Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best towing capicity pickup?

• 23-01-2015 10:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭

Hi
    Journal had article about 4*4 vehicles.
    I was a bit disappointed that they did not simply list vehicles with their legal towing capacity listed beside them.

With Garda getting more active about checking for overloading the legal permissible towing weight would be my first consideration regarding getting a new 4*4 (preferably a pickup)

Is there somewhere that lists all this information.

PS. I have a pickup (handy when I am minding kids) but I have heard a case of Garda giving a vet hassle about having children in the back - Garda claimed that you were not allowed to have children in commercial vehicles - is this something that is going to become hassle down the road - (isn't being able to carry passengers (mostly family who happen to be children)the reason we buy these pickups in the first place??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

Had a RSA guy at a meeting about 12 mts ago same kinda question was asked and as far as i can remember the 4x4 that could legally tow the most was a landrover forget the exact model but and this is where it comes in, is stamped at 2.8ton GROSS laden weight a landcruiser is stamped at 2.4ton gross

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

Aren't the pajaros rated at the 3.5 towing cappacity? I know it's not a pickup op but you could still get a 5 seater commerical I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Defender is rated for 3.5 tonne towing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

loveta wrote: »
    Had a RSA guy at a meeting about 12 mts ago same kinda question was asked and as far as i can remember the 4x4 that could legally tow the most was a landrover forget the exact model but and this is where it comes in, is stamped at 2.8ton GROSS laden weight a landcruiser is stamped at 2.4ton gross

Range rover are 3.5t as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

http://www.toyota.ie/models/landcruiser-v8/index.json#

would love this wagon

or else import one of those big Toyota trucks from the states

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Hugh 2 wrote: »
    Hi
    Journal had article about 4*4 vehicles.
    I was a bit disappointed that they did not simply list vehicles with their legal towing capacity listed beside them.

Is there somewhere that lists all this information.

Off Road and 4 Wheel Drive magazine used to list all the 4x4's and their towing capacities, at the back of the magazine.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

http://www.toyota.ie/models/landcruiser-v8/index.json#

would love this wagon

or else import one of those big Toyota trucks from the states

Be careful what you wish for. My ma has one of these. It's pure comfort and all the rest but it is a pure alcoholic. Seriously never saw anything like it to drink diesel. Previous model was a better jeep IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

The landcruiser is rated to tow 3 tonne

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭paulmclaughlin

Off the top of my head,

Pick-ups:

Ford Ranger: 3500kg
    Toyota Hilux: 2800kg (depending on model)
    Nissan Navara: 2800kg (depending on model)

Estates:
    Land Rover Discovery: 3500kg
    Land Rover Defender: 3500kg
    Toyota Landcruiser V8: 3500kg
    Toyota Landcruiser: 3000kg

Not a full list and those are 2014/2015 models.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Justjens

The new Dmax is rated at 3500kg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Justjens wrote: »
    The new Dmax is rated at 3500kg

What's the story with them. Look like a real workhorse. I had an old trooper years ago but got stung when selling as dealers were claiming the engines were prone to going. Was a 00 or 01 jeep at the time.

Cattlepen wrote: »
    Be careful what you wish for. My ma has one of these. It's pure comfort and all the rest but it is a pure alcoholic. Seriously never saw anything like it to drink diesel. Previous model was a better jeep IMO

your mother has one?!

surely to god she doesn't need it?
    she probably drives it like a car :D
    mpg will be bad then

towing horseboxes or something ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

All 4x4 and vans have their GROSS towing on their vin plate or on a sticker inside the driver or passenger side doors. Each make is different and may have it in different places but they all have it on them.

Be carefull from now on lads the RSA is self-funding from now and you know what that means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

your mother has one?!

surely to god she doesn't need it?
    she probably drives it like a car :D
    mpg will be bad then

towing horseboxes or something ya?
    It's all she will drive. I think she feels invincible in it. She has off road cooper tyres on it aswell. She a header

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

Off the top of my head,

Pick-ups:

Ford Ranger: 3500kg
    Toyota Hilux: 2800kg (depending on model)
    Nissan Navara: 2800kg (depending on model)

Estates:
    Land Rover Discovery: 3500kg
    Land Rover Defender: 3500kg
    Toyota Landcruiser V8: 3500kg
    Toyota Landcruiser: 3000kg

Not a full list and those are 2014/2015 models.

Well the lad we had out must be full of shi/e because nooooo way did he say a cruiser could tow 3ton if them figures are correct I am way more happy

loveta wrote: »
    Well the lad we had out must be full of shi/e because nooooo way did he say a cruiser could tow 3ton if them figures are correct I am way more happy

its kind of arseways that a landcruiser is only stamped for 2.8 tonne
    Toyota are only covering there arses

most jeeps are capable of upwards of 4 tonne

if only I had a camera phone all those years ago with the daft loads we used to be towing

on the safety side its all about the brakes on the trailer

id sooner get my trailer tested every year than have to sit a f3ckin drivin test again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Justjens

What's the story with them. Look like a real workhorse. I had an old trooper years ago but got stung when selling as dealers were claiming the engines were prone to going. Was a 00 or 01 jeep at the time.

Agree that they are a strong looking pickup, twin turbo and giving out about 180 bhp. New to market in 2012 so have not had time to prove themselves.

Been driving my TFS54 since '98 and never an ounce of trouble, it's severely underpowered by modern standards but a sturdy workhorse none the less.

Was told by my local DOE tester that the Dmax, in his opinion, had the best pass rate.

A good single cab will hold it's value, the proof is that there are precious few on the market at the moment, they are the type of jeep that you keep forever, I wouldn't be without one.