Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

buying foxes

• 13-01-2015 5:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭

Hi lads i heard at the weekend that fox skin was being bought again. Is this true and if so whos buying them thanks lab man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Snakezilla

This was brought up at an NARGC meeting I was at last year... Supposedly the Canadians are going mad looking for Fox and Mink ! Never bothered looking into it, would rather keep the tails for our own club to put towards the vermin count.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭sniperman

would they have to be head shot for resale or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭ecr

No I sold them for years don't matter where shot as long as no damage to skin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭sniperman

Where would one have to place a shot in order not to damage the skin?for example with a 223, 55 grain:confused:

In my opinion for selling pelts the 223 is too strong some may agree some may disagree I've tried them all the best gun and only gun I used when selling pelts was a hornet a bit expensive for ammunition but in my mind it's the perfect round for the job now the 223 is some round don't get me wrong but it will do more damage than the hornet and another thing they don't want when selling pelts us stitched ones cos as soon as it goes through the defleshing machine the stitching will reopen so bare that in mind, as for them buying pelts I haven't heard anything about this from the buyers I did sell to an it's too late in the season for them to start now but I would like to see it happening in the future as there is so many people jobless it's a handy income on the side anything else you need to know don't hesitate to ask

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Crouching shotgun, hidden hunter style :)
    Would they have their own procedures for the way pelts would be dried/preserved??

I was selling pelts dried as you would get more money for them it's upto u if u want to cure/dry them but yes there is a procedure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

As regards to skinning them where did you do it and what way?
    Did you bring em home?
    I was thinking of doing it using the washing line to hang em and skin em from there

Can't imagine the money for 1 would cover my time to be handling the smelly f@#ker that much!

Their stinkin alri but I wouldn't be selling it. I done same with rabbit. Skinned it and tacked it with salt left it out for two weeks and it was lovely and soft so was thinking of a good winter fox skin to do the same

As regards to skinning them where did you do it and what way?
    Did you bring em home?
    I was thinking of doing it using the washing line to hang em and skin em from there

I had a shed set up for it brought them all home you have to be careful wen skinning as you must not cut the skin I starts at the rear run the knife upto the chin of the fox then slice the inside of the legs then pull the skin off the 4 legs first I made a rack for skinning I place the 2 back legs onto it so the carcass hung head facing down tail is next this is the hardest part pull it down a little off the bike using gloves for grip then spin it an the bone will slip out of the skin then pull the skin downwards wit some strength straight down to the head at this stage you will need to do some knife work around the head again without cutting the skin that's how it's done my way anyway

Their stinkin alri but I wouldn't be selling it. I done same with rabbit. Skinned it and tacked it with salt left it out for two weeks and it was lovely and soft so was thinking of a good winter fox skin to do the same

Would skin on inside be hard and leathery after the process?

I used to heat dry them with air I wud dry 200 skins at a time

djflawless wrote: »
    Would skin on inside be hard and leathery after the process?

It was but but I put some leather oil ( same as I used to put to soften my falconry glove) on it to soften it up.
    I used the skin for ferrets to play and mess with but now I havint a ferret to me name. Really hard to find any now and suppose it'll be June or July when they'll all be havin kits :(

I think it will be longer for me to get herself to agree to having more after the last 1 bit the hand off her :D

Ah they all bite at some stage but my misuse just will not hold one at all so I'm safe to have one but just so hard to get one now days

Harder still to get a good 1!!

Never had a bad one in terms of hunting. Had one who was an absolute ba5tard for bitin. Literally running at your hand once it went in his cage.
    Had some that'd always kill and some who would just flush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Those viking, prehistory historical reenactment gangs would pay proper money for native Irish furs. I mean it, I was at a festival a while ago and they were there, they had a few scabby furs (which they were very proud of) and I KNOW they'd love some genuine ones to make cloaks and other stuff with. They had one fox fur that they displayed and it was a centre piece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

It was but but I put some leather oil ( same as I used to put to soften my falconry glove) on it to soften it up.
    I used the skin for ferrets to play and mess with but now I havint a ferret to me name. Really hard to find any now and suppose it'll be June or July when they'll all be havin kits :(

i know a lad who keeps a few. Can ask if he knows of any

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

Thanks for the replies lads pity none are being bought twould be a bit of cash in .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭lakesider

John_Rambo wrote:
    Those viking, prehistory historical reenactment gangs would pay proper money for native Irish furs. I mean it, I was at a festival a while ago and they were there, they had a few scabby furs (which they were very proud of) and I KNOW they'd love some genuine ones to make cloaks and other stuff with. They had one fox fur that they displayed and it was a centre piece

once again rip off Ireland rears its head!..quality tanned fox skins sell for 50 euro in Europe!

Did you contact the reenactment lads? Were they looking for a lot less money than the mainland European reenactment acts?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭lakesider

what the heck has that to do with the value of a fox fur??..the mind boggles!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

If the value of a fox fur to the party mentioned above is in-line with the €50 euro price you quoted then I'd be interested in hearing why that is considered an example of rip off Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭cork shooter

ecr wrote: »
    In my opinion for selling pelts the 223 is too strong some may agree some may disagree I've tried them all the best gun and only gun I used when selling pelts was a hornet a bit expensive for ammunition but in my mind it's the perfect round for the job now the 223 is some round don't get me wrong but it will do more damage than the hornet and another thing they don't want when selling pelts us stitched ones cos as soon as it goes through the defleshing machine the stitching will reopen so bare that in mind, as for them buying pelts I haven't heard anything about this from the buyers I did sell to an it's too late in the season for them to start now but I would like to see it happening in the future as there is so many people jobless it's a handy income on the side anything else you need to know don't hesitate to ask

I worked with a lad in oz and his father culled foxes for a living on various sheep stations . His job as a young lad was skinning and drying the numerous pelts. This was done by pinning them to a piece of ply wood and stretching them as much as possible without ripping them .this air dried them and they were paid according to the length of pelt. Round of choice to minimise pelt damage was a .17 rem centre fire .

That's grand air drying them but it takes more time Mt pelts were being collected 2 times a week so had to be dried fast the .17 centre fire imo is a bad round way to fast

lakesider wrote: »
    what the heck has that to do with the value of a fox fur??..the mind boggles!

Well, you quoted me regarding the reenactment groups (without the quote marks) and then ranted on about rip off Ireland. Unboggle your mind and tell my why you did that?

I was simply (and helpfully) pointing hunters to a group that might be genuinely interested in fox furs.

Lads, do some googling, there's even companies that supply clothing, jewelry, weaponry for prehistory reenactment groups. I'd be very surprised if there isn't money to be made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭retro d

howya lads , whats the lowest you want for them would you skin clean and dry em for five euro , would every tom dik and harry be out after them if there was cash , I can just see it nice warm bath loads of Radox a few scented candles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

retro d wrote: »
    howya lads , whats the lowest you want for them would you skin clean and dry em for five euro , would every tom dik and harry be out after them if there was cash , I can just see it nice warm bath loads of Radox a few scented candles

Would hardly be worth the effort for that low a price!

aaakev wrote: »
    Would hardly be worth the effort for that low a price!
    I'd probably get sick skinning them with the smell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

retro d wrote: »
    I'd probably get sick skinning them with the smell

You would be surprised how quickly you get used to the smell

aaakev wrote: »
    You would be surprised how quickly you get used to the smell
    hygiene very important as seen on another thread a mate of mine does all the dirty work i just pull the trigger , All the best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

was in poland recently...they get 15 euro for a fox skin and the local vet give a tenner for the carcass for some type of testing so 25 euro all together

there fox fur is way better than ours due to the cold climate
    cant see anyone giving much for our mangy ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 blueella

daithi55 wrote: »
    was in poland recently...they get 15 euro for a fox skin and the local vet give a tenner for the carcass for some type of testing so 25 euro all together

there fox fur is way better than ours due to the cold climate
    cant see anyone giving much for our mangy ones

if anybody had any carcass for sale i would be interested! even if you guys do sell the skin i would buy the rest as you were on about above!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭cork shooter

blueella wrote: »
    if anybody had any carcass for sale i would be interested! even if you guys do sell the skin i would buy the rest as you were on about above!

Can I ask the obvious . What do you want a fox carcass for ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 blueella

ha ha i suppose this might sound strange but i do a lot of sculpture pieces with animal bones, old wood and metal other bits and bobs! :)

blueella wrote: »
    ha ha i suppose this might sound strange but i do a lot of sculpture pieces with animal bones, old wood and metal other bits and bobs! :)

Not strange at all ***cough***
    With Cubs being born now not that many lads out shooting foxes but I'm sure someone will get one for you l. It's just a nightmare keeping a fox because they absolutely stink