Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spiral series 5

• 10-01-2015 9:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,767 ✭✭✭

The new series of Spiral starts on BBC4 tonight at 9pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭lockman

That was a great start to season5 for this excellent show.

Episodes 3 and 4 air tonight at 21:00.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭johnire

This looks really good but I haven't seen the previous series so don't think I will watch it.

Infoanon wrote: »
    The new series of Spiral starts on BBC4 tonight at 9pm

I am really enjoying season 5 so far.

Gilou & Laure: will be interesting to see what happens there.

Must add that I think that the acting in this show is top class, from all the main characters and indeed the supporting cast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

johnire wrote: »
    This looks really good but I haven't seen the previous series so don't think I will watch it.

Season 4 is on Netflix, haven't seen any of them either. Does anyone who's watching think you could jump into a season or would it be better to try and seek out earlier seasons from other sources?

I'd try and get a hold of earlier seasons and watch from the start. In season 5, there are some references to characters from earlier seasons. A lot of the relationships on view in season 5 have been built up slowly through the seasons.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Season five does really retire you having done prior k knowledge of the characters and their relationships. I watched all of season five and it's maybe the second best season so far after the second one.

Thanks lads, have bitten the bullet and ordered season 1 to 4 on Amazon for 30 pounds. Looking forward to getting it now.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,657 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

We
    lost the star pupil.
    What's Laure's (Caroline Proust) connection to him? Wonder if the judge is stressed, or has a significant health problem coming down the tracks. I missed last week's. I like how it seems to be a show where the writers don't appear to be influenced by American/Anglo TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,093 ✭✭✭volchitsa

Been absolutely loving this series, but last night's ending was just a stunner, wasn't it?

That will fairly shake things up, won't it? Not that it needed it, which is why it was such a daring way to send things, IMO. Though I imagine it may have been because
    Gregory Fitoussi wanted out. What a loss to the rest of us!

Uncivil to the President (24 hour forum ban)

We
    lost the star pupil.
    What's Laure's (Caroline Proust) connection to him? Wonder if the judge is stressed, or has a significant health problem coming down the tracks. I missed last week's. I like how it seems to be a show where the writers don't appear to be influenced by American/Anglo TV.
    He was a prosecution lawyer and worked closely with Laure and her team in earlier cases

Yes, looks like the judge could be sick/stressed.

volchitsa wrote: »
    Been absolutely loving this series, but last night's ending was just a stunner, wasn't it?

That will fairly shake things up, won't it? Not that it needed it, which is why it was such a daring way to send things, IMO. Though I imagine it may have been because
    Gregory Fitoussi wanted out. What a loss to the rest of us!

Yes indeed, last night's offering was a brilliant piece of drama. What a way to end it.

Thanks lads, have bitten the bullet and ordered season 1 to 4 on Amazon for 30 pounds. Looking forward to getting it now.

A sound investment imo. It is an excellent show.

We
    lost the star pupil.

Judge Roban trusted Laure and her team in the past and risked his own career defending them, sometimes against their own hierarchy, particularly the odious Herville.

He seems a lot less reliable this time around though. Hubris, I suspect.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,657 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Yeah, I thought that. I was wondering if they might have had a more personal relationship.

Apart from this, I've only seen 2 episodes from the first series.

lockman wrote: »
    He was a prosecution lawyer and worked closely with Laure and her team in earlier cases

Yes, looks like the judge could be sick/stressed.

Lockman - or anyone else who has seen the early series : on another thread someone said they thought Gilou and Laure used to be an item. Is that correct?

If so, when and what happened?

Lockman - or anyone else who has seen the early series : on another thread someone said they thought Gilou and Laure used to be an item. Is that correct?

If so, when and what happened?

Sorry, my knowledge of the show only goes back as far as season 2 and as far as I can remember they weren't together.

Yeah that's what I thought too. It makes more sense, IMO, as working with an ex flame isn't usually conducive to the sort of easy relationship they have, IMO.

And thanks for replying anyway. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭La_Gordy

I've just finished E12. I wish yis all would hurry up we have MUCH to discuss!!!

Also, imo, the weakest season so far.

La_Gordy wrote: »
    I've just finished E12. I wish yis all would hurry up we have MUCH to discuss!!!

Also, imo, the weakest season so far.

Really? I thought it had been good so far anyway.

(That's hardly going to motivate us, though is it?I doubt you'll be on your own for a long time then, in that case!)

Really? I thought it had been good so far anyway.

(That's hardly going to motivate us, though is it?I doubt you'll be on your own for a long time then, in that case!)

Haha! a series of Engrenages being weak in comparison to the others, is still a pretty good series!

Also I blame
    Mr. Selfridge for losing Pierre Clément
    :mad:

Haha! a series of Engrenages being weak in comparison to the others, is still a pretty good series!

Also I blame
    Mr. Selfridge for losing Pierre Clément
    :mad:

He's way better in Spiral though! (IMO!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

I just started watching the tv show and only discovered it via BBC and absolutely love it but I've only watched season 5 but still I find myself following most of it well though some bits are blanks for me but I love it!:D

WATCH IT ALL!!! Season 2 is my favourite :D

I'm trying to but it's impossible! Netflix only has season 4 and BBC tv only has from season 5 episode 5! I'm actually trying to find out who is the father of Laure's baby! Is it Gilou? Also the guy who plays Djibril Merini is fine!! As well as that young French police officer!:D

.... I'm actually trying to find out who is the father of Laure's baby! Is it Gilou? ....D

Nope, not Gilou.
    Laure herself isn't sure who the father is. She was in a relationship with Comissaire Brémont but was seeing fellow cop Samy on the side, so it is one of those two.

lockman wrote: »
    Nope, not Gilou.
    Laure herself isn't sure who the father is. She was in a relationship with Comissaire Brémont but was seeing fellow cop Samy on the side, so it is one of those two.
    Ahm still not over Samy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

Oh crap, I've just finished episode 12 and I feel bereft - what shall I do without Spiral?!! Oh, that was so good. And I'm so mad about Gilou. Dammit. When's series 6 due then?!

Probably not for another year!

I CANNOT wait that long! Actually, I'll have to go back and watch the other series of it. Only found it this year...

Shrap wrote: »
    I CANNOT wait that long! Actually, I'll have to go back and watch the other series of it. Only found it this year...

Do! 1 - 4 are all on Netflix. Each series are quite separate but 4 and 5 are quite heavily linked.

They aren't on Netflix, unless they reappeared in last 24 hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

Series 1-3 are on Hulu (free not Hulu plus) if you have access to it and series 4 is on Netflix.

I haven't got Netflix anyway, or any other subscription site. I can hack into the BBC4 player though, and my eldest can download any that aren't there. Illegal, I know....however, needs must!

Ludo wrote: »
    Series 1-3 are on Hulu (free not Hulu plus) if you have access to it and series 4 is on Netflix.

Oh cool, ta!

Omg i see tis just S04 now! That's a pity.

Ahm still not over Samy

Oh my God, I just looked Sami up and DAMN he's fine!!:D What season is he in, 3?

Thanks to Ludo's link, I have now gone back and started right at the beginning.

From the start, there is great chemistry evident between Laure, Gilou and Tintin. Some of their asides are hilarious. Well worth viewing if you havent already seen the early epsiodes.

Ah, trying to watch it on HULU is impossible between all the ads and it seems to constantly freeze up on me even if I give it time to load. I was getting so frustrated just trying to watch one episode took me like 2 hours between the stopping and starting! There seems to be no where else to watch them either that have seasons 1-5. I wish the BBC player would keep up their season 5 links! There is some season 5 on Youtube and season 4 on US Netflix but trying to find the other seasons is extremely hard especially ones without ads every 5 minutes. Uh, I am so irritated now!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

Ah, trying to watch it on HULU is impossible between all the ads and it seems to constantly freeze up on me even if I give it time to load. I was getting so frustrated just trying to watch one episode took me like 2 hours between the stopping and starting! There seems to be no where else to watch them either that have seasons 1-5. I wish the BBC player would keep up their season 5 links! There is some season 5 on Youtube and season 4 on US Netflix but trying to find the other seasons is extremely hard especially ones without ads every 5 minutes. Uh, I am so irritated now!:(

The ads are slightly irritating alright but then again it is free so I can live with them. They are very short ads I get.

As for the freezing issue...that sounds like your issue. I never have a problem with Hulu. It plays perfectly on all my devices so the problem is more than likely your broadband connection.

Ludo wrote: »
    The ads are slightly irritating alright but then again it is free so I can live with them. They are very short ads I get.

As for the freezing issue...that sounds like your issue. I never have a problem with Hulu. It plays perfectly on all my devices so the problem is more than likely your broadband connection.
    Yeah, I figured it might be the broadband connection. It always been bad! The ads just drive me crazy even though if it was on BBC they would be longer. It just seems like there's an ad every five minutes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭johnire

I think I'm just going to buy the box set from WowHd. Series 1-4 can be got for about €33 when they are having a 15% discount offer which is fairly often.
    Yeah, I figured it might be the broadband connection. It always been bad! The ads just drive me crazy even though if it was on BBC they would be longer. It just seems like there's an ad every five minutes!

Oh my God, I just looked Sami up and DAMN he's fine!!:D What season is he in, 3?

I cannot tell you for valid reasons. You'll just havetae watch...