Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nite site spotter Xtreme

• 04-01-2015 8:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46

Hi lads. am looking at night vision at moment and found this Xtreme spotter. Anyone got one and what ye think of them. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Jim3592 wrote: »
    Hi lads. am looking at night vision at moment and found this Xtreme spotter. Anyone got one and what ye think of them. Thanks.

About the size of a shoebox and heavy to match.
    I have looked through one and they are good but you can get something a lot smaller for less money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Jim3592

clivej wrote: »
    About the size of a shoebox and heavy to match.
    I have looked through one and they are good but you can get something a lot smaller for less money

It is a bit pricy. What kinda range in your option is on them. I know they say 500m but how true is this?? What would you recommend? Thanks

Jim3592 wrote: »
    It is a bit pricy. What kinda range in your option is on them. I know they say 500m but how true is this?? What would you recommend? Thanks

It all depends on what you want it for, what range your expecting from it.

Have a look at the NVUK Facebook page, Two lads there make and sell both scope add on NV units and NV spotters.
    The spotters are a small LCD screen, CCTV camera with SLR lens on the front,
    and an IR torch as the IR sorce. I think 200-300y is possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭gearoidol

It all depends on what you want it for, what range your expecting from it.

Have a look at the NVUK Facebook page, Two lads there make and sell both scope add on NV units and NV spotters.
    The spotters are a small LCD screen, CCTV camera with SLR lens on the front,
    and an IR torch as the IR sorce. I think 200-300y is possible.

having owned both an Nvuk spotter and now a ns spotter extreme I have to say there is a huge difference between the 2.For hunting purposes the NVUK kit are just too slow and fiddly.In my version there were two switches on the side of the main camera unit (one for the screen ,one for the camera) and also the switch on the back of the ir lamp,as well as the zoom and focus rings which are at the front of the unit,then you have to adjust the lamp from spot to flood to suit your needs as different distances require different amounts of ir (ie if you have the ir lamp up too high when viewing near you
    you will flood the pic with too much light).That's a lot to be messing with when you just want to do a quick scan to see if there is a fox there.In my experience with my NVUK spotter 200 yards on the clearest night would be about the max distance to clearly identify a fox as opposed to a sheep etc and that was with quite an upmarket t74ir lamp as opposed to a standard t20

The ns spotter extreme is in a different league,one power switch to turn on a quick dimmer switch to adjust ir ,both of these near the screen in front so very ergonomic and the zoom ,focus are more levers and are very quickly adjusted.Ir would be similar to 5xt20s and the 20x optical zoom means you get a great pic .Also I found with the NVUK camera the eyes of the animals were not lighting up properly ie like with a conventional lamp where as with the spotter extreme they light up brilliantly which greatly aids spotting with just a quick scan

also the spotter records which should be good crack

just my 2 cents

gearoidol wrote: »
    having owned both an Nvuk spotter and now a ns spotter extreme I have to say there is a huge difference between the 2.For hunting purposes the NVUK kit are just too slow and fiddly.In my version there were two switches on the side of the main camera unit (one for the screen ,one for the camera) and also the switch on the back of the ir lamp,as well as the zoom and focus rings which are at the front of the unit,then you have to adjust the lamp from spot to flood to suit your needs as different distances require different amounts of ir (ie if you have the ir lamp up too high when viewing near you
    you will flood the pic with too much light).That's a lot to be messing with when you just want to do a quick scan to see if there is a fox there.In my experience with my NVUK spotter 200 yards on the clearest night would be about the max distance to clearly identify a fox as opposed to a sheep etc and that was with quite an upmarket t74ir lamp as opposed to a standard t20

The ns spotter extreme is in a different league,one power switch to turn on a quick dimmer switch to adjust ir ,both of these near the screen in front so very ergonomic and the zoom ,focus are more levers and are very quickly adjusted.Ir would be similar to 5xt20s and the 20x optical zoom means you get a great pic .Also I found with the NVUK camera the eyes of the animals were not lighting up properly ie like with a conventional lamp where as with the spotter extreme they light up brilliantly which greatly aids spotting with just a quick scan

also the spotter records which should be good crack

just my 2 cents

Good review there.

Nothing can beat a lad that has used the item as against just getting the view through a unit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭gearoidol

obviously if the op would like to see it in action your more than welcome,im based on the cork/Kerry border

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Jim3592

Good review there.

Nothing can beat a lad that has used the item as against just getting the view through a unit.

That's for sure. Will meet up with Gearoid and have a look. When spending a grand it is handy to talk to someone who has used it and seems happy with it. Thanks lads.