Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rio mk2 losing power

• 28-12-2014 9:40pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭

Lads, the missus' CRDI Rio is acting strange. Its like its permanently in limp mode although I'm not sure if that's the problem. She won't rev past 3k and when I do top speed on the Motorway (which is 85mph speedo) she starts kind of shuddering.

I took it out for a spin earlier tonight and she was going grand until I tried to drive her on a wee bit. She wasn't having it although at one point when taking off from the lights she revved freely again in 1st, right up to 5k. Then she went back to maximum 3k after that. Its been like that for about a fortnight now.

Could it be turbo related? Do DPF issues cause those kinds of symptoms?

Any suggestions appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Luckysasha

Can you plug it in to see if any fault codes are logged. Might help narrow it down for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Greyfoot

When was the diesel filter last changed?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Does the diesel filter be changed with full service? It was given a full service a few months ago. Herself hasn't a clue whether it was changed or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭dieselbug

Get it checked for any stored fault codes.

Until then all you or anyone else can do is guess.

If and when you do get it checked, ask for a printout of the details, post them here and then you may get some helpful advice.

Luckysasha wrote: »
    Can you plug it in to see if any fault codes are logged. Might help narrow it down for you

Think that's what I'll do. Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Greyfoot

Engine management light would have came on if related and more complicated, usually diesel filter makes the car unable to accelerate or juddering. Also it wont show faults. Yes, full service should include filter change but can be skipped if it was changed earlier. Its easy enough to change as DIY, and cheap enough. You have to remove the complete holder and piping to take it out, nothing major but you will need patience and the right tools.

PS: Happy new year. ;)

Just to report back. Had the car plugged in and Greyfoot was correct. It was indeed the filter.

Cheers for the help lads

Lads, problem since I changed the filter. She doesn't lose any power now a'tall but she's been hard to start and idling rough (at least to my ear).

The thing is, when I fill her up, there's not a bother. But once the fuel drops below a quarter tank, she sometimes doesn't start straight away and it might take 3 or 4 goes to start her up. Its turning over fine but its like the fuel isn't getting into the engine.

Could there be dirt in the tank?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Flood

Jesus. wrote: »

Could there be dirt in the tank?

Only one way to find out is to investigate, failing that a mass may do.