Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Club leaderboard software

• 29-12-2014 1:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭

I was wondering if anyone had any ideas/ suggestions for managing times members have set in races for our club. I would like to be able to produce leaderboards based in times, distance, age group and ideally also age graded.

Is there any websites that will do that for me or even a spreadsheet that i can amend for our purposes. I am pretty handy with spreadsheets but would ideally like to have a web portal where members can register their times before they are confirmed etc.

Shane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I was wondering if anyone had any ideas/ suggestions for managing times members have set in races for our club. I would like to be able to produce leaderboards based in times, distance, age group and ideally also age graded.

Is there any websites that will do that for me or even a spreadsheet that i can amend for our purposes. I am pretty handy with spreadsheets but would ideally like to have a web portal where members can register their times before they are confirmed etc.

Shane

Google spreadsheet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭Shane O' Malley

Not enough detail in that. I suppose i could set up a google form to collect information but was thinking that there must be something already developed to manage it.

I would love to get the sort of stats donore harriers have but not up to putting a whole wordpress site up i think. http://www.donoreharriers.com/club-records/

Shane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭JohnDozer

Not enough detail in that. I suppose i could set up a google form to collect information but was thinking that there must be something already developed to manage it.

I would love to get the sort of stats donore harriers have but not up to putting a whole wordpress site up i think. http://www.donoreharriers.com/club-records/

Shane

Check out runnerslevel.ie Not sure it has all the functions you require but possibly of interest to you

JohnDozer wrote: »
    Check out runnerslevel.ie Not sure it has all the functions you require but possibly of interest to you

Thanks for that John. Looks good but would need to be just for our club runners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭P_Fitz

You should ask Donore Harriers how they do theirs.

P_Fitz wrote: »
    You should ask Donore Harriers how they do theirs.

Had a look at theirs. It is a plugin for their website software (wordpress) Bit out of my computer experience but decided to have a go and see how i get on.

Maybe after i get it started their might be one of our members with the relevant experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,876 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Had a look at theirs. It is a plugin for their website software (wordpress) Bit out of my computer experience but decided to have a go and see how i get on.

Maybe after i get it started their might be one of our members with the relevant experience.

So what do you want exactly, an application to develop a ladder in html etc? Might be something I look at developing in my spare time. Wouldn't put a deadline when it would get started or finish.

Thanks for that. Let me kick around the wordpress plugin for a bit as it may fit the bill nicely and save us alot of time and effort. Need to get my head around wordpress but will give it a go for a couple of weeks.

Thanks for the offer. May come back to you if i fall flat on my face if that is ok.

Cheers

Shane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭Jnealon

Just install WP in a sub-folder on your site, it doesn't get any easier.
    I played around with that plugin a while back and found it to be quite good but I just couldn't get the buy in from others to use it, I just use tables now.
    One of the guys from donore developed that plugin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,876 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Jnealon wrote: »
    Just install WP in a sub-folder on your site, it doesn't get any easier.
    I played around with that plugin a while back and found it to be quite good but I just couldn't get the buy in from others to use it, I just use tables now.
    One of the guys from donore developed that plugin

I noticed that myself, a simple python program that reads results from a file and generates a html file would do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

Hey lads, it was myself who did the Donore website and I also developed the plugin WP Athletics. I don't really maintain the plugin with lack of time but it pretty much does what you want to do right now. Problem with the Donore website as above was uptake by members but you can't force it on people and probably requires perhaps a little explanation in the form of a demo to all the members as I think it would be a great club tool if everyone was using it.

It's fairly easy to set up just create a local install of WP and drag it into your plugins folder or install it via the plugin manager.

If you need help with the plugin, give me a shout on here because you likely won't get a response on the support forum due to eh..other commitments ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭Jnealon

Fair play, it's a good little plugin. Did you get the lads to register or did you just enter all the results yourself.

jebuz wrote: »
    Hey lads, it was myself who did the Donore website and I also developed the plugin WP Athletics. I don't really maintain the plugin with lack of time but it pretty much does what you want to do right now. Problem with the Donore website as above was uptake by members but you can't force it on people and probably requires perhaps a little explanation in the form of a demo to all the members as I think it would be a great club tool if everyone was using it.

It's fairly easy to set up just create a local install of WP and drag it into your plugins folder or install it via the plugin manager.

If you need help with the plugin, give me a shout on here because you likely won't get a response on the support forum due to eh..other commitments ;)

Well done. I like the plugin but am thinking it will be hard to get our members to enter in the details themselves as people have mentioned. Probably end up chasing people for results but probably worth it to create a central place for the achievements of members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

Jnealon wrote: »
    Fair play, it's a good little plugin. Did you get the lads to register or did you just enter all the results yourself.

Most people had already registered for the site (to use the forum) but we also had to register a lot of people manually which is quite easy with the plugin.
    Well done. I like the plugin but am thinking it will be hard to get our members to enter in the details themselves as people have mentioned. Probably end up chasing people for results but probably worth it to create a central place for the achievements of members.

Yep, same problem. The plugin can be used in a way that you don't need users to register, you just created the athletes manually. This obviously means a lot more work so you need someone willing to put in the effort to manage this. Anyway as I said let me know if you need any help with it.