Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lambing bits and pieces list

• 05-01-2015 10:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭

My lot won't be lambing until the end of March - save the ones I put with the ram to keep him quiet.

What bits and pieces do ye all have handy for the job?

Being a "rather look at it than look for it" type I'll have

Iodine
    Rings
    Management tags
    Stomach tube
    Lambing aid/rope
    Spray marker
    Colostrum
    Thermometer
    Stockholm tar

Notebook
    Patience

Gloves
    Lube
    Twin lamb type remedy
    Needles & syringes
    Calciject

Hot water bottle & camping stove to aid revival

Pre lambing
    Heptevac P+
    Fluke & worm dose

Post lambing
    White dose
    Cobalt
    Vector for ticks
    Something for flies

Debating whether I'll bother with Spectam, hope to lamb inside.

Missing anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭razor8

Think you have nearly everything there

Always have an antibiotic at the ready and something for listeriosis like engemycin,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

Another addition from Twitter, torch and batteries, but I already have that well taken care of, some might say to fetish levels!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,273 ✭✭✭orm0nd

My lot won't be lambing until the end of March - save the ones I put with the ram to keep him quiet.

What bits and pieces do ye all have handy for the job?

Being a "rather look at it than look for it" type I'll have

Iodine
    Rings
    Management tags
    Stomach tube
    Lambing aid/rope
    Spray marker
    Colostrum
    Thermometer
    Stockholm tar

Notebook
    Patience

Gloves
    Lube
    Twin lamb type remedy
    Needles & syringes
    Calciject

Hot water bottle & camping stove to aid revival

Pre lambing
    Heptevac P+
    Fluke & worm dose

Post lambing
    White dose
    Cobalt
    Vector for ticks
    Something for flies

Debating whether I'll bother with Spectam, hope to lamb inside.

Missing anything?

straw, more straw and still more straw,

maybe some lime as well, ,

due to blast off in the next few days here & now we always give spectam sc

previously we only used it from march onwards

different colour spray marker for singles, twins and triplets.

Straw and lime on the list too, didn't put in OP though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Prolapse harness. Just in case.
    Coffee, lots of coffee.

That's just for the shepard!

Prolapse not an issue here thank God, don't think I can even recall one case tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Lamb jackets here.
    Also give 5ml vitamin drench on day 2 (easy done when small numbers)

Falcon carbolic soap to prevent chapped hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭fanadman1

Another addition from Twitter, torch and batteries, but I already have that well taken care of, some might say to fetish levels!

Gave up on the torch last year, now i use a led lenser h7r.2 straped to my head, best thing i ever spent money on to be honest great light can count sheep in the field with it and you still have both hands to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

A couple of empty cully and sully type soup containers , perfect for milking ewes into. A bottle of Oxytocin, and if all else fails a book of cheques signed for 20 quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

Alamycin
    Pen Strep - in case of dead lambs or retained cleaning
    Alamycin Spray - for ewes feet if scald or footrot in existence. Do her while you have a hold of her before she goes to the field.
    Vit E - in case of white muscle disease
    Buscopan - in event of a ewe beginning to prolapse
    Large stitching needle and white tape for same purpose
    Lamb drinking bottle (non vac) and teats
    Penknife or decent knife for skinning

Jaysus looking at these lists you'd think we were all in the middle of the Crimean war and hospital field tents were raided, instead of the serene lambing shed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭eire23

Anyone here using hibitane on navals instead of iodine?
    Using a 10% iodine solution at the moment but the navals do seem to get fierce brittle and crack. Had a handfull of cases of joint ill last year and i put it down to that, could be way off the mark though.

Alamycin
    Pen Strep - in case of dead lambs or retained cleaning
    Alamycin Spray - for ewes feet if scald or footrot in existence. Do her while you have a hold of her before she goes to the field.
    Vit E - in case of white muscle disease
    Buscopan - in event of a ewe beginning to prolapse
    Large stitching needle and white tape for same purpose
    Lamb drinking bottle (non vac) and teats
    Penknife or decent knife for skinning

Jaysus looking at these lists you'd think we were all in the middle of the Crimean war and hospital field tents were raided, instead of the serene lambing shed

Never heard of buscopan? Is it similar to metacam or how is it supposed to work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

emm?
    milk replacer
    theres a injectible drug that opens up a lambs lungs...used it a few years ago and i was amazed how well it worked
    overalls + gloves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

eire23 wrote: »
    Anyone here using hibitane on navals instead of iodine?
    Using a 10% iodine solution at the moment but the navals do seem to get fierce brittle and crack. Had a handfull of cases of joint ill last year and i put it down to that, could be way off the mark though.

I recommended hibitane + here on boards last year, we used it because the navels were cracking with iodine too, we mix it at 10 parts water to 1 part hibitane+ ..... you get it from a vet, make sure that its hibitane +....the + is important

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭tom_k

Great thread. Been stocking up here in anticipation of the season and previous posts have reminded me of a few things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Shur a warm box for the sick lads.. luckily we have an automatic feeder to fed any few pets .. do people tag lambs when they're born.. we lamb 550 and dont tag or match sheep with lambs.. just lamb tthm abd notch aby sheep with 1 tit or a poor mother... she'd be turned into a kebab a few months later!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AntrimGlens

razor8 wrote: »
    Never heard of buscopan? Is it similar to metacam or how is it supposed to work?

Buscopan is actually designed for use in horses primarily but stops abdominal cramps and aids treatment of colic but its the only thing i can find that stops the ewe pressing enough when you're trying to replace the prolapse. Stops the urge to pee, whereas Metacam is an anti inflammatory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,273 ✭✭✭orm0nd

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Shur a warm box for the sick lads.. luckily we have an automatic feeder to fed any few pets .. do people tag lambs when they're born.. we lamb 550 and dont tag or match sheep with lambs.. just lamb tthm abd notch aby sheep with 1 tit or a poor mother... she'd be turned into a kebab a few months later!!

we use marker spray to match up lambs and mothers , find it invaluable if we have to bring a lamb back indoors,

ear notch possible replacement ewe lambs, if culled for any reason they get a red management tag, as do any ewes for culling

orm0nd wrote: »
    we use marker spray to match up lambs and mothers , find it invaluable if we have to bring a lamb back indoors,

ear notch possible replacement ewe lambs, if culled for any reason they get a red management tag, as do any ewes for culling

I'm going to management tag mine at birth and match to ewe tag. Find with blackies the spray marker doesn't work well like it would on sheep like the few cheviots I have. Just tends to look a mess after a few weeks.

Buscopan is actually designed for use in horses primarily but stops abdominal cramps and aids treatment of colic but its the only thing i can find that stops the ewe pressing enough when you're trying to replace the prolapse. Stops the urge to pee, whereas Metacam is an anti inflammatory.
    Read a brief bit on it, good to know, thanks