Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Men - Blazer on a night out

• 20-01-2015 5:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭

Hey

just wondering what do people make of wearing a blazer on a casual night out with a pair of jeans? And do you think runners are a no go with this? :p Open for discussion here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

No.

EDIT: Unless you like looking terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭Zhane

depends on cut, fit and colour of all the above.

But runners? No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭yes there

Ive wore that combo a few times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Deffo depends on the Blazer.
    Also, it can depend on the 'runners'.
    Do you mean 'running runners' or cons / something with a bit of style to them?
    I've often worn this combo too, and it can look smart / casual and stylish.

Also, if it's a t-shirt under the blazer, runners may look better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭mufc1993

Should have clarified, meant vans or converse. Probably would go for t shirt under the blazer too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

Ah the Jerry Seinfeld look. Hes been doing it for 20 odd years now

1412129871719_Image_galleryImage_126978_EXCLUSIVE_Jerry_Se.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Bored_lad

The blazer with a tshirt and jeans can look great however with a pair of converse I would say no and go for a pair of brogues. Also make sure that everything fits you well. Is this the kind of look your aiming for http://lookbook.nu/look/3554819-Cavaliere-Blazer-Cos-Tshirt-Jeans-Baron-Bag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,410 ✭✭✭Tefral

Bored_lad wrote: »
    The blazer with a tshirt and jeans can look great however with a pair of converse I would say no and go for a pair of brogues. Also make sure that everything fits you well. Is this the kind of look your aiming for http://lookbook.nu/look/3554819-Cavaliere-Blazer-Cos-Tshirt-Jeans-Baron-Bag

To me nothing in that photo fits that guy well.

cronin_j wrote: »
    To me nothing in that photo fits that guy well.

What do you think doesn't fit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

What do you think doesn't fit?

The blazer looks ill-fitting to me. The sleeves are a little too short and tight, you can see the material bunching around his arms. Around his rib cage, the material is stretched and pulled where he has closed the top button - another sign it's too small imo. And if he closed the second button, he probably wouldn't be able to move. I think he'd be much better off in a size up.

Novella wrote: »
    And if he closed the second button,.

You never close the second button ;)

This 'very slim fit' blazer is popular, and the 'bunching' effect can just be part of the style.
    It's trying to be different from just a normal suit jacket / blazer style.

It works better with it open instead of buttoned, especially if there's a good patterned t-shirt underneath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

whiskeyman wrote: »
    You never close the second button ;)

This 'very slim fit' blazer is popular, and the 'bunching' effect can just be part of the style.
    It's trying to be different from just a normal suit jacket / blazer style.

It works better with it open instead of buttoned, especially if there's a good patterned t-shirt underneath.

It still looks ill-fitting in my opinion. With the top button closed, the material beneath gapes and immediately makes me think "too small". That's just my take on it. :) I agree it would look better left open though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭spongebob89

Where do you buy these casual blazers The good nit ones cost over a 100quid in coupke olaces i looked

it's a bit past it's sell by date that look. Also, the fact that so many guys wear it badly also means that you look bad by association just by the fact that on any given night out there will be so many terrible blazer jeans combos out there.

glasso wrote: »
    it's a bit past it's sell by date that look. Also, the fact that so many guys wear it badly also means that you look bad by association just by the fact that on any given night out there will be so many terrible blazer jeans combos out there.

I disagree.
    If you wear whatever you wear well, you'll always stand out.
    Sure just look at the amount of shirt/jeans combos you'll see the majority of lads wearing on a night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,129 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

Its GQ fad, nothing more. It'll die out soon. "Bunching" should never be something positive in menswear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I must say as a woman that look doesn't do anything for me. It is way to feminine for me and I hardly go for caveman type.

It could be that I am just too old. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

That looks quite shockingly bad. The blazer and jeans look too short and those shoes don't do much either. Also the plain White tshirt behind that colour is a no no. Awful look.

Personally I'd have a least a shirt and maybe a cardigan for layering if your adventurous.

Irish_rat wrote: »
    That looks quite shockingly bad. The blazer and jeans look too short and those shoes don't do much either. Also the plain White tshirt behind that colour is a no no. Awful look.

Personally I'd have a least a shirt and maybe a cardigan for layering if your adventurous.

The blazer isn't too short its about the right length. The jeans are cuffed and are also the right length. Lastly why is white behind grey a nono?

Also the look he is going for isn't a formal one so in this case wearing a shirt and then going as far as layering it with a cardigan is definitely going to look bad as it will be too formal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭TwoGuysDublin

I like a blazer on a night out once it's good quality and not River Island/Topman shiny polyester.

I usually wear it with a shirt as I don't intend on wearing the blazer for the whole night. I would never wear runners/Cons etc. with jeans and a blazer. It might suit some, not me personally. And tbh I prefer a slim fitting pair of chinos with a blazer. Looks cleaner.

Last night was chinos and Chelsea boots with a grey Herringbone blazer. Worked well.

Two cents on the guy in the picture. His clothes fit better than 95% of the blokes I see which is saying something. Probably be better opening the top button as it's tight around the stomach. I hate the creases/bunching on the sleeves. Could be the quality of the jacket.

Not bad, could be done better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

I disagree.
    If you wear whatever you wear well, you'll always stand out.
    Sure just look at the amount of shirt/jeans combos you'll see the majority of lads wearing on a night out.

There is nothing wrong with it all. Look at the cast of made in Chelsea. Some of them are multi-millionaires and wear jeans and plain T-Shirt to a club. Its the same with the Super Rich in America. If you look at their instagrams, they wear pretty plain clothes.

I dont understand this whole "trying to look the part" thing that does on in England and Ireland. I love the clubs in Dublin, that people dont give a **** what they wear and go to the club to have a good time

hfallada wrote: »
    Look at the cast of made in Chelsea.

/thread.

Hehehe yeah not a great example.

But the outfit above still looks too much like something a boy band member would wear for me to like it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

Just wear a nicely fitted suit with the top shirt button open and without the tie altogether if you're going to be wearing a jacket throughout the night. You'll stand out, in a good way.

If you brought the averagely dressed Irish lad on a night out in a place like Barcelona you'd be shocked at how much they'd stick out for under dressing compared to the Spanish. Even in Budapest we met a lot of Irish women who told us they were surprised to see Irish lads who weren't wearing the usual sh!tty Hollister or Tommy Hilfiger T-shirt and jeans with runners combo on a night out

hfallada wrote: »
    I love the clubs in Dublin, that people dont give a **** what they wear and go to the club to have a good time

You'd be surprised how long people spend trying to look like they don't give a s**t what they're wearing.

If you brought the averagely dressed Irish lad on a night out in a place like Barcelona you'd be shocked at how much they'd stick out for under dressing compared to the Spanish. Even in Budapest we met a lot of Irish women who told us they were surprised to see Irish lads who weren't wearing the usual sh!tty Hollister or Tommy Hilfiger T-shirt and jeans with runners combo on a night out

Was in Milan before and the effort put in by the men there to dress well was impressive. In Ireland you "stand out" almost like it's a bad thing to dress well. In other countries you're just considered to look well when you do.

Was in Milan before and the effort put in by the men there to dress well was impressive.
    Italians always manage to make it look like it is just the way they dress and not like they are working hard at it (unlike the link above). And in fairness when you have the designer choice they have on your doorstep and slimmer build it is a lot easier. Plus they spend a lot more on their clothing than Irish or most of other nations. I think it would probably partly explain why they live so long with their parents.

meeeeh wrote: »
    Italians always manage to make it look like it is just the way they dress and not like they are working hard at it (unlike the link above). And in fairness when you have the designer choice they have on your doorstep and slimmer build it is a lot easier. Plus they spend a lot more on their clothing than Irish or most of other nations. I think it would probably partly explain why they live so long with their parents.

I never thought about the living at home bit before :)

It does help when you live over there and have designers more readily available. They make it look effortless and second nature, but I imagine they're putting in lots of effort. Can't just wake up toss on whatever and look a million $$$ can you?

Tell me it isn't so.

It takes time, effort, and an almost innate ability to know what looks stylish and what doesn't. Many Italian men have this, but many Italian men don't, so its not as cut and dry as that.

Irish "lads" don't really look good because of the "lad" mentality - if you are different you'll be slagged. So the group of 6 lads going out for pints are all pretty much going to look the same.

Its not necessarily about designers; its knowing what good quality is, how to maintain a wardrobe, wearing clothes that suit your body type, and avoiding having a "going out shirt". :)

In Ireland you "stand out" almost like it's a bad thing to dress well. In other countries you're just considered to look well when you do.

This is indeed a sad fact that is true of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

Sports coat. Enough of this blazer talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Heckler

Granted I'm 41 but It amazes me that males over the age of say 30 have "going out clothes". Its like your 10 and have mammy mass clothes. Actually spend time on their wardrobe on a night out WTF. Wear what your comfortable in. If your not it shows.

The amount of times I've stood beside..... Everyone in plain or check shirt, blazer, bootcut jeans and **** brown shoes and a nice sensible haircut and a bottle of coors light. YAAAAAAAAAAWWWWNNN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

Heckler wrote: »
    Granted I'm 41 but It amazes me that males over the age of say 30 have "going out clothes". Its like your 10 and have mammy mass clothes. Actually spend time on their wardrobe on a night out WTF. Wear what your comfortable in. If your not it shows.

The amount of times I've stood beside..... Everyone in plain or check shirt, blazer, bootcut jeans and **** brown shoes and a nice sensible haircut and a bottle of coors light. YAAAAAAAAAAWWWWNNN.

Perhaps those guys are comfortable in that attire you scoff at...thus reinforcing your point about wearing what you are comfortable in?

Heckler wrote: »
    bootcut jeans

I thought they died off with the end of the Celtic Tiger :)

A trip to any playground on a Saturday morning where the dad is trudging after his kids while constantly checking his phone will tell you different...:)

I hoped they'd died off with the end of the Celtic Tiger :)

I've fixed my post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

mufc1993 wrote: »
    Hey

just wondering what do people make of wearing a blazer on a casual night out with a pair of jeans? And do you think runners are a no go with this? :p Open for discussion here!

While I'm not mad about the jacket in the photo and I don't like skinny jeans, the overall look can work:

longsleeve-shirt-and-pocket-square-and-v-neck-sweater-and-blazer-and-belt-and-chinos-and-low-top-sneakers-large-1631.jpg

^^ very nice

Jacket isn't the best quality but it looks decent on him. I'm veering more towards them being slim jeans rather than skinny as they don't look bet on to him. I think they're just right way since they sit nicely around the ankle and don't cover the runner. Personal preference and all that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 209 ✭✭To Need a Woman

I think this one would go nicely over a navy cashmere crew-neck I have. But no runners

http://www.luxebutik.com/men-dolce-gabbana-jacket-grey-cotton-p7984

$389 for a cotton blazer? Ouch. Take D&G off it and you're talking $89 I'd say. That would crease like tin foil I imagine too.

I think this one would go nicely over a navy cashmere crew-neck I have. But no runners

http://www.luxebutik.com/men-dolce-gabbana-jacket-grey-cotton-p7984

Looks VERY short.

Yep, looks a very short and tight fit that.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Jeans are inherently casual, so a more casual blazer is what you wear. Cotton with unstructured shoulders (no padding) more. unobtrusive button colour, no gold buttons. Non-black blazer, navy is versatile. Dark non-distressed jeans, wear shoes not runners imo, oxfords.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 209 ✭✭To Need a Woman

Looks VERY short.
    I never thought of it that way. If it wasn't short, I'd like it

Also the look he is going for isn't a formal one so in this case wearing a shirt and then going as far as layering it with a cardigan is definitely going to look bad as it will be too formal.

Read the thread title

Irish_rat wrote: »
    Read the thread title

Yes I read the thread title a month ago when I really that post.

If you read the first post you will see the op is talking about a casual night out so I'm assuming pubs and clubs type night out and also that it would be in Ireland which as you know the majority of the country doesn't necessarily dress very well even on nights out so its hard not to look too formal.

Secondly I myself think that the layered blazer and cardigan look would be too formal for nights out in Dublin. Take this fit for example it would look completely out of place in an Irish club. https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/a6/2f/20/a62f20d1a52c60f04bed505ccfc3eccf.jpg
    Now I appreciate he has a formal shirt on along with a tie but I'm on my phone and its the best I had on my phone.

Also if you were wearing a blazer and cardigan in a club you'd be roasting most likely and have to take them off.

The whole "its too formal" angle is a strange one. What is too formal or why do people attach formality to clothes?

If a man wants to go to work in a blazer layered with a cardigan and shirt and tie what is it that is inherently formal about it? I would just think he looks well/is wearing something he wants to wear. I don't think "too formal".

There's a guy where I work who will often wear a waistcoat, tie etc. and power to him if he's happy with it. If he wants to go to the cinema in that what difference does it make?

It goes back to the old Irish "going out clothes". Wouldn't wear that shirt unless its to Coppers, jaysus never on a week day or to work!

And if you want to sweat yourself to death layered up to the max in a club go for it.