Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BE trailer test on tuesday

• 04-01-2015 11:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭

ive this test scheduled for Tuesday.. have ye all done it at this stage.. my question is.. is there a compulsory hill start with the trailer/30 blocks as my handbrake isn't great.. garage tightened it but new handbrake cable on order.. .. any advice?

also what questions does he/she ask?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

No hill start. You will fly it!

Know the book inside out.

Have your lights and L plates in order or you won't get out of the yard. Have a spare set of bulbs and screwdriver in case one is dodge when you get there.

Arrive well before time and have her reversed and faced for the road.

Be seen to look for pedestrians as you cross the footpath on exiting the gate.

You will have to reverse around a corner. Do it slowly. No extra marks for doing it fast. Finish parallel to the kerb. You are allowed to shunt forward if it starts to go out of line. Don't keep going and mount the kerb!

Everything else driving wise is the same as driving without trailer. Be seen to use your mirrors keft abd right when turning and easing along in traffic on narrow streets. Keep out from parked cars.

Best of luck! (You won't need it though).

If you meet a half sound lad he will know the score and that it's just a matter of form.

My lad threw the clipboard up on the dash and started talking about farming half way through!! Being sceptical l thought it was a ploy to catch me out but nope :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭paulmclaughlin

Also know how to describe hitching and unhitching a trailer in detail!

Are you sure there's no hill start? I'm pretty sure my test had one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭dodo mommy

best advice is to have a lesson right before the test everything fresh in ur mind then good luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

I,d to do a hill star last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,555 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Best of luck but I'm sure you won't need it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭leex

I think I had a hillstart for mine also.

I suppose it depends on the tester. I didn't have to do one but I suppose that doesn't mean you wouldn't get asked it.

If you are used to pulling a trailer the test should be no bother. The left hand reverse turn can be tricky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭dodo mommy

you don't have to do a left hand reverse turn though u can go left or right.

Very good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Muckit wrote: »
    Very good.

Cheers lads .. The handbrake isn't great but I'll try and mask that.

My neighbour is instructor and I'll get him to come with me for an hour or so in the morning !

I did the theory test got 40/40 but that was 2 years ago .. What kinda questions does he ask about the trailer .. I going to use new clean horse box as lights brakes etc .. Cattle trailer is a bit of a dog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,520 ✭✭✭893bet

When reversing around the corner are you allowed look back over your shoulder or have you to do it all using mirrors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Best of luck Bo but as others have said you'll fly it no bother. Have to do it myself soon and have the theory test at the end of this month. Is there much of a wait between applying for the test and getting it?

893bet wrote: »
    When reversing around the corner are you allowed look back over your shoulder or have you to do it all using mirrors?

You have to look over your shoulders, to check your blind spots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

Can you use any trailer? Have a 10 x 5 cattle trailer but could you use a small low builder's trailer instead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Had the provisional licence two years ago as thought u had to get 10 lessons if u hadn't it by then.
    Licence ran out and thought I'd have to do theory test etc again but they renewed it ladt week no problem.

Have to do apply for test now.
    Similar to above, can you do test with 8x4 builders trailer. Handier than sheep trailer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,566 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

sea12 wrote: »
    Had the provisional licence two years ago as thought u had to get 10 lessons if u hadn't it by then.
    Licence ran out and thought I'd have to do theory test etc again but they renewed it ladt week no problem.

Similar to above, can you do test with 8x4 builders trailer. Handier than sheep trailer

Has to be a boxed in trailer as far as I know, don't think you can do it with a builders trailer or a flatbed. Must get around to it myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Dunedin

sea12 wrote: »

Are you saying that you don't need the 10 lessons now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Dunedin wrote: »
    Are you saying that you don't need the 10 lessons now?

If you held your first/second provisional before the ruling came in, you don't need to do them. So before 4th April 2011.

rsa rang today to cancel test .. They have no route in town I live in to conduct test on BE anymore .. They have a town centre office /room and no parking whatsoever so I reckon something must have happened or ticket issued by gardai to a test applicant or something .. They'd need a commercial unit outside of the town to ask their questions /inspect a jeep and trailer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

Done mine earlier on in the year. Will try clear up all I can, all I'm certain if anyhow.
    1. You need a high trailer, horse box etc. I did my test in my instructors jeep and trailer. He had a lovely if or Williams box trailer that followed the jeep around corners lovely. You also need so many 4onch concrete blocks for weight. Think it's 50.
    2. You can/should look over your shoulder when reversing. And he will ask you before you start what side you want to reverse.
    3. I had to do a hill start. No problem though.
    4. Keep looking at you mirrors, especially before you move off to make sure no one walked between your jeep and trailer.
    5. You need to be able tell him, step by step how to hitch on and hotch off a trailer. There is a method so you should look it up. I forget the exact way tbh.
    That's all I can think off. Just like a car test except no 3 point turn obviously.
    Know road/warning signs etc.
    you'll fly it!

You also need so many 4inch concrete blocks for weight. Think it's 50.

It's 30. From the RSA's final checks before your driving test booklet:
    In order to meet the real total mass requirement, you are required to place 30 four-inch (100 x 220 x 450 mm) solid concrete building blocks in the trailer. If it is accepted that a trailer will weigh a minimum of 250kg on its own, the 30 blocks (each weighing approximately 19-20kg) will weigh an additional 570kg, which together will exceed the minimum real total mass requirement of 800kg at 820kg. The blocks should be evenly distributed across the trailer and positioned in such a way as to keep the nose weight within the recommended limits.

Best of luck Bod!

I think his test was cancelled today muckit

Best of luck Bod!

yep they cancelled on me at the final hour....ive a good mind to demand E85 for insufficient notice/inconvenience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Bodacious wrote: »
    yep they cancelled on me at the final hour....ive a good mind to demand E85 for insufficient notice/inconvenience

It might all be for the best that the test was cancelled with the way you are wathcing that cow at home!

Bodacious wrote: »

Very short notice to be fair. They should at least given you written notice of cancellation. What if your phone had no coverage or you couldn't answer?

How are you with work? You had to take a day or half day annual leave l presume? Can you still go in or had you to take it? Very annoying.

Could be a blessing in disguise though. Get that handbrake sorted rappa!

Parishlad wrote: »
    It might all be for the best that the test was cancelled with the way you are wathcing that cow at home!

Poor daisy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Nash Bridges

I did the BE test a few months ago, started a thread with my notes here; http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057334605

It is a full car test without the three point turn. I have put some other stuff you may need to know or be asked on the link above also.

Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Kovu wrote: »
    If you held your first/second provisional before the ruling came in, you don't need to do them. So before 4th April 2011.

Is that as in a provisional 'trailer licence' or ordinary driving licence?
    Or is there such a thing as a provisional trailer licence?I have full driving licence a good few years but havnt trailer licence got yet....do I need to do ten lessons before applying for it?,thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Is that as in a provisional 'trailer licence' or ordinary driving licence?
    Or is there such a thing as a provisional trailer licence?I have full driving licence a good few years but havnt trailer licence got yet....do I need to do ten lessons before applying for it?,thanks.

I highly doubt it but afraid I can't be 100%. It doesn't make sense to me that you'd need 10 lessons just to have a trailer license added on. It says nothng about it here anyway. And seeing as you can drive with a learner permit and a trailer from 17....logic makes me thing that it's definitely not needed.