do you get the whole fist up 'there'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭wilhelm roentgen

Eat a dick ;)

Aw man, you have to lose weight for your missus to want to do things to you?

Ick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,384 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Well, an enema will certainly make you feel lighter I suppose.

Also, I don't care if I get carded, the word is LOSE!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Sounds like a f**king dump idea to me OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

dust is actually very low in fat, so you can have as much dust as you like

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,600 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Tabnabs wrote: »
    K elp
    ah , the old see food diet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Cloud493's pro tip to losing weight - stop stuffing yourself with ****, count up at the end of each month how much you saved by not stuffing yourself, its great motivation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

It would be potential easy to cheat one of these competitions if money is involved. Bloat up and retain as much water at weigh in. As soon as weigh in done, start taking diuretics to drop water. Go on a cut for duration of competition ignoring their diet/products. Possibly throw in some black market dieting drugs.

Boom! You're cut and won the prize. It would have to be worth some money or you like trolling for the lulz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

I'd rather by a healthy size and not bloat myself up to fat, health damaging levels, but hey-ho each to their own

Ankle weights tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Ugh. Bollocks to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Did most of that.

I put on another 20lbs :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Wellyd

Sorry but I'm not buying that. 17 weeks on slimming world and I've lost 2 and a half stone and it probably could've been more if I'd done a jot of exercise. It's not restrictive and gives loads of options for food. Some of the 'fakeaways' are actually nicer than the real thing without the guilt. I think it's a case of don't knock it til you try it yourself.

Wellyd wrote: »
    Sorry but I'm not buying that. 17 weeks on slimming world and I've lost 2 and a half stone and it probably could've been more if I'd done a jot of exercise. It's not restrictive and gives loads of options for food. Some of the 'fakeaways' are actually nicer than the real thing without the guilt. I think it's a case of don't knock it til you try it yourself.

I think the point wretcheddomain is making is if you do the above you won't need to try sliming world or the likes.

My problem with those kind of classes is that I know so many people who "are going back to WW/SW because it's the only thing that worked the last time". But of it worked the last time they wouldn't be going back.

That's said, if it does work for you then it's right for you.

Well done on the weight loss, 2.5 stone ain't to be sniffed at :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Wellyd

My problem with those kind of classes is that I know so many people who "are going back to WW/SW because it's the only thing that worked the last time". But of it worked the last time they wouldn't be going back.

That's said, if it does work for you then it's right for you.

Well done on the weight loss, 2.5 stone ain't to be sniffed at :)

I have noticed that there are quite a few people rejoining SW since I joined. But they seem to be quite laid back about whether they lose weight or not. I'm not saying I'm an angel or anything but I'm very determined to lose weight and am taking it quite seriously. To me slimming world isn't actually a diet it's a change in lifestyle. When I started 17 weeks ago I was an class 2 obese 26 year old. Now I'm already after dropping my BMI by 6 points and am down to being overweight. My asthma is virtually non existent, I've went all winter without a chest infection(last winter I had 7) and my blood pressure is now normal. On top of all of that I'm more confident and comfortable with myself.

I've found doing SW brilliant, maybe it doesn't work for everyone but it's working way better for me than any other time I tried to do it myself. The only thing I noticed was that you really have to want to do it yourself, not for anyone else.