Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SOIL SAMPLING

• 21-01-2015 8:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37

I want to take some soil samples to test for lime, N,P & K. I intend to take them myself and send them for testing. I am familiar with the proper way to gather samples.
    I would like to know what labs other people have used in the past and how it all worked out.
    Were you satisfied with the service.
    I am not a Teagasc client and their fees for non clients are very high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭ABlur

IAS Labs Bagnelstown Co Carlow very reasonable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

john8984 wrote: »
    I want to take some soil samples to test for lime, N,P & K. I intend to take them myself and send them for testing. I am familiar with the proper way to gather samples.
    I would like to know what labs other people have used in the past and how it all worked out.
    Were you satisfied with the service.
    I am not a Teagasc client and their fees for non clients are very high.

Get on to whoever you buy your fertiliser off they should be able to get the rep out to test the ground at a portion of the price of Teagasc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

I used FBA in Waterford. Cost €12.50 per sample. Found them grand to deal with. They'll probably start to get busy from now on, so better to get samples in ASAP. I did the SR2 test, which is for PH and P&K requirements.

http://www.fba-labs.com/index.php?contentid=soil-analysis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Sent samples to FBA today through Glanbia €15 each inc postage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Did samples last ye through fert rep with IAS in bagnelstown
    Very reasonable price around 11/12e I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Lakeland dairies sampling for €12.50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

td5man wrote: »
    Lakeland dairies sampling for €12.50.

Do you have to be supplying milk to get lakeland, or is it through the co-ops?

Farrell wrote: »
    Do you have to be supplying milk to get lakeland, or is it through the co-ops?

I'd say you have to be a supplier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

td5man wrote: »
    I'd say you have to be a supplier.
    Was thinking that too!
    Pity as the fertiliser will be got in a Lakeland store

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Anyone know if Oldcastle labs still do them and how much they charge?

tanko wrote: »

Did in 2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Sent samples to FBA today through Glanbia €15 each inc postage

What do they charge for silage samples ? I paid €32.50 for one a few weeks ago and thought it was a bit pricey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭razor8

tanko wrote: »

€20 for single sample, €17.50 for 5 or more, forget if plus or including vat

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

€100 for 4 samples with teagasc, pH, P and K, seems like there is better value to be got.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Bullocks wrote: »
    What do they charge for silage samples ? I paid €32.50 for one a few weeks ago and thought it was a bit pricey
    Any lad your buying meal off will test the silage for free.

I've never paid for it so can't answer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

how long before results get back?do they post them?

About.a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭jfh

About.a week

Intended to go with teagasc for testing as I'm a new client but was waiting too long for auger, which might be a good thing aswent with dairy gold coop for 17 eeach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Sami23

Lads when soil sampling I know you are supposed to take the sample to a depth of 4 inches but does that mean you use the soil that is 4 inches down for the sample or do you use the soil that goes from top down to 4 inches. Hope ye know what I mean.
    Bit confused about it ? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭jfh

Top down to 4 inch, the length of the funnel on auger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nettleman

Miname wrote: »
    Any lad your buying meal off will test the silage for free.

I would be careful about getting meal supplier testing silage, as they could be a conflict of interest. I paid that mental price of 32 for a lab in southeast, and never again, add on the postage cost. I went solo to a crowd up north, who were way cheaper, but not as cheap as dairygold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

I've never paid for it so can't answer.

Good contribution!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Paid €25 for 25 samples a few wks ago with Teagasc, a man came and took the samples, I gave him maps and around 5 hrs later he was back with them all done. Definitely on the pricey side, but at least it's done, might be a lot more expensive if I didn't do it at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

Would anyone be headed down the route of soil mapping over there?
    Few guys around here use quads with a hydraulic probe and smaller power pack to take samples, bloody powerful things as neighbour has played around with residual N testing at up to 21/2ft down, not so convinced on results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Where could I get an augur?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭Charliebull

paid 50 yoyo last year for 2 samples in AFBI in hillsborough, took about a week after posting

there is a lad in claremorris who works for mineral company, he will test for free and send to america for analysis, ok but as someone said they might be tailoring the results for their product

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭jmrc

AIS Labs in Carlow:
    S3A - €14 per sample P, K, pH and lime.
    S3B – €24 per sample p, K, pH, lime and organic matter.
    S2 - €55 per sample. This scan gives you the available nutrients in the soil and trace elements
    have used then in the past, found them good and efficient.

I am not connected in anyway to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭joeyboy12345

if your goin solo and sending the samples yourself wil the lab in oldcastle or carlow send you out the boxes to send it in?

I just bring it to them in zip loc bags.