Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

whats the difference in these drills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭sky6

If you want to drill concrete you're better getting a mains drill, even a cheap one ,preferably an sds drill.
    I've tried several cordless drill for concrete and while they will drill small holes. The spindles seem to go out of balance very quickly. I think the spindles are too light for all the impact action on drilling concrete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 frankiebouy

sky6 wrote: »
    If you want to drill concrete you're better getting a mains drill, even a cheap one ,preferably an sds drill.
    I've tried several cordless drill for concrete and while they will drill small holes. The spindles seem to go out of balance very quickly. I think the spindles are too light for all the impact action on drilling concrete.

yeah i would agree. these cordless drills are shag all use for drilling concrete. get a mains drill and a extension if you need it. you would pick up a decent enough one for sixty or seventy euro. would last for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,888 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

Mains SDS the only way to go, you are paying bit bucks for the cordless functionality.
    The 2 shown are okay for drilling through lightweight block and the Evening Herald, folded.

Lidl and Aldi sometimes have cordless SDS drills if you want to wait
    Look at this Einehll BT-RH 900/1 Rotary Hammer: 76 euro
    in Mc Quillans online
    Will do all the dental work you need.

The key to a good sds drill is the bit: I use Hilti all the time, a bit dearer but well worth the mula for the standard sizes
    6 mm 8 mm 10 mm should do most stuff
    You can get CCC (Cheap Chinese Crap) bits but they are rubbish

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭P_Cash

great info lads,

well, ill tell ya now, ive a mains drill here, and was always thinking that yes a cordless would be handy, but did often wonder how it stud up to concrete walls, hanging stuff etc. . bring around me cordless and no leads etc.

but now that a few of ye here are of the same opinion, im going to park the idea, im really only buying it for concrete, it would be the No 1 use for the job anyway, no point having a drill only capable of doing wood.

I agree though, the drill is only as good as the bit thats used.

cheers for the replies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭P_Cash

Mains SDS the only way to go, you are paying bit bucks for the cordless functionality.
    The 2 shown are okay for drilling through lightweight block and the Evening Herald, folded.

Lidl and Aldi sometimes have cordless SDS drills if you want to wait
    Look at this Einehll BT-RH 900/1 Rotary Hammer: 76 euro
    in Mc Quillans online
    Will do all the dental work you need.

The key to a good sds drill is the bit: I use Hilti all the time, a bit dearer but well worth the mula for the standard sizes
    6 mm 8 mm 10 mm should do most stuff
    You can get CCC (Cheap Chinese Crap) bits but they are rubbish

where do you pick up your hilti bits?

Yes I've destroyed a few Cordless drills being too lazy getting leads and Drill out when she wanted another picture hung up.
    For Concrete there's nothing to touch a Hilti drill. It cost me the price of a Holiday 30 years ago but still going strong. Wurth SDS bits are also good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭gutteruu

Just for balance, I've been using a cordless makita for years drilling up to 10mm masonry holes without problem. Thousands of holes and chuck is as straight as day one. Corded would be a lot quicker and stronger if your ok with a lead.

The problem is how people use the tools. If you dog any tool it won't last. Go slow and let tool/bit do the work, they will last. I had a colleague who put his full 18 stone onto my hitachi cordless with a steel bit drilling into concrete on the ground for 15 minutes. Bent the drill shaft then turned around and said "those cordless drills aren't worth a f**k".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Have the first one myself - bargain - I dropped it off the ladder from the second floor of a semi D and it survived!

Have the Aldi Workzone SDS mains for concrete for €50 its unbeatable - chased the wall for several sockets no hassle,.

gutteruu wrote: »
    Just for balance, I've been using a cordless makita for years drilling up to 10mm masonry holes without problem. Thousands of holes and chuck is as straight as day one. Corded would be a lot quicker and stronger if your ok with a lead.

The problem is how people use the tools. If you dog any tool it won't last. Go slow and let tool/bit do the work, they will last. I had a colleague who put his full 18 stone onto my hitachi cordless with a steel bit drilling into concrete on the ground for 15 minutes. Bent the drill shaft then turned around and said "those cordless drills aren't worth a f**k".

funny you mention Makita That's the last brand that went out of balance while drilling with a 5 mm Bit to hang a painting.

I do agree with you that a lot of people don't know how to use some tools properly. In my own instances thats not the case.
    so much so I wouldn't bother trying with a cordless any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

gutteruu wrote: »

18 stone. Steel bit. Concrete. 15 mins. Gobshíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭reiger

P_Cash wrote: »
    http://www.ie.screwfix.com/hitachi-dv18dgl-jc-18v-1-5ah-li-ion-cordless-combi-drill.html

and

http://www.ie.screwfix.com/hitachi-dv18dcl2-18v-1-5ah-li-ion-cordless-combi-drill.html

im after a cordless drill, and decided on hitachi,

first off, ill be drilling concrete wall. the first one above doesnt seem to have hammer action, where i think the second one does.

is the first one just a newer model? but doesnt seem to have hammer action.

Both drills are set up for the DIY person grand for the odd bit off light work but I would not go drilling concrete with them,any one from a trade background doesn't use these for concrete,myself use a 24v Bosch SDS drill for my concrete drilling.as another poster said buy a cheap electric drill you would save in the long run