Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

American tribal leader is 'healed' by Donegal life

• 05-01-2015 3:03am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭

A native American tribal leader has set up home in the Donegal Gaeltacht, saying life there has healed him.

Gary Issi-Tohibi - or White Deer - says he feels a connection to the spirit of the land around Mount Errigal where he now lives.

The 63-year-old Choctaw Nation professor says he has been 'invited' to Ireland 17 times and despite only living in Donegal for the past four months, he has already found 'home'.

White Deer's tribe sent $117 to Ireland in 1847 after hearing about the Great Famine. His own tribe had lost thousands of people when it was banished from Mississippi to Oklahoma in 1831 in what became known as the Trail of Tears.

"We believe that you carry a piece of your home with you wherever you go so that is with me today here in Donegal. It is a very easy place to feel the spirit of the land. There is a great sense of place here, the spirit of the land is very much here," he said.

White Deer - who calls himself a First Nation member rather than an Indian or Native American - lives in a small cottage in the townland of Cashel na gCorr, near Gortahork and overlooking Mount Errigal. He has thrown himself into life in rural Donegal, learning Irish phrases and going to the bog.

He passes his days in the Donegal countryside painting and working on a new novel that looks at the modern day tribe.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/american-tribal-leader-is-healed-by-donegal-life-30879127.html

Very interesting piece. I was unaware of the link between our people and the Choctaws. In, 1847, the lads took up an amazing collection. They raised $170 for Irish Famine relief, a large chunk of change at time, worth in the tens of thousands of dollars today. In the 1990s Irish historians who wanted to celebrate and gain more attention for the generous donation, took part in the 500 mile trek from Oklahoma to Mississippi. The Choctaw nation made Mary Robinson an honourary chief and she offered the tribe Irelands gratitute.

I hope that Gary enjoys his remaining days up in Donegal. Hopefully Lowry doesn't get on his back about opening up a casino.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Can you send money in an envelope and just address it to 'Ireland'?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

Can you send money in an envelope and just address it to 'Ireland'?

Stick FAO Robyourbuilder on it. Good lad.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

He has thrown himself into life in rural Donegal, learning Irish phrases and going to the bog.

Well, when you gotta go, ya gotta go.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

They raised $170 for Irish Famine relief, a large chunk of change at time, worth in the tens of thousands of dollars today. .

Not quite, less than $5000 in today's buying power...still an amazing feat for a tribe decimated and relocated by force.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

The native north americans are very much like the Irish, both have a very strong
    connection to the land and nature.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

Not much else in Donegal bar the spirit of the land :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Venus In Furs

Googled some images of Mount Errigal. Jeez it's unreal.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Googled some images of Mount Errigal. Jeez it's unreal.

loads of pinky quarzite in it - should have mined it for kitchen worktops when the celtic puisín was going on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

How do native American Indians say hello?

Hi how are ya hi how are ya hi how are ya

( say it fast)

A few words from himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Philo Beddoe

I hope that Gary enjoys his remaining days up in Donegal. Hopefully Lowry doesn't get on his back about opening up a casino.

I thought you were the lad who wanted to keep Ireland for the Irish?

I'd give every single member of the Choctaw nation Irish citizenship. And I'm sure they would do us as proud as they do their own.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'd give every single member of the Choctaw nation Irish citizenship.
    Damned fine idea Sir.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Damned fine idea Sir.

Someone with an Irish grandparent is automatically an Irish citizen. They can live anywhere in the EU. They are considered as Irish as me and you. Legally. It irks me.

I'm sorry if I offend anyone.

I'd rather the Choctaws being gifted Irish citizenship at birth, instead of lads with an Irish grandparent.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

still in recovery after nine years in donegal... dreadful place..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Graces7 wrote: »
    still in recovery after nine years in donegal.....
    As are we. As are we.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

a good news story in After Hours:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

To be fair, I can see how anybody who is spiritual and in touch with nature could find calm in a place like Donegal. I spent 4 months camping in the mountains there while on an environmental project and it was certainly soothing and stress free even in inclement weather.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

I have never seen so many midges in my Life as I did when I Went to Glenveigh castle.From the moment we got off the bus to the jaunt to the castle,and even inside the castle itself-did not get a break from those ravenous fukkers.I'll bet that someone who hadn't stepped off the bus looked out at all us Tourists scratching our heads and waving hands in front of our faces,must have thought there was a psychotropic drug Convention being held there.

Rathmelton is Lovely though.Must go back again sometime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

But has he paid VRT yet? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

A Donegal isn't that bad at all! Sure there's a surviving Native American population, would consider that a landmark!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Are you still going about how bad Donegal is cause you lived there for a handful of years, after humiliatingly been shown how your reasons came false in that other thread? Giving out about how you got no help during the harsh winter when it was local boardsies that gave their time to go cut trees for fuel for you. Is your memory that bad, or do you just think we've bad enough memories that that thread will have been forgotten?

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭sing_dumb

Ah, it took only 150+ years, but we extend a Cead Mile Failte to you sir, and thank you for your much needed donation, when it was much needed. It has all come full circle now.:):):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

I know the feeling he's talking about. I'm from the Bluestacks myself and coming home to the bogs and mountains gives me a peace that is separate to the happiness of coming home to my family. I've always called it my "Seamus Heaney feeling" after his poem 'Bogland'. It's a feeling of connection that I hope I always have.