Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bit of help for a newbie

• 05-01-2015 3:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭

Hi all

Located in North Cork parents have Upc installed at the moment but want to cancel it.

No saorview signal to kitchen or cable from dish for free to air.
    Problem is the original cable to kitchen, where it enters there is now plastered over no access to outside, room built on no easy way to run cables into it for new feed for new boxes etc.

Said id do a bit of messing about with those cheap combiner units you can get in an upstairs bedroom where there is both free to air cable and saorview cable and tv before id attempt the kitchen.

All connected up re-scanned tv picked up channels including utv ireland turn on sky box and it loses signal turn it off and they come back

What have i done wrong haha

An idiot willing to learn :rolleyes:sorry if im in wrong forum:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭Thurston?

crasy dash wrote: »
    ... Said id do a bit of messing about with those cheap combiner units you can get in an upstairs bedroom where there is both free to air cable and saorview cable and tv before id attempt the kitchen.

All connected up re-scanned tv picked up channels including utv ireland turn on sky box and it loses signal turn it off and they come back

If the 2 cables are already present in the bedroom, why are you using a combiner? Or do you mean you then routed this signal from the bedroom to the kitchen, using a single cable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭crasy dash

Said id try to get it working in front of me before I attack the real mission haha.

I have access to both lnb on dish and saorview aerial, old cable for upc is run across a flat roof

I can bring this cable into the attic and combine as I want then.

Its just the question is it normal for the skybox to interfere with saorview signal when turned on.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,151 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

Each satellite connection goes back to the LNB on the dish. You can use a combiner to send an aerial signal down that same cable which can de seperated at the TV end by another combiner.

Best to get a Saorview aerial near the dish and combine each satellite feed and split them at each TV.

Its just the question is it normal for the skybox to interfere with saorview signal when turned on.

It would usually be interference from the LNB that isn't filtered out properly by the combiner. Probably points to the Saorview signal not being all it could be to begin with, either.
    Best to get a Saorview aerial near the dish and combine each satellite feed and split them at each TV.

That's fine if there's a good Saorview signal available 'near the dish'. (Or the satellites can be seen from 'near the aerial'.) The average house isn't going to throw up too many cabling or combining problems, no matter where dish & aerial are located relative to each other.

Thurston? wrote: »
    It would usually be interference from the LNB that isn't filtered out properly by the combiner. Probably points to the Saorview signal not being all it could be to begin with, either.

That's fine if there's a good Saorview signal available 'near the dish'. (Or the satellites can be seen from 'near the aerial'.)

Thanks for that reply I say it could be the saorview at fault ,its supply is actually off an aerial that was put up to get tv3 years ago.

Picture on it is perfect though still I know nothing about aerials etc so I have learnt something ready

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭winston_1

(Or the satellites can be seen from 'near the aerial'.)

As the satellites are 23,000 miles away you'd need exceptional eye site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭jjf1974

winston_1 wrote: »
    As the satellites are 23,000 miles away you'd need exceptional eye site.

eyesight might be more useful...:)

... I say it could be the saorview at fault ,its supply is actually off an aerial that was put up to get tv3 years ago.

It's possible you might get better Saorview reception from a different transmitter than was best for analogue TV3 at the time. The Fermoy & Mitchelstown transmitters didn't carry TV3, & coverage from Mullaghanish & Maghera has probably altered.

The Saorview coverage checker might be worth a look.

Thanks for all the advice lads bit of an update was testing the set up by just turning on sky box and letting it set up and staying on the sky intro channel.

Saorview signal would be dropped then by fluke just switched channels to BBC one on sky box turned back to saorview working fine.

Strange but seems to be working grand now????

Saorview signal would be dropped then by fluke just switched channels to BBC one on sky box turned back to saorview working fine.

Strange but seems to be working grand now????

Switching from high to low band in the LNB would change the character of the interference. Try switching to Sky News & see what happens.

Just did it and it knocks it off again
    Thanks for the advice

This kind of interference problem has been noted before in these forums, so it's not just a one-off with your own combiner(s), & you'd probably get much the same result with another set.

More than likely the Saorview signal is just at the point where any bit of interference makes it unusable, though of course I can't be sure of that, at this remove.

Thurston thanks for the reply your probably right, if it wasnt for the parents i wouldnt be concerned about saorview .

I will figure something out might just have to lift a few floor boards drill a few holes and use an extra bit of cable routing it around the house.

Any recommendations for where i should buy the cable see plenty online stores but might as well be looking into a field ot thistles:D

I don't buy enough cable to particularly recommend anywhere to get it. Probably best to go for '100' type cable, such as Triax TX100, Webro WF100, or LCC 100.

These cables are all approved by the CAI.

Those sellers I linked to have alternate types of '100' cable, as well as cheaper types.

Cheers for the links provided will be sure to look into it further will be a few weeks before i have time to run in a new cable will let ye know how i get on.

Thanks again lads