Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bad Experience with Parcel Motel

• 09-01-2015 10:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭

I had a very aggressive phone call from Parcel Motel last night, accusing me of stealing an Amazon Kindle! Before Christmas I had ordered 2 items from Amazon, a book and a bluray disk, as presents for my sister. When I went to the Parcel Motel depot, 2 doors opened when I entered the pin number. I was confused that 2 doors had opened, and figured that my book was in one slot and my bluray disk was in the other.

When I got home, I found out that that I had in fact picked up a parcel belonging to someone else, a book by some retired US general. Anyway, I wasn't sure what to do with it, so I left it, thinking I'd sort it out after Christmas. Just after Christmas, a very nice lady from Parcel Motel contacted me about it, gave me a Return Label, and I sent the book back that same night..

Fast forward to last night, when a Parcel Motel agent phoned me up and very aggressively started accusing me of stealing an amazon kindle!! I was able to interrupt him long enough to figure out that he thought that I had sent back my own item, and kept someone elses kindle!! He was able to see form the CCTV cameras that one of the parcels I got before christmas was an amazon parcel, and jumped to the conclusion that this was an Amazon Kindle!!!

I was furious after the call!! I've never been accused of stealing anything before in my life! But I'm really not sure what to do.. They've cancelled my Parcel Motel account (even though I have 2 deliveries from amazon on the way)

Anyone got any suggestions for me? Or is anyone in the Ballincollig Cork area missing a book called "The First Person You Must Lead Is You" by Rebecca Halstead??? Thats the parcel that the Parcel Motel machines malfunction incorrectly delivered to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭knucks

It was addressed to a parcel motel serial number. I looked at it to check, but I dont know my parcel address serial number off by heart, so I didnt realise until I got home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

If they thought you stole it they would have contacted the Guards. I think that person has watched too many cop shows!
    Very dodgy ground. You should write a letter of complaint addressing your issues to Head Office or even try to speak to someone. Be clear and keep cool. If you have a name from last night all well and good. It sounds to me like they are still sorting our the Christmas Mess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭delahuntv

bbability wrote: »
    If they thought you stole it they would have contacted the Guards. .
    and the gardai would tell them what?

I very very much doubt is parcel motel said the OP "stole" something. They may have inferred that, but that's not the same as saying it.

Also, why did the OP not contact Parcel motel the moment they saw they had the wrong parcel - surely the OP could understand that someone else is going to the parcel motel locker and will find an empty locker - or maybe the op didn't care about anyone else?

If the OP had contact PM immediately, then they would have been treated a lot better. The fact that the op couldn;t be bothered "until after Christmas", say enough for me.

Well, I'll hold my hands up and admit that I was slow in doing the right thing originally. It was just before Christmas and I had a lot going on. But I am adamant that I have done nothing wrong.

The guy from Parcel Motel actually accused me of deliberately returning the wrong item, so that I could illegally keep an Amazon Kindle that he claimed I received by mistake. In my mind, this is the same as accusing me of stealing. He told me that this what what I had done, before asking me any questions, or trying to clarify anything.

It was the guys extremely aggressive, accusing attitude on the phone last night that really got to me. I was furious after the call, and I'm normally a very chilled out person.

BTW it turns out that they hadn't cancelled my account, I had just fat fingered the password.

I'm still going to write a letter of complaint to their head office but I guess there isn't much more I can do. I've returned the book that the Parcel Motel machine delivered to me by mistake, and I'm going to leave it up to them to sort out their own internal delivery mistakes.

If Parcel Motel accuse me of theft one more time though, I will bring this to a solicitor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

delahuntv wrote: »
    and the gardai would tell them what?

I very very much doubt is parcel motel said the OP "stole" something. They may have inferred that, but that's not the same as saying it.

Also, why did the OP not contact Parcel motel the moment they saw they had the wrong parcel - surely the OP could understand that someone else is going to the parcel motel locker and will find an empty locker - or maybe the op didn't care about anyone else?

If the OP had contact PM immediately, then they would have been treated a lot better. The fact that the op couldn;t be bothered "until after Christmas", say enough for me.

Tell who what !?!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

delahuntv wrote: »

If anyone had read the threads here in the run up to Christmas there seemed like no point in even attempting to contact them and the whole thing was a shambles from peoples reports here on boards particularly concentrated in around the Dublin area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,626 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

OP If you did:
    When I got home, I found out that that I had in fact picked up a parcel belonging to someone else, a book by some retired US general. Anyway, I wasn't sure what to do with it, so I left it, thinking I'd sort it out after Christmas. Just after Christmas, a very nice lady from Parcel Motel contacted me about it, gave me a Return Label, and I sent the book back that same night..

then fair play to you, thats about the same as I'd do maybe I'd send an email detailing what happened, but what else can you do, you cant put it back into the locker?

I have often collected a few items, its usually very late at night and I don't loiter , I just bang in the number, grab the items and jump back in the car.

When you returned the book, did it still have the PM sticker on it? If so then they had all they needed to find the correct recipient.

Also why are they even looking for the item, if they lost the item they should be paying out on their insurance, surely this is what they would be doing if they delivered the item to the wrong house.

If I had kept the PM label, then this would all be sorted out by now I'm sure. I reckon that the people who were expecting the book got the Kindle instead, and just kept it. But it was the week before Christmas, there was cardboard and wrapping paper everywhere, and it all went in the recycling bin, including any Parcel Motel labels/boxes!

I've another Parcel Motel delivery to collect today. I wonder how many slots will open this time??? :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,764 ✭✭✭my3cents

knucks wrote: »

I've another Parcel Motel delivery to collect today. I wonder how many slots will open this time??? :-)

How many?

my3cents wrote: »
    How many?

I should probably say that I've been using PM for a few years, and that was the very first time I've had any problems.