Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ray D'arcy

• 02-01-2015 1:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭

Ray D,arcy is to be the new host for RTE,s Saturday night show. Know now why he left today fm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

farmerjj wrote: »
    Ray D,arcy is to be the new host for RTE,s Saturday night show. Know now why he left today fm

I heard a guest say that on the News at One just now as if it is a fact. It has been widely rumoured but no-one from RTE confirmed it.

He is a terrible interviewer, the last person who should be doing a live Talk Show. He should stick to the dogs.

Brendan must stay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Oh please, NO!!!!
    Not a fan at all of Ray, and no more SNS thread for me, if that happens.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Please PLEASE no!
    Brendan is a very good interviewer, I couldn't bare Ray D'Arcy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

Oh i hope this is untrue. I want brendan o Connor to stay and I want Ray darcy to emigrate like he promised he would when enda kennybecame Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

You know I am not so bothered about Ray taking over the SNS. I am bothered that Tubs is still on the lls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

I more or less gave up on the SNS a few months ago, as I believed the quality was declining. :o:o

I've grown tired of Saturday Night with Miriam, too, for similar reasons. :o

But if Ray were to become a Saturday night talk show host in any way...

picard-facepalm2.jpg

Maybe Ryan has had enough and is quitting, Brendan is being moved to Fridays and Ray is getting Saturday nights.

Just speculation.

Skid X wrote: »
    Maybe Ryan has had enough and is quitting, Brendan is being moved to Fridays and Ray is getting Saturday nights.

Just speculation.

I could cope with this scenario Skid. :)
    Happy new year Skid !

Lisha wrote: »
    I could cope with this scenario Skid. :)
    Happy new year Skid !

It would be an interesting shake-up.

Happy New Year Lisha, Happy New Year everyone. :)

PS There is no Late Late Show tonight, if that rascal CountyHurler does his usual trick of starting a thread for a non-existent LLS, don't be fooled :D

But Brendan is back tomorrow, things are slowly getting back to normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Hope this is untrue. If it is true then I will not watch the Saturday night show anymore. I think Brenden does a great job and he can be funny to.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Skid X wrote: »

Just speculation.

That vague hope crossed my mind, but...:pac:

I'd better enjoy the SNS threads as long as I can, I definitely won't be watching Ray on anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Oh i hope this is untrue. I want brendan o Connor to stay and I want Ray darcy to emigrate like he promised he would when enda kennybecame Taoiseach

If Ray D'Arcy becomes Saturday Night Show presenter I'm leaving the country...

I've grown tired of Saturday Night with Miriam, too, for similar reasons. :o

I grew tired of Saturday Night With Miriam as well, so I asked her to stop calling around...

If Ray D'Arcy becomes Saturday Night Show presenter I'm leaving the country...

Now niw don't make promises you can't keep!!

Excuse me, a Kildare man keeps his promises... Oh wait.. :o

I grew tired of Saturday Night With Miriam as well, so I asked her to stop calling around...

Was it because she stopped wearing dresses? :o:D;)

Repeat of the SNS on now... Just looking at Brendan now, it's kinda sad.... I hate to see a lad that's good at his job being forced to make way for a "big name"... Brendan has really improved over the few short years he's been doing the show, and deserves to be given the LLS, not to have the SNS taken away from him...

RTE should have done one of two things if they'd had any b*lls...
    i) Give D'Arcy Tubridy's morning radio job, and to immediately bring his audience from Today FM to 2FM ..
    ii) Give D'Arcy the LLS, cos it is a show in need of a new presenter....

I, for one will not be watching D'Arcy's Saturday Night Show... Okay, well.. I'll probably be front row centre when it actually comes on, but I certainly wont be happy about it..

Repeat of the SNS on now... Just looking at Brendan now, it's kinda sad.... I hate to see a lad that's good at his job being forced to make way for a "big name"... Brendan has really improved over the few short years he's been doing the show, and deserves to be given the LLS, not to have the SNS taken away from him...

Is this the first time they've repeated the SNS on Saturday morning? :o:o:D:D;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

A better idea would be to just scrap the Saturday Night show altogether and just try to pool a better standard of guest for the LLS.

O Connor is a stilted presence and never settled in to TV presenting. If he wasn't fawning over some nobody he was making a genuinely interesting guest feel uncomfortable.

Aidric wrote: »
    O Connor is a stilted presence and never settled in to TV presenting. If he wasn't fawning over some nobody he was making a genuinely interesting guest feel uncomfortable.

Yeah, cos you'd certainly never get to present the Late Late Show if you did that....!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭griffin100

Sweet Jaysus that Superstar Dogs is muck of the highest order. It's the sort of ****e that Darcy would be on the radio complaining about on Monday if he still had a show. The man has lost all of his credibility ( to be fair for €500k a year I'd prostitute myself as well).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,847 ✭✭✭Glebee

griffin100 wrote: »
    Sweet Jaysus that Superstar Dogs is muck of the highest order. It's the sort of ****e that Darcy would be on the radio complaining about on Monday if he still had a show. The man has lost all of his credibility ( to be fair for €500k a year I'd prostitute myself as well).

It's horriffic stuff alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭harney

I haven't watched the Saturday Night Show very often, a handful of times at most and that was a few years ago, but from the limited viewing you could tell Brendan O'Connor had all the qualities of an Irish/Sunday Independent journalist. No loss if he drops off the scene.

Who knows how D'Arcy will perform, he could continue being as jaded as ever or he might surprise every body now that he is "home".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

But if Ray were to become a Saturday night talk show host in any way...

picard-facepalm2.jpg

youd prefer patrick stewart is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

is his new show on Saturday ? how bad will it be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Deagol

Bowlardo wrote: »
    is his new show on Saturday ? how bad will it be?

Baaaaaaad, he has all the natural charm of a dog turd. I'm just glad the pontificating little bollix is gone from a radio station I might be listening to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Well at least he'll have no button pressing to mess up!
    They should have kept Brendan o Connor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭George White

Is it a chat show? Because I heard D'Arsey was hosting something along the lines of Ant and Dec's Saturday Night Takeaway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭George White

Edit - He's denied it is a variety show, just the Saturday Night Show but with D'Arsey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

He seems to think he is replacing the LLS but on a Saturday night, sounds like he is unaware that the show he is replacing was actually one of the most watched about shows on Irish TV and one week even beat the LLS...
    D'Arcy's new Saturday night chat show will kick off this weekend and will inevitably draw comparisons with RTE's Friday night entertainment show.

"The Late Late Show is the oldest chat show in the world - people have grown up with it," he said.

"It's hard to compete against that heritage - we have zilch heritage."

http://www.herald.ie/entertainment/tv-radio/ray-darcy-i-cant-compete-with-late-late-legacy-31547042.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

Is it just me or does Ray seem clunkier on RTE than he did on Today Fm?

Today, for example, he is interrupting the guests...the casting agents are quite interesting and world weary....but Ray is literally stopping them and asking questions.... fingernails on blackboard 😖