Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Commercial tax

• 28-12-2014 10:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭

Confused here?

My old jeep has died. So getting another. I work as a vet. Jeep is a must. No questions. Give me a caddy and i will return it to you in a box in pieces

Im not self employed as this isnt allowed anymore by revenue and im now paye.

Does the government expect me to buy a jeep and tax it privately? What about farm labourers? They in same boat. Are we being discriminated against here?

And before the ususl vets are loaded nonsense, we arent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

pbthevet wrote: »
    Confused here?

My old jeep has died. So getting another. I work as a vet. Jeep is a must. No questions. Give me a caddy and i will return it to you in a box in pieces

Im not self employed as this isnt allowed anymore by revenue and im now paye.

Does the government expect me to buy a jeep and tax it privately? What about farm labourers? They in same boat. Are we being discriminated against here?

And before the ususl vets are loaded nonsense, we arent
    I think you can use your employers VAT number to get commercial tax .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

In that case I'd imagine it's your employer's responsibility to provide you with a company vehicle or allowance. Every PAYE worker could make the same claim otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭pbthevet

In that case I'd imagine it's your employer's responsibility to provide you with a company vehicle or allowance. Every PAYE worker could make the same claim otherwise.

Hmmm.

Being supplied with a vehicle aint gonna happen.

Using the practise vat number tho. Doubt that's legal?

Surely there are other examples of people requiring a commercial vehicle but not having vat number?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭DMAXMAN

our vet here has a vw transporter crew cab van, pretty sure its taxed commercial. its also 4wd

DMAXMAN wrote: »
    our vet here has a vw transporter crew cab van, pretty sure its taxed commercial. its also 4wd

He probably registered for vat tho like my boss.

What about us poor minions ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

no reason why you cant get commercial tax id imagine

just sign the goods only declaration as if its vet use you wont be lying about anything

its a work vehicle so cant see any objection

what jeep have you in mind?

shouldn't have to look much further than a landcruiser

the only option I reckon

test drive a few of them

especially to compare them as some have been given hells abuse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

A farmer friend of mine has a van on commercial tax & isn't vat reg'd.

Dunno how he works it but can ask if you like. Something to do with declaring it for farmwork only/non commercial gain or something like that.

no reason why you cant get commercial tax id imagine

just sign the goods only declaration as if its vet use you wont be lying about anything

its a work vehicle so cant see any objection

what jeep have you in mind?

shouldn't have to look much further than a landcruiser

the only option I reckon

test drive a few of them

especially to compare them as some have been given hells abuse

I thonk your right. I just need a letter from boss saying im using jeep for work.

Stupid law and i will be doing something to get rid of it. I did get rid of the green party single handly you see so im good for it :)

Old yoke was santa fe. Nice to drive, good mpg, good clearence, lwb with back doors was also very nice. Pity it was most unreliable uoke made ever. Flywheels lasted 2 years, clutches were innocent victims of said flywheels, electrics ....... What electrics. Engine blew at 240k km. friend sued hyundai and won over similier issues but i just cannot be bothered. Its too old and worthless anyway.

Been looking at cruiser but mpg is too high to be honest.

Hilux next yoke i checked out. Great putting all stinky stuff in seperate compartment with roll out floor. Plus 4 seats. Considering 2.5 litre to save fuel. Will never pull a trailer

Heard some issues with d4d engine so looking at dmax aswell

Glad to here peoples views.

Yoke most similier to mine would be the new comm outlander. But after 5 years it would be worthless no?

Kovu wrote: »
    A farmer friend of mine has a van on commercial tax & isn't vat reg'd.

Dunno how he works it but can ask if you like. Something to do with declaring it for farmwork only/non commercial gain or something like that.

I think they use herd number. But i dont have one of those either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

I think they use herd number. But i dont have one of those either.

But you have a PPS No. Use that. There are a few threads in the Motors forum about your issue. Read them and you will see posters who have used the PPSN and got the form signed by a Garda.

Had a read. Thanks

Main issue tho is am i legal? And what about going to shops? Do they expect me to walk? Buy second car?

Issue is ridiculous and needs sorting. This whole thing of it not being policed or nobody will be caught for that .... Is not acceptable. I will pay €1000 tax on s 7 seater jeep if i had one. But not on a 2 seater thats carrying my work tools

Had a read. Thanks

Main issue tho is am i legal? And what about going to shops? Do they expect me to walk? Buy second car?

Issue is ridiculous and needs sorting. This whole thing of it not being policed or nobody will be caught for that .... Is not acceptable. I will pay €1000 tax on s 7 seater jeep if i had one. But not on a 2 seater thats carrying my work tools

You're paranoid:D. All the Gardai will be worried about is that there's current tax, insurance and cvrt displayed. Next Sunday take a trip to a couple of rural local to you churches and I'll bet you will see a couple of vans there. Those boys aren't worried about going to Mass in a commercial vehicle, so you should'nt be worried either;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

I thonk your right. I just need a letter from boss saying im using jeep for work.

Stupid law and i will be doing something to get rid of it. I did get rid of the green party single handly you see so im good for it :)

Old yoke was santa fe. Nice to drive, good mpg, good clearence, lwb with back doors was also very nice. Pity it was most unreliable uoke made ever. Flywheels lasted 2 years, clutches were innocent victims of said flywheels, electrics ....... What electrics. Engine blew at 240k km. friend sued hyundai and won over similier issues but i just cannot be bothered. Its too old and worthless anyway.

Hilux next yoke i checked out. Great putting all stinky stuff in seperate compartment with roll out floor. Plus 4 seats. Considering 2.5 litre to save fuel. Will never pull a trailer

Yoke most similier to mine would be the new comm outlander. But after 5 years it would be worthless no?

I hear of issues with the d4d but we have about 20-30 d4d engines in the fleet and never any bother
    mostly landcruisers hiaces and dynas

have pajeros Cherokees l200 dmax trooper pathfinder and some smaller jeeps like Tucson aswell but they wont be replaced when they at end of life

landcruiser mpg I know is an issue but id be fairly sure in saying that you'll save it in cheap maintenance as they are very reliable

down to how hard you drive aswell

diesel also coming down in price!!:D

You're paranoid:D. All the Gardai will be worried about is that there's current tax, insurance and cvrt displayed. Next Sunday take a trip to a couple of rural local to you churches and I'll bet you will see a couple of vans there. Those boys aren't worried about going to Mass in a commercial vehicle, so you should'nt be worried either;).

Yea but what if i piss off the local garda. Or some stupid youg cop decides he wants early promotion. He now has an easy and legit way to target me. Abeit this would result in said fellow becoming part of the structural integrity of bottom of my slurry tank.

Point is it's discrimination. And should be sorted. Why isnt anyone shouting to get this done. Only a matter of time before people are done for it

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Hilux mpg and Land Cruiser mpg may not be as different as you'd expect. 00 Landcruiser and same age Hilux would be similar mpg.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

greysides wrote: »
    Hilux mpg and Land Cruiser mpg may not be as different as you'd expect. 00 Landcruiser and same age Hilux would be similar mpg.

Would 2.5L be a bit lighter?

Could live with mid 30's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,288 ✭✭✭orm0nd

no , not true

the gardai are clamping down on this in cases, some are just giving warnings, but i have heard where a vehicle was seized eventhough it was taxed and insured ( & this isn't high stool talk)

the garda deemed it wasn't being used for it's fit purpose,

another point in the event of an accident , you may not be covered by insurance

@ OP I can't see any issues with you getting commercial tax,

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Would 2.5L be a bit lighter?

Could live with mid 30's

I can't speak for the newer versions, my 01 LC is giving 27-28 mpg and I've heard of similar age Hiluxs only giving the same, 2.5L ones.

My conclusion is that you can't have your cake and eat it. If you want heavy duty 4X4 then you have to pay at the pumps. If you want mid-30's or higher MPG then you will have to get a 'soft-roader' rather than an 'off-roader'.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

One of our vets had a santa fe as well and had the same trouble as yours but more of it . He got a 3 seater berlingo and was singoing it's praises the last time I was talking to him . Reckoned it was taking good abuse so far !

Yea but what if i piss off the local garda. Or some stupid youg cop decides he wants early promotion. He now has an easy and legit way to target me. Abeit this would result in said fellow becoming part of the structural integrity of bottom of my slurry tank.

Point is it's discrimination. And should be sorted. Why isnt anyone shouting to get this done. Only a matter of time before people are done for it

I expect you're a decent, law-abiding person who gets on with life and won't be looking for young cops to bother them.
    Re the discrimination, Jackie Healy Rae is no longer with us, rip, but he would thrive on an issue like that. The political culture has changed, and now I think your best bet would be , Mig, Wallace & Daly, in that order:).

greysides wrote: »
    I can't speak for the newer versions, my 01 LC is giving 27-28 mpg and I've heard of similar age Hiluxs only giving the same, 2.5L ones.

My conclusion is that you can't have your cake and eat it. If you want heavy duty 4X4 then you have to pay at the pumps. If you want mid-30's or higher MPG then you will have to get a 'soft-roader' rather than an 'off-roader'.

May just accept it so. Suspension fell to bits in my soft-roader every year. Wasnt abusing her either.

Merry xmas btw

I expect you're a decent, law-abiding person who gets on with life and won't be looking for young cops to bother them.
    Re the discrimination, Jackie Healy Rae is no longer with us, rip, but he would thrive on an issue like that. The political culture has changed, and now I think your best bet would be , Mig, Wallace & Daly, in that order:).

Wallace and daly already at bottom of tank :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭smokey-fitz

orm0nd wrote: »
    no , not true

the gardai are clamping down on this in cases, some are just giving warnings, but i have heard where a vehicle was seized eventhough it was taxed and insured ( & this isn't high stool talk)

Thats true they are clamping down (so they say, been saying it for years) but mainly on the likes of crew-cabs and the likes. Going off on a sunday with the wife and kids isnt very commercial. But if you have it full of tools, equipment of any sort to do with your profession they cant do anything.

Once you have it taxed, tested and insured your legel and by the sounds of it the op tends to do this. If the op asks his employer can he use the vat number for this purpose there should not be any issue. Even if he uses his pps number he isnt doing anything wrong as he wants the jeep for work

orm0nd wrote: »
    no , not true

They're clamping down in very few case. The IFA have aleady made noise about it.

Re insurance, I have 2 commercial vehicles. I have just checke the insurance certs. Both state under Limitationsas to Use "Use for social, domestic and pleasure purposes. Use in connection with the insured's business..........Use while drawing a trailer" How can I not be covered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,288 ✭✭✭orm0nd

They're clamping down in very few case. The IFA have aleady made noise about it.

Re insurance, I have 2 commercial vehicles. I have just checke the insurance certs. Both state under Limitationsas to Use "Use for social, domestic and pleasure purposes. Use in connection with the insured's business..........Use while drawing a trailer" How can I not be covered?

I said may not be covered,

a lot of people buy online & all they look at is the price,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,511 ✭✭✭✭Base price

PB all you need is a letter from your employer on their headed paper stating their employer number and your PPS number and that you need the vehicle for work purposes. This will qualify you for the lower rate of road tax. This is a requirement from Revenue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

As a vet, If stopped how could any Garda ever know if ur on the way to a call out or on the way back from one

Base price wrote: »
    PB all you need is a letter from your employer on their headed paper stating their employer number and your PPS number and that you need the vehicle for work purposes. This will qualify you for the lower rate of road tax. This is a requirement from Revenue.

Thanks very much for that advise

As a vet, If stopped how could any Garda ever know if ur on the way to a call out or on the way back from one

Thats true, there are the odd days i take stuff out tho. But sure as you say be very hard one for them to prove

So basicslly it is possible so

I still think this 100% commercial usage rule is a bit over the top and unfair. Ok its going to be hard to prove but as lads have pointed out the example of the empty jeep on school run or mass etc.

If you have a right to use the vehicle for work purposes and prove it then you should also be allowed use vehicle whenever you want and not be panicing everytime you see a checkpoint or gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,511 ✭✭✭✭Base price

So basicslly it is possible so

I still think this 100% commercial usage rule is a bit over the top and unfair. Ok its going to be hard to prove but as lads have pointed out the example of the empty jeep on school run or mass etc.

If you have a right to use the vehicle for work purposes and prove it then you should also be allowed use vehicle whenever you want and not be panicing everytime you see a checkpoint or gardai
    I think the Garda are more concerned about having the correct insurance. Once your policy covers you for domestic and pleasure purposes then you should have no problem.
    A Customs or RSA checkpoint maybe a different matter. As Deepsouthwest said how can anyone prove that you are not on the way to or from a call at 11.30 on a Saturday night even if you have a passenger with you and your are dressed in your best duds smelling of aftershave :)

Base price wrote: »
    I think the Garda are more concerned about having the correct insurance. Once your policy covers you for domestic and pleasure purposes then you should have no problem.
    A Customs or RSA checkpoint maybe a different matter. As Deepsouthwest said how can anyone prove that you are not on the way to or from a call at 11.30 on a Saturday night even if you have a passenger with you and your are dressed in your best duds smelling of aftershave :)

Some of the "cows" i visit have high standards! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,555 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

If I were you I'd always keep a little box of vaccines or something in the jeep and tell any garda your out delivering them to a customer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Bullocks wrote: »
    I think you can use your employers VAT number to get commercial tax .

It is as bullock and base price state. All you need is a letter from your employer and his PPS no. However he and you may need a tax clearance letter from revenue as well check same.

Trades men that are employed also avail of this as they need transport to bring them and there tools to site.

This is raising it head again. Farmers are better than most to avert this with checking on cows caving in outlying farms or injecting and checking sick cattle. However as a vet you would again be on call and this would circumvent this. Therefore a pair of wellies and bits and pieces in a box in the back would be helpful. I think nearly all commercial insurances policy's cover social and domestic as well

Finally on choice will you need a large jeep or will a midsized one do. The Ford Kuga AWD are a serious option in this case with a pre 2013 doing 40MPG and the newer ones supposed to do 50MPG. These would be 2L diesels.