Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

26 Irish to be deported from Australia over construction con

• 24-01-2015 10:48pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 54 ✭✭

26 Irish to be deported from Australia over construction con

The Australian government has canceled the visas of 24 people who are being held by the authorities prior to deportation.

The Australian Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP) confirmed this decision was made following the execution of a search warrant at a caravan park in Hazelmere, Perth. Seven “people of interest” who were taken into custody and a further 19 people were detained, two were later released. Vehicles linked to the crimes were also removed from the trailer park.

During the raid police found over $120,000 cash and two Rolex watches worth $36,000.

Detective Sergeant Tony Walton said “We are looking at people between 90 and 94 years of age, where they have handed over a considerably large amount of money for this restoration work.

“They have then been quite forceful in relation to getting the money. In some cases they’ve gone back three days in a row to get different sums of money.”

The consumer protection agency said it had received 39 “traveling con men reports” about the roofing scam. The first public warning about the con was issued on January 14.

Australia’s Assistant Minister for immigration, Michaelia Cash, said “The scam involved convincing vulnerable people to part with substantial amounts of money to fix roofing or other home maintenance issues.

“The work was then not completed or even required in the first place.”

Those arrested comprise of five men and two youths – two 17-year-old boys – and 19 women

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭SweetChaos

We dont want them back here :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Germany won the 2014 World Cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Fiddler on the Roof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,676 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Its their culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

They're not fit to hold an Irish passport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Desolation Of Smug

Are they Wards of the Australian courts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭WhiteWalls

More power to them #hail #hail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,782 ✭✭✭Damien360

Why are they not named by any newspaper. Even the Aussie ones are not naming. Were they convicted or are the Aussies just checking them out ?

Damien360 wrote: »
    Why are they not named by any newspaper. Even the Aussie ones are not naming. Were they convicted or are the Aussies just checking them out ?

They're just your usual travvelers to Aus. These just dirtied their bibs a bit worse than the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Deport them to the last country they landed on. Hopefully that will have been Myanmar or Thailand, where they will be considered common criminals and thrown into a dungeon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I hate the way on foreign news reports they call these fcuking inbred animals Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,676 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Unlucky for them the Aussies aren't so-PC as the rest of the world.

Get out te feck.

Over here we'd have reps on the MAtt Cooper show trying to defend them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Fair play to the Aussies.

They are dead right to do what they are doinbg .

I hope they get nothing here when they come back either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

The Aussies need a native version of Padraig Nally. That'd put a stop to their gallop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

You know, I've never missed anyone who has went to Australia, I wonder why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Scumbags

Fair play to the Aussies.

They are dead right to do what they are doinbg .

I hope they get nothing here when they come back either

Lol. Some hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,993 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

See that's the problem with the Aussies-they just don't understand culture. The art of starting unnecessary work and not finishing it while being fully paid is lost on these uncultured people.
    These old folks with their hard earned pensions should be forced to pay up for the shoddy workmanship and these great specimens should be revered throughout the land instead of being discriminated against.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

SweetChaos wrote: »
    We dont want them back here :eek:

Who is this "we"?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Who is this "we"?

Me for one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

They remind me of some people who visited my house back around the 2002 world cup.
    I let my good nature give these people a chance, the quote for the roof work was ok, when done they raised the price by several thousand. I gave what was agreed and said I had no more money.
    It got a bit scary, and they left and said they would be back the next day for the money.
    They rang the next day to say they were returning, I said to the man they were getting no more money from me. He replied they would return and take down from my house all the materials used. I said 'fine, but I will have the Gardai here to watch you stealing from me'.
    I was then told to 'go hang yourself off John's bridge in Kilkenny' and he hung up.

A few months later, I was looking at a national newspaper and was reading a story about people who matched the ones I had the misfortune to come across, CAB had seized over €1.2 million from them.

My lesson was don't ever deal with people who visit like that, I was younger and more foolish then to be so trusting.
    Now when any stranger arrives, I give them the spiel about how broke I am, and they don't come back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Me for one.

Ah right. Its just some people pretend to speak on behalf of everyone when they dont.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Me for one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Zack Morris

Me for one.

Ah right. Its just some people pretend to speak on behalf of everyone when they dont.

Thread needs a poll so.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 277 ✭✭BBJBIG

+2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

Anyone else want professional thieves and conmen returning to the country to swindle old and defenceless folk?...nope, just you then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I hate the way on foreign news reports they call these fcuking inbred animals Irish

You've made a pretty big leap based on seven of them living in caravans.

What should the papers call people who hold Irish passports out of interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

MadsL wrote: »
    You've made a pretty big leap based on seven of them living in caravans.

What should the papers call people who hold Irish passports out of interest?

How about just calling them common scumbags?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

Who is this "we"?

Do you want them back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭rabwaygal

How about just calling them common scumbags?

Who are an ethic group within Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

Me for one.

Hopefully Australia will get to keep the cash and property recovered.

Name and Shame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭stunmer

Me for one.

I don't want them back but at the same time I don't think it's fair when we push our problems onto foreign countries. We need to be responsible for our own population.

The same way I think we should do the same for immigrants in Ireland who are convicted of criminal activity should be deported to where they came from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭yizorselves

I hope their method of deportation is piling them into a dingy and leaving them in the middle of the ocean

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Venus In Furs

Holsten wrote: »
    You know, I've never missed anyone who has went to Australia, I wonder why.
    So they're all like this lot is it? Because they've gone to Australia?
    Why would anyone be pushed about them coming back here though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭ShaunC

Send them home to England.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Don't see the need for two threads.

Mod.