Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia, the new Saudi Arabia of motoring

• 08-01-2015 8:49pm

In Russia they now ban you from driving if you're .... well not "normal!" As defined by Putin I presume.

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-30735673
    Russia has listed transsexual and transgender people among those who will no longer qualify for driving licences.
    Fetishism, exhibitionism and voyeurism are also included as "mental disorders" now barring people from driving.
    The government says it is tightening medical controls for drivers because Russia has too many road accidents.
    "Pathological" gambling and compulsive stealing are also on the list. Russian psychiatrists and human rights lawyers have condemned the move.

Russia, the new Saudi Arabia of motoring freedom.

I know that the Russians have a reputation of being shít drivers, but these rules appear to be as misguided as you could ever imagine if improving road safety is the objective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Must be the High heals ? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,895 ✭✭✭✭Sand

I think our resident Russophiles/Anti-Americans will be along shortly to explain why this is a good idea.

Seriously, only in Russia.

Sand wrote: »
    I think our resident Russophiles/Anti-Americans will be along shortly to explain why this is a good idea.

But but nothing wrong with wrestling bears while topless :P

Unless you're driving! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

Dafuq? I'm sorry but this is so random I have to comment on it. Are you American or something Sand?

Who the hell else would think this way? If America does something wrong and someone talks about it on the internet, well they must be anti american which also somehow means... they're pro russian???? What? :confused:

Who could defend such a thing anyway?

Oh yeah.... the anti americans....

what the ****... :confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

It's an Israeli plot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I'd say the crimea are delighted now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Are you f*cking kidding me??

Russia jumps the shark...
    Russia has listed transsexual and transgender people among those who will no longer qualify for driving licences.

Fetishism, exhibitionism and voyeurism are also included as "mental disorders" now barring people from driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Vlad the 1st is off again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Cops in Ireland can't even stop people driving on their phones, how are you supposed to look them in the eye and know they're into kinky stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Do not fool yourselves, Crimea is to Russia as Poland was to Germany. Their regime is strong, but unlike Hitler who probably knew he'd be consumed by parkinson's, Putin can play the long game. Russia also has the resources to build it's army.
    First they came for the Socialists, and I did not speak out—
    Because I was not a Socialist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

errlloyd wrote: »
    Cops in Ireland can't even stop people driving on their phones, how are you supposed to look them in the eye and know they're into kinky stuff.

Im sure all citizens in vladland will now have to register there preference for all things sexual with the Kremlin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Women can't drive anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

MadsL wrote: »
    Are you f*cking kidding me??

Russia jumps the shark...

Quote:

Bad news for confused.com.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Jaysus Vlad is a bit ott about the auld gays isnt he? Whats he so worried about, maybe he's in the closet himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Jaysus Vlad is a bit ott about the auld gays isnt he? Whats he so worried about, maybe he's in the closet himself.

Well he is the Russian Bear ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

There goes their Izzard gig.

I'm sure you are just pretending that you don't know the difference between transsexuals and transvestites.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

MadsL wrote: »
    I'm sure you are just pretending that you don't know the difference between transsexuals and transvestites.

And I'm sure youre not just making an ill founded assumption. Check your over eager politically correct myopia.

Apologies, appears they banned the entire circus...

They banned the entire f60-f69 range of disorders. This includes:Pathological gambling, pyromania, kleptomania,transsexualism, transvestism, fetishism, exhibitionism, voyeurism, paedophilia, sadomasochism, necrophilia, sexual maturation disorder, Hospital hopper syndrome, etc, etc.
    Also banned is the f40 to f48 range, which includes: Specific (isolated) phobias Phobias restricted to highly specific situations such as proximity to particular animals, heights, thunder, darkness, flying, closed spaces, urinating or defecating in public toilets, eating certain foods, dentistry, or the sight of blood or injury. Though the triggering situation is discrete, contact with it can evoke panic as in agoraphobia or social phobia.
    Acrophobia Animal phobias Claustrophobia Simple phobia

Anyway he's already been...

"I don't wear womens' clothes, they are my clothes, I bought them" Eddie Izzard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭frankeee

errlloyd wrote: »

I drove on my phone once, smashed it to pieces

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Ussia :rolleyes:

:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

to be fair, have you seen Russian dashcam footage?

http://izismile.com/2013/02/22/jon_stewart_on_the_meteor_russians_and_dash.html

(not saying banning transsexual's is the answer. It's almost certainly isn't. but they need to do something :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Grayson wrote: »
    to be fair, have you seen Russian dashcam footage?

http://izismile.com/2013/02/22/jon_stewart_on_the_meteor_russians_and_dash.html

(not saying banning transsexual's is the answer. It's almost certainly isn't. but they need to do something :))

They need to enforce driver education. When you think about it Russians don't have much of a driving history. In Soviet times most people took public transport and didn't drive. Those that did had to wait literally years for a car.

They really only have a driving history of about 24 years.... which isn't that long. Driver education is really what's needed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

They banned pryomaniacs from driving? Ah lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Putin is undoing so much of the progress made in Russia over the last few decades. And he is leading the world into a new cold war. Their economy is going to tank, sanctions will increase and Putin is going to end up retaking some of the former Soviet Union territories. He is mentally ill, and dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭josip

Further into the abyss we go...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

You need a enemy to focus public anger on somebody that isn't you.

Picking on Jews can't happen because its easy for even Russians to associate Putins actions with other well know dictators.

Stalin used state defectors, which in reality was anybody who disagreed with him, including high level Communist officials and mostly Russians of Polish descent. The Modern world is too well connected now for a similar campaign to work on such a large level.

But mental health issues, gays and other gender related sub-groups work perfectly for him. They are not understood in Russia, which is still heavily influenced by the Orthodox church in the mid to older generations.

Plus they are being widely accepted by the States enemies(US/Europe), so it makes Russia special that they are taking a stand against them.

I suppose the next step is rounding them up into "Institutions" for the betterment of their health. Will take a few years of eroding their rights first though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,037 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

You need a enemy to focus public anger on somebody that isn't you.

Picking on Jews can't happen because its easy for even Russians to associate Putins actions with other well know dictators.

Stalin used state defectors, which in reality was anybody who disagreed with him, including high level Communist officials and mostly Russians of Polish descent. The Modern world is too well connected now for a similar campaign to work on such a large level.

But mental health issues, gays and other gender related sub-groups work perfectly for him. They are not understood in Russia, which is still heavily influenced by the Orthodox church in the mid to older generations.

Plus they are being widely accepted by the States enemies(US/Europe), so it makes Russia special that they are taking a stand against them.

I suppose the next step is rounding them up into "Institutions" for the betterment of their health. Will take a few years of eroding their rights first though.

I will not be surprised to see a "Krystallnacht" against LGBT people happening in Russia within the next 3 years.

What is the status on the illuminati space lizards and driving in Russia ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Xios

Russia is the Nation-state equivalent of a meth cooking Redneck hillbilly going through a homosexuality Identity crisis.

Putin's phallic motorcade> :P
    (Stolen from cool pictures forum)
    http://asset-3.soup.io/asset/8756/4014_342b_555.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

Article in the Irish Times about this.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/asia-pacific/russia-bans-transgender-people-from-driving-1.2060865

Sorry, but I lol'd :p. Poor guy would probably be banned from driving in Russia simply on the basis of his name.
    “Banning people from driving based on their gender identity or expression is ridiculous and just another example of the Russian regime’s methodical roll back of basic human rights for its citizens,” said Shawn Gaylord of US-based organisation Human Rights First.

Putin is undoing so much of the progress made in Russia over the last few decades. And he is leading the world into a new cold war. Their economy is going to tank, sanctions will increase and Putin is going to end up retaking some of the former Soviet Union territories. He is mentally ill, and dangerous.

Weirdly enough, Putin in his first two terms was probably responsible for a lot of that progress. Yeltsin, the first democratic leader of Russia, appears to have been (at least to those with at most a superficial understanding of the intricacies of Russian politics, like myself) a total disaster who basically "drank" the economy. Putin's first two terms appear to have helped to rescue Russia from the post-Yeltsin shambles, yet evidently he got drunk with power somewhere along the way and consequently used the comparitively liberal Medvedev as a "puppet President" until such a stage where he could regain his throne.

Perhaps it was his strengthened relationship with the Russian Orthodox Church, or maybe it was something else, but it does seem like Putin developed "notions" at some stage. And it's a shame, because if he retired from public life after his second term he'd probably be viewed worldwide as a (mostly) positive figure. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Grayson wrote: »
    to be fair, have you seen Russian dashcam footage

Too true. They just need to ban everyone else from the roads now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,037 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I wonder what would happen if Putin was told about Alan Turing, the father of modern computing? That would REALLY set them back. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

I wonder what would happen if Putin was told about Alan Turing, the father of modern computing? That would REALLY set them back. :pac:

Or for that matter, Lynn Conway ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Women can't drive anyway.

What's worse than women who think they can drive but can't?
    Men who think they are women, who think they can drive but can't :rolleyes:

I'm with Vlad :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,075 ✭✭✭✭bnt

When I saw the headline, I remembered the Saudi Drift fad of a few years ago, and started looking for "Russian Drift" videos on YouTube. Turns out you can find plenty of "Russian Drift" action on dashcam videos, the difference being that at least the Saudis were (a) sober and (b) drifting on purpose ...

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭krustycustomer

Beer was only considered alcohol in 2012

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

bnt wrote: »
    When I saw the headline, I remembered the Saudi Drift fad of a few years ago, and started looking for "Russian Drift" videos on YouTube. Turns out you can find plenty of "Russian Drift" action on dashcam videos, the difference being that at least the Saudis were (a) sober and (b) drifting on purpose ...

Jaysus. Im sure if that was me I would have gave chase and destroyed him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

bnt wrote: »
    When I saw the headline, I remembered the Saudi Drift fad of a few years ago, and started looking for "Russian Drift" videos on YouTube. Turns out you can find plenty of "Russian Drift" action on dashcam videos, the difference being that at least the Saudis were (a) sober and (b) drifting on purpose ... ]

I love the way the woman is allready on high-alert on the zebra crossing well before the car arives. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,075 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Noblong wrote: »
    I love the way the woman is allready on high-alert on the zebra crossing well before the car arives. :D
    She's crossing the road. In Russia. You're darn tootin' she's on high-alert. Probably carrying spare knickers in her handbag too. :eek:

(Unless she's a he, which might explain why s/he's not driving.)

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray