Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BMW iDrive Issue

• 23-01-2015 12:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭

My missus has a 2006 523 and is having an issue with the iDrive in that everything is delayed.

Turn the control knob and there is no reaction for a couple of seconds. There is also a delay on the parking sensors info in that the information on the screen is a number of seconds old.

Any have any experience of this?
    Or how to reboot?

Tried to Google but all answers seem to relate to the version with Sat Nav/DVD which seems to require a CCC unit. Reading horror stories of €2K+ to fix that version. We're only got a CD player which I understand is less complicated but at the same time I'm fearful that I'll get rogered if I don't understand what the likely issue is.

Appreciate any advice given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

I'd talk to the lads in germaniks.
    bmstuff on here send him a PM.

I know from personal experience it could be a sign the bluetooth module is failing or failed.
    I always found it a lot slower to start with colder weather.

To replace your talking approx €1000 -1500.

I've used the lads a few times and they know there stuff with regards the idrive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Moorsie

Cheers for that. Could do without €1000-€1500 this time of year. New boiler last month also €2k+.

It is was just the parking sensors I'd leave but radio is turning itself on and off too. I'm going to try disconnecting the battery over the weekend on the off chance it'll reboot itself. Failing that I'll give these lads a shout.

I know there are guys more in the know then me.

But don't disconnect the battery is the advice I have being previously being given as it can cause bigger issues.

Yeah it's the bluetooth module that is not as expensive to fix, you are still talking €500 nearly to fix.

sometimes disconnecting the bluetooth module and reconnecting can help.
    But as far as I know it's a temporary fix.

Google the symptoms sounds the exact same.

Cheers. Will give that a go. Might be a silly question but I don't use any Bluetooth devices. Does it have to be connected?

Moorsie wrote: »
    Cheers. Will give that a go. Might be a silly question but I don't use any Bluetooth devices. Does it have to be connected?

To be honest I'm not sure!!
    But it probably needs to be programmed out of the idrive otherwise it will always be looking for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I think the bluetooth module is located in the boot and this is prone to dampness on the E60. You would need it looked at first though.

Fair play lads. all coming together. Missus did mention dampness in the boot. We'll disconnect the bluetooth module and try pray for the best. Might be worth putting in the hot press for a while. Miracles known to happen there. Hope that is all it is. I see plenty of these on Ebay too for c€100. Just need to make sure that this is the issue.

Quick update for anyone who might ever have same issue. All sorted now.

Tricky enough to get at.

mulf.jpg

Removing the trim was the hard bit. Needs one of those star shaped screwdrivers. Once accessed the rest is a doddle.
    Next issue was which lead to pull out. There is one on top and 2 underneath.
    The bottom left one (not the 54 pin one comes out easy). Once that was disconnected I fired up the car and the all the issues with the idrive have been banished.

Thanks for the help again. Thought I was in for a whopper of a bill. Herself doesn't use the bluetooth functionality but very reliant on the parking sensors. Disconnecting the ULF Bluetooth Module has sorted all out (although I can't make phonecalls) unless I replace the unit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Good stuff. Just to add that if you do eventually replace the module, you will need someone with the correct software to code the new module before it will work afaik.