Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good family campsite's, not too far from Ferry ports, France.

• 08-01-2015 9:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭

So planning to head to France with the kids in the summer but don't want to spend too long driving on the other side because of the kids, but still want to head southish for the weather.

Kids are 1 and 5 so I'm guessing driving to Cork from Dublin to head to Cherbourg is the best bet. Anyone ever done something similar in that general area or got better suggestions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Uncle Ben

Hi, firstly there are ferries heading to Cherbourg and Roscoff from Rosslare so you do not need go to Cork for your ferry.unless it's necessary.
    There's plenty of sites in France, however if your looking for some heat and yet looking to avoid too much driving I would suggest you concentrate your search in the Brittany region.
    Although it's longer than the journey which your looking for, Brittany is within 1.5 hrs and 3 hrs on excellent roads, non toll.
    I think you should look up the websites of either Kelair, Keycamp,Yelloh or eurocamp. These companies do packages and you'll certainly be able to find a suitable site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭zagmund

There's a ferry from Dublin to Cherbourg too, so you can save time driving on this side too . . .

z

Worked at both Dol de Bretagne and Grand Metaire which is in Carnac. Both cracking campsites. If you need anymore info let me know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Cheers lads. Long day yesterday, in my original post I actually meant Rosslare to Roscoff, no idea why I said Cork to Cherbourg !

I've had a look at the Yelloh website and there seems to be a decent place within a half hour of Roscoff.

I thought the drive into Brittany is much further, but I think with the kids a beach is a requirement so that rules that out.

Carnac, what's the region like in general ?

La Grande Métairie looks great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭huskerdu

Roscoff is in Brittany, and there are loads of campsites close to Roscoff.
    However, Southern Brittany is warmer and drier, in general, than Northern Brittany so it safer bet for good weather. I think the average summer temps are about 21/24 degrees.

Carnac is a great region - lots to do and see for kids, the beaches are lovely - its the Atlantic so a lot like Irish beaches - some rocks, cliffs, waves but general excellent quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Cheers lads. Long day yesterday, in my original post I actually meant Rosslare to Roscoff, no idea why I said Cork to Cherbourg !

I've had a look at the Yelloh website and there seems to be a decent place within a half hour of Roscoff.

I thought the drive into Brittany is much further, but I think with the kids a beach is a requirement so that rules that out.

Carnac, what's the region like in general ?

La Grande Métairie looks great.

I stayed at Grand Metarie as a youngfella. It's good, pools ad play facilities; the Menhir's are just outside the campsite too.
    But the weather is only a bit better than here.
    You're gonna drive 2 hours to Rosslare from Dublin, and you'll get the sunny south east, but its not *really* different to Dublin in 2 hours.
    Google Maps says its 3hr40min to Carnac from Cherbourg.

I'd recommend south of the Loire. Depending on the time you arrive in to the ferry port, you should manage 5 hours driving, with breaks at the motorway rest areas. These have shops, playgrounds and enough space to let the kids blow off steam. This will get you near to La Rochelle, which is lovely.
    Shorter trip is to Le Sable dOlonne, which is a stereotypical french beach resort
    and a bit further is to near Royan, which has great beaches and campsites about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭aquarius10

I also need help..........Anyone been to chateau des ormes and Saint aubin sur Mer ? Can't decide between the 2 ?

We are is Disneyland Paris for a week before we head towards Cherbourg for our ferry home. We are travelling 15 - 28 June 2015.

Husband interested in d day beaches and also want to visit Mont St Michel. The kids are 4 & 2.5 so need to keep them entertained too. Hoping the weather stays dry & some bit warm.

Saint Aubin is on the beach but afraid there might not be enough to do in the area besides D day beaches ?

Chateau des ormes is nearer mont St Michel but further from beaches ..... Any advice from someone who has been to both areas would be appreciated.

We stayed in Bella Italia in lake garda before and would love to find that kind of parc in France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭MorganIRL

@thisregard have gone to france the last 2 yrs and stayed with eurocamp. 4+2 yr old and going again. We went to the south of France the first time. 1000km each way which turned out to far with 2 babies. But the location and weather was fantastic and we hope to go back in a few yrs when kids are older. Last yr we went to the vendee Region. 4.5/5 hr journey incl stops from Cherbourg in middle of June. As a previous poster said the lay bys in France are a world apart from Eire. Kids play areas and eating areas on whatever route u take. Vendee region has better weather than Brittany but still not guaranteed anything with Mother Nature. Going to vendee Region again this yr but a diff location as we're not into the beach scene so going for a more bike friendly area. Hope this helps